We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L.M. Montgomery's Cavendish National Historic Site of Canada
Review Highlights
Exploring with teens

We visited the same day as Green Gables. I have been to GG at least 5 times previously, but had... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2023
Malissa H
,
Leduc, Canada
via mobile
Home of Lucy Montgomery

There really isn’t a lot to see at this site since the original house was demolished and only the... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2023
NWRob
,
Malvern, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 170 reviews
  
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office anne of green gables quick stop montgomery fans author books childhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 170 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2015

There is no House at this sight just a foundation. The signs around it make it sound like there is a house. There is really not much to see here. There are also other misleading sights, such as "the sight of the school house and post office". Again don't be fooled, "sight" means there was something there in the past, but there is nothing there now. Anne of Greengables house was excellent though.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 30, 2015

One of the best historic home restorations that can only be attributed to an association
who put their heart into it. A must see for all LM Montgomery fans. Maud I am certain is very pleased of her in kindred spirits that remember her still.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank pearlqueen18A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 27, 2015

I knew that when we decided to vacation in PEI that we should definitely stop and see the Green Gables House. It was very interesting and full of history. Definitely glad we made it part of our trip.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Not much remains of Montgomery's home, but the foundation is still there, surrounded by trees and gardens. There's a gift shop, too, with items to buy and items on display. Montgomery's descendants run the store and sometimes speak on the display items.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank funwithspinsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Remains of a cellar home for L.M.Montgomery's house. Good explanatory story boards surround the site with great views of the neighborhood. An easy pathway connects to Anne of Green Gables House. The is a gift shop on premises.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank tom646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews