We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shore Excursion: Prince Edward Island and Anne of Green Gables
36

Book in advance
from
C$1,100.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Cavendish Beach
from C$1,100.00
More Info
from C$774.12
More Info
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveller rating
568
273
75
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
568
273
75
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beach red sand life guards swimming area national park clean beach off season prince edward island anne of green gables beaches dunes lifeguards waves pei shells canteen canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 927 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2019

This beach is long and safe for kids, there are life guards on duty in the marked area. It can get very busy. If you want more privacy the right side of the beach is better, although you will find more stones and algae when entering the water there. Make sure to walk to the red cliffs for a great photo opportunity. There are hundreds of little Inukshuks under the cliffs, left behind by previous beachgoers. The stones exposed by the low tide can be slippery, so be careful when stepping on them. We were there in July and the sea is cold but swimmable. Very refreshing.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Sasha011Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Can’t say I have ever walked on a red sand beach until now.

Very easy access to beach front itself from
car park short stroll away.

Beach is - well interesting to say the least but worth a visit.

Small surf & patrolled areas “swim between the flags” you can swim safely here if you don’t mind the cold water.

Nice beach to walk up & great scenic views .

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 704cameronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

We arrived at 11 am and stayed for about 6 hours. The beach has numerous lifeguards and a designated swimming area. There were waves, but it was fairly shallow. We brought a picnic lunch and had a great time. The sand is super fine and soft and you get a great view of the red bluffs overlooking the ocean. Crowded, but space for everyone!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank agrove707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

We've had the opportunity to visit famous beaches on 3 continents, and generally left disappointed...reality eclipsed expectations.

Cavendish Beach is raw natural beauty, iconic dunes, warm water and rustling grass.

It's carefully protected, preserved for future generations.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank FromPictou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

Even on a dreary day the vistas are stunning. Have a picnic or just walk the beach. People were actually swimming. 🇨🇦

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank karilynnequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews