We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Martin L

Nice hotel. Poor Restaurant

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 26, 2020via mobile
Front desk friendly Rooms are ok. A bit overpriced but being by the casino it’s fun. Unfortunately I recommend avoiding the restaurant. We ordered very basic breakfast after an hour not having any word we left. So if you expect quick service forget it. I definitely will not return to this hotel because of this very disappointing situation. Too bad to finish on such a low note .

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacques Rioux, Propriétaire at Manoir Charlevoix, responded to this review
Responded Jul 6, 2021
Bonjour Notre déjeuner est en formule continentale et aucune commande à la carte n'est prise. Manifestement vous émettez un commentaire sur le mauvais hôtel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$159
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
0.7 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Site section hôtel
C$235
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$235
1.7 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
1.4 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrée
C$214
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$214
1.4 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$386
C$323
Fully refundable
  • Fairmont
    C$323
  • Expedia.com
    C$359
  • travelup.com
    C$332
2.1 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free parking
Pool
C$151
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$151
0.2 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
chambre avec vue
C$145
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$145
5.1 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$161
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
0.7 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
CHAMBRE ACCESSIBLE 1 LIT KING + MICRO-ONDES /// ACCESSIBLE ROOM 1 KING SIZE BED + MICROWAVE OVEN ===>> Notre belle chambre munie d'un lit king confortable et douillet est "idéale". /// Our beautiful room with a comfortable and cozy king bed is “The Place To Be”.
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$170
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Manoir Charlevoix
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Malbaie
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
97
93
53
39
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
93
53
39
48
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 330 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2020

With full hotels in the region this summer, we were stuck with this inferior hotel at an unusually high price.

The hotel is a very old and has not been well maintained. Throughout the hotel, balconies and terraces are sagging, the paint is faded, the carpets soiled, the lawn by the pool overgrown.

The hotel is also using COVID-19 as an excuse for its deteriorated service, which does not meet what is advertised. For example, we were told that because of COVID-19 there was no in-room coffee/tea maker that was advertised (there were scores of Keurig machines stored in a closet). This was one of five Quebec hotels we stayed in this trip, but the only one without in-room coffee machines.

There is supposed to be breakfast included, but apparently because of COVID-19 they can’t cook eggs either. Fruit loops, toast and canned fruit salad is NOT breakfast. The attitude of the restaurant staff was beyond belief -- we were told we were "lucky" to even be getting coffee!

Meanwhile, the breakfast set-up promoted irresponsible crowding for our COVID times. Out of a massive dining room, the “food” and coffee serving area was crammed into a small corner so that anybody serving themselves this pathetic excuse for food was crammed into a small area. At other hotels, dishes, cutlery, condiments etc were carefully handled by hotel staff only -- here they were laid out on trays, buffet-style.

Room tip: Recommend a room at the Fairmont down the street instead.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel-Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2019

We visited the beautiful area of Charlevois Region and was so excited to stay in this Inn. At check-in I immediately knew we had made a mistake booking this. Straight away my eyes and throat started reacting to the smell of mustiness. On route to our room the smell worsened. Our room was small, dated and smelled so bad of stale carpet and mustiness. We immediately went back to the lobby to check out. They did offer us a nicer room on the top floor but the smell was no better. On top of that, while we were on the phone with Expedia who we booked the room with, the man who checked us in came out a couple times to have a cigarette on the front porch???We called Expedia and asked for a refund. They tried to work with the Inn but they wouldn't refund us any of our 4 day stay. After several days we were able to get 3 days refunded back to us. We stayed at the motel across the road for less money and it was clean, fresh and very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jojoma1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is charming and our room was comfortable and renovated, but the hotel is not good value for the money for the following reasons.
There are service issues. Here they are:
1. There were narrow and steep stairs to our room. We were told there were no elevators and that we were in shape, so we should be able to carry our own bags. There was no offer to help us. We are older and I have a shoulder problem so I found this attitude rather off putting.
2. We were told at check-in that breakfast started at 7 am. We arrived at 7 am the next morning to find another couple, native Fench speakers, also waiting. They also recieved incorrect information. Apparently breakfast starts at 7:30. Even though this time is stated on the website, we expect correct information at check-in. All of us had early morning plans, so even though they opened things up for us, we were delayed and inconvenienced.
3. We were not told at check-in that we needed to put up the sign on the door or the room would not be made up. I have stayed in hotels all over the world from budget to luxury including other hotels in this area and the default has been to make up the room if no one is in the room and there is no indication on the door not to enter. When we told the reception person, in the late afternoon, that our room had not been made up, we where told then about the rule and no offer was made to have our room made up at that time.

There were also issues with supplies in the room.
The Kleenex was like paper. The toilet paper was also low quality. The towels were thin and very rough. The top sheet on the bed was thin and ill fitting and did not stay in place.

All in all, not good value for the high season price.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Désirée M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Such a great hotel. Situated right on the waterfront of a great Quebec region. Everything was perfect!!

Clean, great customer service. Casino near by! Great views. Great pool area. Food was good but expensive though.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NJKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay in La Malbaie. It has the old-world charm and character that only a 100 year old building can have, plus the best view from the second floor porch in the entire town. I highly recommend Le Manoir Charlevoix to anyone staying in the area.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jbarton111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews