We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bill0913
Arnprior, Canada

Nice surprise!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 21, 2015
Very clean and large modern room (204) with two king beds and some superb lighting overlooking the St. Lawrence River. Walking distance to a few of La Malbaie's nicer restaurants. Very friendly staff at check in / out. Hope we get back again!
Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PANADEAU1, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this review
Responded Oct 14, 2015
Thank You very much for your recent stay and nice comments regarding "Le Castel de la Mer". Our team works hard in order to satisfy every guest in all occasion and your great words for our hotel-motel are as a gift for all our employees and for us. We expect to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our very nice region of Charlevoix.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$159
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$176
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$159
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
CHAMBRE ACCESSIBLE 1 LIT KING + MICRO-ONDES /// ACCESSIBLE ROOM 1 KING SIZE BED + MICROWAVE OVEN ===>> Notre belle chambre munie d'un lit king confortable et douillet est "idéale". /// Our beautiful room with a comfortable and cozy king bed is “The Place To Be”.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$161
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
Site section hôtel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$208
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    C$185
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrée
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    C$214
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$308
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free parking
Pool
L'Auberge des Falaises dans Charlevoix
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$254
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • Algotels
    C$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$179
0.7 km from Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Malbaie
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
143
98
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
98
12
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 260 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Very friendly and easy check in. We had a room facing the river with a tiny little balcony. It was a bit noisy but we didn't mind because we loved the atmosphere. Nice for a little drink of wine before dinner.
The room was beautiful and clean looked newly updated. The breakfast was the usual and ok.
Lots of restaurants within an easy walk which is always a bonus after a long drive

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CherylB423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PANADEAU1, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Thank You for choosing "Le Castel de la mer" for your recent stay in Charlevoix. All the members of our team will be happy to read your great comments about the cleanliness of our rooms and the warm welcoming at the check-in. We hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2015

Stayed overnight on a weekend roadtrip with friends.
Nice, clean and quiet. Beds are comfortable. Noce big terrace out front... Bring your wine and cheese and enjoy!
Great view of the bay. Nicely situated around a variety of restaurants.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johntobin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PANADEAU1, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015
Google Translation

Thank You very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay at Le Castel de la Mer... Tous les membres de notre équipe sont impliqués afin de rendre le séjour de tous clients le plus agréable qui soit et nous apprécions grandement que vous ayez aimé séjourner au Castel de la Mer. Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2015

Highly recommend this property if staying in La Malbaie. Room was very clean and comfortable and had a small kitchenette. Property is within walking distance of good restaurants. It is also located in a beautiful area.

The rooms do face the outside and the balconies are not private. If you are on the 2nd floor, you will need to carry your luggage up a short set of stairs. All the guests were friendly and there were a lot of people enjoying a drink on their balconies when we arrived.

We really enjoyed our stay and would have like to have stayed longer.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MsSylviaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PANADEAU1, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup...vos commentaires sont très appréciés de toute notre équipe et sont un incitatif à continuer à offrir un hébergement de qualité à prix abordable ! Thanks again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2015

In the middle of a massive car trip, this was a welcome stop. In between Quebec city and whale watching at baie ste Catherine, this was a very nice motel. Staff were very friendly. They hustled to get us into our room early. Very comfortable bed, very clean room. They charge $4 for a bare bones breakfast that we tried once and chose not to bother our second morning. Nice that they don't build that into the price so you can choose.

Room tip: Some rooms have view of st Lawrence River, if you care. We didn't.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ommm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PANADEAU1, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup...vos commentaires sont très appréciés de toute notre équipe et sont un incitatif à continuer à offrir un hébergement de qualité à prix abordable ! Thanks again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Paid 163 + tax. Outside is deceiving as the bedrooms are quite nice and modern and clean. Very small balcony. Although we had a view on the St-Laurence, you could not see it that much. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would return for sure.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews