We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2015

We stayed in a second floor room with a balcony that over looked the bay. Best location for walking to restaurants and the museum. In the evening it was especially nice to set out on the balcony with a glass of wine. Lots of friendly folks and some excellent restaurants in this area. quick drive to the casino and to artists studios. The morning breakfast was very nice and a great deal at $3 Canadian. Rooms were clean and the staff was fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on second floor facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simone41035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2015

Spacious, clean and very quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Modern room with king bed, great deck,view of the river. Very well priced with continental breakfast included. We have stayed at many hotels/motels and overall this was one of the best.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

The room is large and very well furnished, the washroom is ok, the motel is very well located, all this for about 75 $. The breakfast at 3.5 $ is a bargain if you are looking for a simple one. Strongly recommended. The rooms at the ground floor might be noisy, so choose one at the first floor. and if you like to have a view on the river call and ask for a room in the main building.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RALF013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

nice to place to stay . nice location. walking to many retaurants and across the street from Lake Ontario. Room was clean and comfortable. people at the desk were very friendly and helpful in suggesting places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dgillispie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel was recently redone - our room was in the front building with a view of the river (we paid the extra $10 to have the river view). The room was very spacious and everything seemed brand new. We also had a small patio with access to a huge patio outside. Even though it was full, it was very quiet. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly. Only negative is that breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelGoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived after dark and as we drove in the hotel appeared to look like a typical 60's-70's Quebec motor court.
However, once there we realized it was all new and made to look like the original hotel. We were told that the old hotel burned a couple of years ago and replaced with this on. Excellent job I'd say.
I stayed in room 124 which had a king bed and double shower. The unit was large and comfortable with a flat screen TV and a small kitchenette. Even had a K-cup coffee maker.
Also, the hotel is located within walking distance of a number of fine restaurants.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EslovRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Charming front desk staff,thy could not have been more pleasant. I suspect none of them had much English, not a problem for us. Room was spacious, clean, had everything we needed. You can walk to several choice restaurants. Their continental breakfast choices were pretty meagre. Kraft cheese slices when the area is known for cheese! Guess we are spoiled after spending time in Europe. There are great place for breakfast in La Malbaie. Next time we will not take the $4 breakfast option and go elsewhere. For the mobility challenged, beware the breakfast room is on the second floor, great view but stairs. Our room was underneath part of the breakfast room. It sounded as if they were mopping the floor at 10:00 pm and moving all the chairs and tables on ceramic floor!

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank QR8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Malbaie hotels
1.7 km away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
1.2 km away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
0.6 km away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
#9 of 13 in La Malbaie
36 reviews
0.6 km away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
285 reviews
0.7 km away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#12 of 13 in La Malbaie
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer

Address: 1125 Richelieu | Secteur Pointe-au-Pic, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2X8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range: $96 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the St. Lawrence River, less than a kilometre from the casino, 28 very spacious air conditioned rooms with a small refrigerator, private balcony and high-speed Internet connection. Huge terrace with a view of the river. Whether you are attracted by its fabulous location or incredible value for the dollar, let Le Castel de la Mer help make your next stay in Charlevoix the most pleasant and relaxing ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castel De La Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel De La Mer La Malbaie, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing