We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
informative exhibits and wonderfully kind staff

I slept in and rushed to the museum to see the animal gibberish exhibits, very interesting... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2018
ThYeung
via mobile
Amazing local talent

I love going through this quaint museum. The local artists are amazing and some quite whimsical... read more

Reviewed May 27, 2018
Sparkykate
,
Cathcart, ON
Read all 68 reviews
  
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
44
17
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
17
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainy day bruce county local history on display interactive displays owen sound well worth the visit on site fairy lake schoolhouse settlers lego cottage art treasure activity weekend
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 68 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2018

This is THE small town museum that other organizations should aspire to build (are you listening Owen Sound?). The First World War displays are excellent, and should be on the must see list of every Grade 10 History class within an hour's drive.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Marketing Coordinator at Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Our exhibit design goals are to be engaging and interactive, along with educational but shhh don't tell the kids that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

I have been to a number of events held at the museum - they do a great job providing interesting activities. The events I have attended include local wine tasting and a talk about shipwrecks.

I'm really sorry to have missed the recent talk on bootleggers because it was full .

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank maranne0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Spent over an hour in the museum, particularly in the lower level with it's magnificent display of the 1st World War in the trenches. The other displays were also well worth the visit, they even have a wonderful area for children to explore science, mechanics, etc.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank DavenportB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic museum packed with lots to see and do. The building is gorgeous. Staff are helpful and well-informed. We wish we had been able to spend more time. We shall definitely return here when we next visit the area.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Meander618539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

What to do on a rainy Friday? Take the kids to this museum. They spent over an hour playing with Lego, then they explored the museum. The loved the school house and cottage. I liked the old store and reading about what everyday objects used to cost. It really is an interesting place to learn about the history of the area. We don't think about the first settlers, and what life was like all those years ago. The museum is reasonably priced and you can spend hours here.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank MontrealNancy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews