We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful time in charlevoix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Third week of May we spent 3 nights in Le Manoir Richelieu in Charlevoix and enjoyed it so much that we plan on going back every year same time.,Everything is on site (golf course,spa, casino,indoor and outdoor(open year round) swimming pools).Everything was up to our expectations, friendly and helpfull staff, luxurious room good food and the scenery. Played golf at one of the best resort golf course on the east coast . No matter where you stand on the golf course you are overlooking the St-Laurent. It was well worth the 5 hours drive from Montreal.

Room Tip: Have your buffet breakfast included with the room and you will save nearly 20 $ for 2 every morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

We spent 5 nights at Fairmont Richelieu.
The building is beautiful and the site exceptional, though spoilt by the casino building (and patrons). Great hall and lobby in perfect condition. The architecture and the site explain that I rate "average" instead of "poor".
The staff is very kind but not always efficient : we had a very bad experience of in room breakfast service, and financial compensation does not change the feeling. The service level is unstable : one day, there is turnaround of the room, the other not.
The room was good ("deluxe St Laurent king"), though the St Laurent view was lateral by one window only, the other window with a parking and service area view; the bathroom is a real shame : difficult to find something smaller; this is not in line with the alleged level of the hotel.
WiFi is at 13.95 CAD + taxes but the functioning is unpredictable.
The worse experience is the catering. Buffet breakfast at "le Bellerive" is bland : poor bakeries, queue and noisy crowd; on top, they cannot cook scrambled eggs. The restaurant ("le Saint Laurent" has a kind service but a terrible food; fortunately, we discovered a little local gem (Chez Truchon, one kilometer away) that provided very good food for our last three evenings.
This was a huge disappointment. It is a pity, because the place has a huge potential.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulklib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The manoir Richelieu is the largest hotel in the area and the one with the most amenities. We truly enjoyed our stay as the heated pool and the hot tub in the winter just made the trip.

Room- the rooms are a little outdated but clean. No big deal breaker.

Food- food was excellent at the hotel! The truffle potatoes are to die for. 2 recommendations. 1- you can go to Mike's restaurant on the main road forma great inexpensive breakfast. 2- there is a creperie/ fondue restaurant on the main road in this little quaint old house. We cant say enough about the food! Have the maple crepe for dessert..maybe even two! :)

Amenities- the pool and hot tub are the main draws summer or winter. Winter when is -30 out is amazing. The huge fireplaces in the lobby are a nice touch. The casino is fun but small. Try the " Wheel of Fortune"

Activities- in the winter, you can go to the ski hill not far off. There is cross country, downhill and snow shoeing. All fun.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montreal2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived for a relaxing weekend and ended up in a nightmare. To begin with, they gave us (a 30-something year old couple) one of the old rooms. They happily accepted our request for a refurbished one. So first points scored.

We decided to dine in, so we went to the restaurant (not the fanciest one) and the waiters were extremely rude to us. Plus, the food was pretty bad.

At around 11 PM we decided to go to bed, just to find out that they had a graduation party going in the lobby. Now, if the hotel is not fully booked, is there a need to give guests rooms right on top of the party? We were changed to a room on the fifth floor, but we were next to some machines that wouldn't stop. Overall, a terrible experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandinga61277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Le Manoir Richelieu is a great example of the Fairmont brand. The hotel is iconic, the location is beautiful, and the grounds are really nice. It's at the same location as the Charlevoix Casino, so it has an added attraction for those who are interested. The town of La Malbaie itself is not exactly attractive, so the hotel is in some ways its own destination.

Our room was fully renovated and had a river view, so we were very satisfied. The room felt like new, the bathroom was beautiful and there were several unexpected amenities, like a Nespresso machine and a TV connection box (to use your ipad, for example), cables and all. I loved that! A minor negative point is that we could hear the people from the room next door, so I would try to avoid adjoining rooms in my next stay.

The pools are fantastic, very relaxing, and come in several flavours: a salted interior, warm exterior, inside jacuzzi, outside heated and a couple more that were closed during winter. Be aware that there are times that they're filled with kids, but if you can make your schedule to avoid peak times, it's fine.

The lobby and grounds are very castle-like and worth a walk. Speaking of which, you can make a reservation and take Georgie, the local dog, for a 30-minute walk. That was another nice surprise.

Service was one of the best I received lately and I have absolutely no complaints. The staff was more than professional, and helped us out whenever we had a request. The low point of the experience was definitely the food. We ate at 4 different restaurants at the hotel, including Room Service, and the results were always bland. The food wasn't bad, but it was forgettable and disappointing, much below other Fairmont properties.

Overall I was very satisfied with my stay and would definitely come back, so I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AstroJunq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here this winter for a special occasion. We drove there during a bad storm and were so happy to go realx in the fabulous outside pool while snowflakes surrounded us. The staff is very welcoming, eager to please and friendly. There even was a little surprise in my room to help us celebrate. The Health Club staff remember your name and your habits so they assist in making everything perfect. The next day we went skiing at Le Massif - amazing skiing, breathtaking views and great staff there too assisting you to pick slopes that match your level and giving insider tips. Toured the area to visit art galleries in Baie St-Paul before coming back for another great dip in the outside jacuzzi. A very unique feeling to see the show blowing around while you are so comfy under the stars. Both nights we ordered room service as we were too tired. The food was very nice, featuring a lot or local products. Two days is really to short to try everything but summer and winter offer very different activities so we will have to come back to explore the Flavor trail and hike at Parc des Hautes Gorges.

Room Tip: Waking up to a view of the St. Lawrence river is great. In summer some ships are parked in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motherof3teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed for a 1-night stay, the last night of the spring break. Everything was excellent, from service, to cleanliness, etc etc. For the first time, we ordered food to the room because we were too tired to go downstairs. The food was good, the salad was a bit disapointing, but the pizzas were really good. It was very busy, but we were always served very quickly. The parking was very full so we decided the pay for the valet service, and that is something I do not usually do. The bed was VERY comfortable, it's probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept on! The pool and sauna felt very small for the amount of people that were there; but that's my only tiny complain. We had to leave after 10 minutes, we had a lack of patience due to the number of people in the pool/sauna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ju_de_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
0.5 km away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
34 km away
Hotel & Spa Le Germain Charlevoix
1.7 km away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
286 reviews
5.7 km away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#8 of 13 in La Malbaie
259 reviews
2.1 km away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#11 of 13 in La Malbaie
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Address: 181 rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range: $209 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entire team of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu welcomes our guests to experience unique gastronomy, spectacular views and the abundance of activities available in the picturesque region of Charlevoix. Located only an hour and fifteen minute drive from Quebec City, nestled between mountains, forest and the scenic village of La Malbaie, our property, offering 405 rooms and 4 restaurants is the ideal retreat whether you are in need of a peaceful getaway or an active expedition. Our team’s mission is to make you feel at home and we will ensure everything runs smoothly from your arrival to your departure. Winter activities at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu include: snowmobile, dog sledding, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, as well as skiing in one of the nearby ski resorts, Le Massif or Mont Grand-Fonds. During the summer season, countless options are also available to you: whale watching, 27-holes world class golf course, mini golf, tennis, outdoor pools, hiking…to name a few! Since we care about the whole family’s well-being, children are invited to enjoy the exciting activities available within our children’s Beluga Club. The possibilities are endless at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, and our concierge will be delighted to assist you with any request you may have concerning the area activities, such as the Astronomical Observatory of Charlevoix, the Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Riviere-Malbaie national park, the trail of flavors and The Baie-Saint-Paul village. Located next to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu is the Casino de Charlevoix, offering guests the opportunity to test their luck and experience the vibrant nightlife that is waiting right outside our doors. For a perfect afternoon escape, unwind at the Spa du Manoir and treat yourself to one of our signature treatments, complete with a dip in the Jacuzzi or the indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont La Malbaie
La Malbaie Fairmont
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu La Malbaie, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing