We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gourmet French Food, Great Chefs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vices Versa

Vices Versa
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$57
Cuisines: French, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gourmet French Food, Great Chefs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2016

I was recently in the area for a conference and came to this restaurant with colleagues.
The Husband/ Wife Vice/ Versa menu is a great idea.

All the food was excellent and we even got to meet the chefs! Thanks for accommodating us and giving us a great night.

  • Visited April 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DBoughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two great chefs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent evening at this restaurant a few days ago. We chose the option of three dishes each, myself from the men's selection and my wife from the women's. Each dish was delicious and unique and was served with a glass of wine specifically chosen to accompany the dish. Great, friendly service and wonderful food prepared by two chefs we greeted personally and complimented at the end of the evening. One suggestion I would make, however, is to add a selection of imported wines to their list.

  • Visited February 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2015

We both chose the three small plate options and had the wine pairings. I actually write for a living and I'm also a former chef and it would be hard to praise the inspired dishes highly enough. My absolute favorite was the confit/fois gras plate and the wine that went with it. Each dish was elegant and the proportions were perfect for us. Service was impeccable and almost invisibly efficient. Timing and the order of the courses was also nicely done.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank volcanicwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2015

We originally booked a table for two, then changed the reservation for 4 and then again for 5 !
On each occasion the staff was courteous and accommodating!
The food was great and the service even nicer!
You won't be disappointed...

  • Visited September 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rioha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carp, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A unique culinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2015

The restaurant is run by two chefs: a man and his wife. The menu has the standard Table d'Hote layout on the left, but on the right is a unique menu. Two column labeled Vices and Versas. The Vices are the male side and the Versas are the female side. The ingredients are the same on each side, but the dishes are prepared quite differently. You chose two or three dishes sit back and enjoy a culinary experience. We chose the Arctic Char and the Charlevoix veal. The Vice char was baked, the versa was marinated. Apart from what you order, the meal includes small dishes as appetizers and desserts.We found that two dishes and no dessert was sufficient. Each dish also has a suggested wine which you can order by the glass. The price of the meal is fixed depending on the number of courses and the wines consumed.

  • Visited September 2015
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vices Versa also viewed

 

Been to Vices Versa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing