We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L.M. Montgomery's Cavendish National Historic Site of Canada
Review Highlights
Exploring with teens

We visited the same day as Green Gables. I have been to GG at least 5 times previously, but had... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2023
Malissa H
,
Leduc, Canada
via mobile
Home of Lucy Montgomery

There really isn’t a lot to see at this site since the original house was demolished and only the... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2023
NWRob
,
Malvern, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 170 reviews
  
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office anne of green gables quick stop montgomery fans author books childhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 170 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Remains of a cellar home for L.M.Montgomery's house. Good explanatory story boards surround the site with great views of the neighborhood. An easy pathway connects to Anne of Green Gables House. The is a gift shop on premises.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank tom646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

It's a tiny little one room museum that sells LM Montgomery books and merchandise. They sell a combo ticket that includes the grounds and Green Gables and the guide that collected the fees gave us a quick tour of the items in the museum which made it much more meaningful. It's then a beautiful walk down hill through the property and cutting through the golf course which cleverly encompasses the woods that were featured in the Anne of Green Gables series. You end up arriving at Green Gables from below which is really pleasant, although you still have to get through lots of tourists before entering the premises.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Seabird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2015

This was great and connects to the Anne of Green Gables house and a small bookstore. Be prepared to walk! It is beautiful though! You can see the site of the homestead and school, as well as some lovely farm scenery. Also, something that was slightly disappointing- It leads you to think it is the original haunted woods and lovers lane, but if you read the books and go to some of the other museums, you see it is not, as the original is a poplar forest. The cemetery where L.M. Montgomery is buried, along with her mother, and grandparents is nearby too.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Josie Mae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

Stop here before you go to Green Gables. This is the site where Lucy Laud Montgomery really live and has a wonderful walk with comments by her. Even more exciting is walking where she walked along side the actual fence she walked. Quite a treat.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Umojabhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

The LM Montgomery House is adjacent to Green Gables in Cavendish, and we'll worth a visit if you are interested in the author's life.

The family (descendants of the grandparents who raise Lucy Maud) have worked to recreate a significant piece of the magic that surrounded the authoress and that she in turn put into her stories. Walks around the old house foundation include thoughts provided by Montgomery herself in her works and journals. They (the family) was also on-hand and happy to talk about the Montgomery's life in PEI and afterwards, and the family link made the whole thing very real.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank MeadowvaleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews