We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
44
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gracious hosts beach chairs yogurt lake huron house is beautiful breakfast was delicious special spot breakfast room each morning high street jenny cottage victorian beloved century shoreline patio
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 52 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Travelled to Southampton for the Labour Day weekend and based on the reviews we read, booked the Chantry Breezes. We were not disappointed. Jenny and Don were the best hosts. The room was ready (and very comfortable) when we arrived, ahead of the check-in time and we were made to feel very welcome. Suggestions as to where to eat and what we might wish to do during our visit were exchanged and proved to be very honest and useful. The breakfasts, on both mornings, were perfect and exactly what was required, especially the inclusion of gluten free bread, a very much appreciated touch. The house was a wonderful base for the couple of days we stayed in Southampton and we would highly recommend this accommodation and the gracious hosts.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavenportB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don A, Owner at Chantry Breezes B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and share what our delightful community has to offer. We think that our town has a good selection of restaurants providing excellent food and lots of activities for people of every age to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Jenny and Don are top notch hosts. The house is beautiful, with thoughtful amenities, only a short stroll to the beach. The rooms are gorgeous and contain pretty much anything you could ever think to need during your stay. They even provide beach towels and umbrellas. Coffee on the veranda in the morning. Drinks on the veranda in the afternoon. We pretty much lived on the veranda when we were "home". Breakfast on the upstairs, closed in veranda made us feel like we were living in a different century. Breakfast was delicious, and again very thoughtfully equipped - great coffee (plentiful amounts), fresh squeezed orange juice, pastry, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and a hot entrée picked from a menu and cooked to order. We absolutely LOVED our stay. We had the three top floor rooms to ourselves. Our only disappointment is that we were not staying longer. PS - air conditioners would be a abomination on this beautiful, historic property.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissFitz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don A, Owner at Chantry Breezes B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet all of you, and are pleased that you felt at home here. We do enjoy watching people who are able to "slow down" as if in a different century. And thanks for the comments about A.C. It is a source of ongoing discussion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2016

We stayed in the Huron cottage for 2 days. It was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast was provided in the stunning enclosed porch in the main house. Our hosts were warm and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. I don't think we'd do anything different. We had dinner in town and strolled along the walkway along the lake. If we're in the area again, I'm certain we'd go back to Chantry Breezes.

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank KatyaTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Great hosts,grand old home ,breakfast in a second floor verandah with very above average selection of food in a quiet Lake Huron town.Water activities,cycling, walking and shoreline rehabilitation sites at your door.Broad cross section of restaurants close by as well.

Room tip: Cabins and all three level rooms very flexible selection
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjwelwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016

The hosting couple, Jenny & Don, pay attention to every detail. The garden is so inviting that you'll spend just as many hours there as you will on at the beach. Everything is available to you to make your stay feel like a home away from home and a place that you'll return to each summer. The breakfast is served in the upstairs enclosed wrap around terrace. The living room on the main floor is open to guests and there is no shortage of reading material to be found. Dishes are made available so if you want to sip a glass of wine while watching the stars in the garden, you can do so with ease. What I like most about the garden is that it has all these little hidden quiet spots so that you have the same privacy you'd have at home.
I think most guests return at the same time each year, so plan your stay well in advance to ensure you have a secured reservation.

Room tip: All the rooms are equally quiet and cozy.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews