We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L.M. Montgomery's Cavendish National Historic Site of Canada
Review Highlights
Exploring with teens

We visited the same day as Green Gables. I have been to GG at least 5 times previously, but had... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2023
Malissa H
,
Leduc, Canada
via mobile
Home of Lucy Montgomery

There really isn’t a lot to see at this site since the original house was demolished and only the... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2023
NWRob
,
Malvern, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 170 reviews
  
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office anne of green gables quick stop montgomery fans author books childhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 170 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

Stop here before you go to Green Gables. This is the site where Lucy Laud Montgomery really live and has a wonderful walk with comments by her. Even more exciting is walking where she walked along side the actual fence she walked. Quite a treat.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Umojabhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

The LM Montgomery House is adjacent to Green Gables in Cavendish, and we'll worth a visit if you are interested in the author's life.

The family (descendants of the grandparents who raise Lucy Maud) have worked to recreate a significant piece of the magic that surrounded the authoress and that she in turn put into her stories. Walks around the old house foundation include thoughts provided by Montgomery herself in her works and journals. They (the family) was also on-hand and happy to talk about the Montgomery's life in PEI and afterwards, and the family link made the whole thing very real.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank MeadowvaleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 5, 2015

We walked through the "haunted woods" to get to the foundation that used to be LMM's house. The interesting part, was the little plaques through the woods with quotes of LMM's. Also, when we got to the bookstore/giftshop just past the foundation of the old homestead, the lady there, who was a relative of LMM was awesome, and told us stuff no one else did. She got me so intrigued that I bought the first journal of LMM and just started reading it, and it's very interesting. I was able to ask this lady several things that I wanted to know, such as why didn't LMM's father raise her after her mother died? And several other things and she filled us in on some interesting things. I can see how some people might say it's just some stones in the ground, and not worth paying for. But we found the whole thing charming. Preserving this site is a labour of love for this family, and I think they've done a wonderful job.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank ginster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

This is hands-down my most favorite spot on Prince Edward Island. I have been a devoted fan of LM Montgomery's for 30 years. It was a dream come true to visit the island. This spot is where her Macneill Grandparents raised her after her mother died and her father moved west. This site, albeit without a standing house, is the most beautiful site of all LMM destinations on the island. The grounds and the home site were lovingly restored by LMM's relatives John and Jennie Macneill, who owed the property and adjoining farm. They dug the stones out of the old foundation/cellar and dug out the old well by hand. LLM called this spot 'hallowed ground'. It truly is because her spirit is there, if you slow down from the touristy hustle and bustle to notice it. The walk through the lane from the little museum and to the graveyard where LMM is buried is the most special and beautiful spots of all, annotated by LMM's own journal quotes on well-made signs. The lane just before it crosses HWY 13 is quite a treat. The old and new Lombardy Poplar leaves rustle deliciously in the gulf breeze. For true fans of LMM, this site is a MUST SEE on the LMM sites on the Island. LMM spoke a lot about her love of nature and trees. The love of this beloved area and the adjoining land up to and including her cousin's home at Green Gables inspired the writing of Anne of Green Gables, which wouldn't exist were it not for the special days LMM spend as a child in this oh-so-special location.
Heidi Williams Brown
North Carolina, USA

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank aDALEfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Its an old foundation in the ground with a nearby gift shop. If we went back to the Green Gables home, we wouldn't waste the extra cost to gain admission to this part of the site to be honest. Doing it one time was more than enough. For the uber fan of the novelist, it is probably worth it but otherwise, its probably not worth the time/money if you have other things on your schedule.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews