We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good service”
Review of Silverwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silverwood Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good value, good service”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The reservation process was very nice - we called, confirmed over the phone, and were mailed a confirmation, by mail. Upon arrival the service was pleasant and thorough. This is a motel - as such our expectations were appropriate to the situation. Our room had enough space for the three of us and all of the facilities worked as promised. We lijked having a fridge in our room too.

There was an outdoor pool, but we didn't visit it.

The breakfast was basic - bread, fruit, muffins, juice, bad coffee. The usual.

It was very convenient to have a store across the street with all the necessities. The location of the motel was convenient for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    27
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nova scotia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My family and I recently spent a few days at the Silverwood motel in Cavendish Beach Prince Edward Island.
The lobby is clean and looks new and check in was very professional. I was a bit nervous at first because it is a motel unit but it was clean and well laid out. The front bedroom portion looks like every motel room with double twin beds, bathroom and kitchenette. The kitchen area had basic kitchen items that we could make snacks and breakfast.

But the pleasant surprise was that past the kitchen there is another bed room with 2 more beds and a back deck. The deck had a privacy fence and a bbq so we could have a beer and bbq supper in relative privacy. And the deck faces onto a small kids playground and then the heated pool. At night we sat out with friends and the kids played for hours in the field and on the swings and teeter totters.

The motel is located quite close to the Shining Waters family fun park. We walked over in our swim suits one morning only planning to stay for a couple hours and had so much fun we were there until suppertime.

The next day we walked a block in the the other direction to the Sand Spit amusement park and enjoyed their rides. It isn't a big park but had a good selection of items and the kids had a great time.

The rooms are older styled and certainly not fancy but it was very clean and everything was well looked cared for. And the layout and location were fantastic to enjoy Cavendish. Plus the price was pretty reasonable, we tried several locations and they had no vacancy. So we were pleasaed to come upon this option.

The only complaint would be that with a motel room you share walls with people on both sides so it can be a bit loud. There were kids on one side of us that we could hear running around and chatting. It wasn't a problem for us as we were on vacation and weren't trying to get to sleep early.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rumfuninsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed there a little over a week (9 days). We rented a room with a small kitchen, stove, fridge and microwave. (Room #1). It was very clean, even looked like they had put new flooring in the kitchen/bathroom as the floor was blindingly white. We had 1 double, 1 single bed and a cot. Plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. The beds were a bit bouncy and the single bed could have been a little more padded. However, on the whole the beds were comfortable and above par for some of the other places we have stayed in the past.

They have a very large outdoor pool that was warm enough that the kids could swim in it even on cold and rainy days. The floor of the pool is a bit excessively rough.

The grounds have outdoor chairs, bbq(s), firepits and picnic tables. Shaded trees and a little playground for the kids.

The free continental breakfast was excellent and really helped to get the family going in the morning. Three types of breads to toast, biscuits , muffins and fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee.


The location is fantastic and walking distance from everything in cavendish. It is located across the street from the cavendish tourist-mart (a grocery store+laundrymart+cornerstore+atm).

The staff are fantastic and extremely helpful. They helped us with organising transportation and they regularly bent over backwards to ensure we had a good stay. Joan at the front desk was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

found the hotel relatively inexpensive, staff was very courteous. did have a problem with a running toilet. we spent 3 days but they never would fix it. hotel is good if you are looking for value but has no amenities like a working toilet

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perk722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed at this motel on a Thursday and Friday night.

The final bill after taxes and such was $240.24 CDN, although this was not the cheapest of all the places we stayed at during our PEI visit (Rodd Mill River Resort, Singing Sands Inn, Dundee Arms), we felt it had the best value.

It was close to all attractions in Cavendish, was clean, the temperature control worked well, tv with remote control and good internet reliability.

The one and only complaint is that the blinds were directly above the air conditioner and would flap and let in light during the summer night. This was resolved by placing the telephone book against them.

Some of you might find the temperature unit noisy, others will make it background white noise and fall right asleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

stayed here in late September for a conference. Service was excellent from beginning to end -- friendly welcome, bending over backward to meet our every need, always cheerful and helpful.

Meeting room is in the basement, down a flight of stairs, and with only a few small windows at ceiling level, but it is well lit and not dark or damp. A new meeting room in the pool house is on the second floor and will have a large balcony.

Rooms are roomy and comfortable, with kitchenette. TVs are small, but who wants to watch TV when there's so much beautiful scenery around? My only complaint was that the mattress was extremely firm.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBPnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We travelled to PEI with another couple so there were 4 adults and 3 kids. We booked the 2 room suite with 3 double beds and one single bed. The rooms are not overly fancy but very well equiped. We had a back deck with a bbq which led out to the playground and was 2 seconds from a great pool. The kids were in and out of the water and then played in the playground and they had a blast. There was a water park 2 minutes down the road but we didn't even need to go there. Cavendish beach (which is a great beach) was minutes away and we ended up spending most of the next day there. Directly across the street is a fully equiped store. We bought stuff for the bbq and for breakfast the next day so that made the trip quite economical. We would definitely stay there again and it is a great place when travelling in a group. Check in was super fast and the missus at the front deck was friendly and helpful. Oh ya......the liquor store closes at 5pm on Sunday's so stock up early :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demac_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
1.3 km away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
1.8 km away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
18.1 km away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
35.0 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.8 km away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwood Motel

Property: Silverwood Motel
Address: 8933 Cavendish Road | Cavendish Beach, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1M0 , Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silverwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwood Hotel Cavendish
Silverwood Motel Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing