We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dumos
Montreal, Canada

Beautiful view in a surreal setting, but a disappointing room decor

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 26, 2020
The setting of the property is spectacular, including the grounds and the views from our room.
The staff was extremely nice, helpful and obliging.
Our only sore point was the old decor of the room, with the '80's bathtub, old furniture but a good enough bed. For the price, they could think of a remodel.
The dining room has a stupendous view and , from past experience, is unrivaled in the region for it's quality.
All in all, it still remains one of the best inns of the region
Date of stay: July 2020
Room Tip: Ask for River view
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
C$409
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$368
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$350
  • Expedia.com
    C$409
0.7 km from Les Trois Canards
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
C$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$130
  • Hotels.com
    C$123
  • Expedia.com
    C$130
1.0 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
Site section hôtel
Booking.com
C$179
C$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$175
  • Expedia.com
    C$175
  • Agoda.com
    C$175
0.4 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrée
Booking.com
C$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$115
  • Hotels.com
    C$115
  • Expedia.com
    C$115
0.0 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$101
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$101
  • Agoda.com
    C$93
  • Vio.com
    C$93
0.3 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$190
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
  • Priceline
    C$190
0.9 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
CHAMBRE ACCESSIBLE 1 LIT KING + MICRO-ONDES /// ACCESSIBLE ROOM 1 KING SIZE BED + MICROWAVE OVEN ===>> Notre belle chambre munie d'un lit king confortable et douillet est "idéale". /// Our beautiful room with a comfortable and cozy king bed is “The Place To Be”.
Booking.com
C$123
  • Hotels.com
    C$123
  • Vio.com
    C$107
  • Expedia.com
    C$123
1.1 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$192
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$192
  • Vio.com
    C$192
  • Agoda.com
    C$192
1.0 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$129
  • Hotels.com
    C$129
  • Priceline
    C$129
1.3 km from Les Trois Canards
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Malbaie
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
16
17
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
17
10
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Les Trios Canard this past summer for 3 nights on our way to visit relatives in Alma.

This place was highly recommended by friends but the rooms reminded me of a visit to a place where you stay in a basement suite. Our simple room smelled musty like the owners had not kept it heated in the winter. We also had moldy tiles in the bathroom. Carpets were simple outdoor and thin. Beds were basic as were the bed covers.

I would not recommend staying here if you want a comfortable visit.

Staff was nice and the grounds were gorgeous.

Stay elsewhere and visit only for dinner.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Swimapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

We had a 5 star meal at the restaurant (see my review of the restaurant), but the rooms are definitely not up to the standard of the restaurant. They have not been updated since the 70's in spite of the bad reviews they keep getting. The beds are uncomfortable, and could be made acceptable by simply adding a layer of memory foam. The bedspread went out of fashion in the late 80's. In our room, we had 1 lamp, and a noisy air conditioning unit. The bathroom is small, the amenities cheap and the humidity was perfect for the silverfish that made it their home. The front desk told us that the way to get to the room (the last one in the east wing) was to go through the hotel, up and down stairs, through security doors. We found out that the exterior path leads us straight back to the lobby, no stairs, no doors to push or pull...

Room tip: I believe all rooms face the river, the view is magnificent.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marysela
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

More like 3 1/2 -we chose to stay in Malbaie on our Charlevoix road-trip. The hotel sits atop of a hill with a spectacular view of the surrounding hills and bay. For some reason the GPS had difficulty finding the hotel(it was confused by a one-way street). The hotel has quite a large green space for your use, sit enjoy a wine/beer and the view, play croquet or swim in the pool. Our room was very new but small, it was in a section of the hotel where the rooms are only accessible from the outside. Unfortunately, we were adjacent to the ice maker so it was a high traffic area.

We chose the gourmet package our restaurant server was very professional verging on formal -a nice touch. You can chose to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail on the terrasse. The food was excellent and they have a very good wine selection. After dinner we retired to the oddly kitschy lounge to relax.
Breakfast was very good, everyone seemed to love the opportunity to make toast on the open fireplace hearth.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RumJOro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 20, 2016

Excellent 5 course meal from beginning to end. Sweet breads were superb.
Salmon tartare bias a real treat. The desserts choices were perfect to finish the meal.
3 types of butter and homemade bread were an added treat

Room tip: We just had dinner
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2014

I stayed at Les Trois Canards after my room reservation was not honored at Hotel Au Petit Berger and hotels.com was not able to persuade or enforce the hotel to provide the room that was booked and confirmed through their website. Les Trois Canards, and everything about it, was an oasis, especially in comparison to the other lodging. The room had a beautiful view overlooking La Malbaie, the scenic church steeple, the coastline, the lovely pool and their beautiful greens. The rooms, the grounds, the lobby, the restaurant all were elegant and comfortable, luxurious and practical. It was a short walk to the water’s edge and the main part of town. It was truly a respite after each day’s adventure in the Charlevoix region.
There was a small additional charge for the breakfast which and included a gourmet main course, a starter buffet of cheeses, pates, fruit, yogurts, homemade breads, jellies, jams and pastries. Because it was so delicious, I ordered the same main course 3 days in a row – eggs Florentine with smoked salmon on top of a sensuous potato pancake. The food and the fabulous view from the dining room was a spectacular way to start any day on vacation.

It should be noted that if you stay at the Inn, you will receive more than a 20% discount for breakfast and/or the 5 course fine gastronomic dinner. And, there is no elevator. I was fine with walking up and down 3 flights of stairs; however this could be a problem for others.

The only negative I experienced was that when I checked into the Inn, I was quoted one price for the meal plan that included the dinner and when I checked out, I was charged $20 more per day. Although, the meal was worth the extra $20, and it was probably a language issue, I do feel like they should have honored what was quoted, or at least we should have split the difference. That will not deter me from returning to Les Trois Canards as it was really a VERY lovely experience!

Room tip: High floors have great views, but more steps to climb. Make sure you include the breakfast and at least 1 dinner. The food is great and the view spectacular
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ILoveTraveling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews