We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L.M. Montgomery's Cavendish National Historic Site of Canada
Review Highlights
Exploring with teens

We visited the same day as Green Gables. I have been to GG at least 5 times previously, but had... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2023
Malissa H
,
Leduc, Canada
via mobile
Home of Lucy Montgomery

There really isn’t a lot to see at this site since the original house was demolished and only the... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2023
NWRob
,
Malvern, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 170 reviews
  
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
51
26
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office anne of green gables quick stop montgomery fans author books childhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 170 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

We visited this site as part of a package deal with Green Gables. You had the choice of walking through the forest or driving around to the site. I was disappointed that there was no house standing but the pathway from the bookstore to the foundation had excerpts from her journals. Each one described the place where you were standing.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2015

This is where you end up if you take a walk thru Haunted Woods from Green Gables OR you can just park here and visit the homestead and museum w/out visiting Green Gables. The gift shop is small but a must stop and see. Descendant of LMM will give a talk about history. I definitely recommend listening to her and stopping in.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2015

This is an excellent add on to the visit to the Green Gables Farm. Take the path through the Haunted Wood, cross a highway, and walk up to the site of the farmhouse where Montgomery was raised, and where she wrote Anne of Green Gables. It is very atmospheric. There is only the footprint of the building, and the old well to see, but if you are lucky - as we were - you will meet a descendant of the family who raised Lucy, and hear firsthand testimony about the site and the family who lived there. This made the day for us. And even for an old cynic like me ( who only managed to watch the video of the story) it was immensely moving.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

Make sure you go to the bookshop - there is a little old lady whose husband's family own this and she tells stories about the author that have the ring of authenticity because they were related! A peaceful and lovely spot that the family have put effort into making a meaningful experience for fans of Lucy Maud Montgomery.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank dawnmB4452YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2015

The story of L.M.Montgomery as told by one of her familial descendants was fascinating. The bookstore is well stocked with both her novels and diaries a must see for all Anne aficianados.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank StoneyCreekMikey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews