We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
110
84
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
84
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoaster ovenbbq areacomfortable bedswithin walking distancewould stay here againcoffee makermini fridgecontinental breakfastroom was largeriver viewlawrence riverkitchenettebalconycasinowashroomcanadiancharlevoix
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 211 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Spacious and clean room with comfortable beds. Convenient location with restaurants in walking distance. Nice tearrace.
Very fair price for breakfast - 4$.
Air condition was working well but very noisy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Horst M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERRE N, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you to choose Le Castel de la Mer for your September stay. We are sorry that the AC was noisy when you stay with us. Be sure that our maintenance man does his best to fix that kind of problems and when he is not able, we call without any hesitation a specialist firm to fix it. The customer's satisfaction is very important for us.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

This is a large motel, with lots of rooms and convenient parking. Excellent room, with comfortable large king size bed. Good kitchenette in the room. Continental breakfast available for CAD4 and well worth it. Very friendly and helpful front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerMikePlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERRE N, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

"Merci beaucoup" thank You for your great words regarding le Castel de la Mer. Your description is perfect, regarding our rooms (Studios de luxe with kitchenette and king bed) and we are very proud of our team at the front-desk, house keeping, breakfast room and maintenance people. We hope that you enjoyed your vacation in Charlevoix, Québec Canada. Thanks again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Excellent place to sleep clean very, quiet. close to the St Lawrence, easy access to the Casino and they have all sort of specials Batroom are remodeled and they are getting ready for the G7 in June of 2018. The lady told us abouth a fine food restaurant and it was great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERRE N, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Sorry for the delay to answer to your excellent comments regarding le Castel de la Mer. When you wrote your good words, it was known that the 2018 G7 Summit will be hold in La Malbaie. Yes, our rooms are ready and since that time we updated our Standard rooms and we also improoved some of our "River view rooms". At the present time, as I make that answer, all our rooms are occupied with people working for the success of that great G7 Summit and we think that they alll seemed very happy with the comfort of our 48 rooms and our facilities, including breakfast and our location. Thanks again to stay with us and we hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Castel de la Mer for three nights. The room was quiet, spotless, roomy, had a comfy king-size bed and a kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, and toaster oven, and basic cutlery and dishes. The cost was very reasonable -- three nights cost less than one night at the Manoir Richelieu. Fresh toiletries each day, along with good quality towels. There is a BBQ area with tables to eat at. After four nights at quaint inns it was actually a bit of a relief to stay in a modern place where we could make our own breakfasts and picnic lunches for our hikes. The motel is at the end of the old main street in the Point-au-Pic sector of La Malbaie. There are a number of very good to excellent restaurants on the street, so you can leave the car and stroll to dinner. It is also close to the Charlevoix Museum and a very short walk from great views over the St. Lawrence River. You can also walk to the Manoir Richelieu and Casino from the motel -- not on the road that has the sign pointing to them, but the lower street.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 225, which was one of the studio rooms on the second floor of a building at the back. It was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERRE N, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Sorry for the delay to make that answer regarding your excellent comments for your last september stay at "Le Castel de la mer". We are very happy that your room "Studio deluxe" meets your expectation and that the price was affordable. As owners, we gave to our guests the same kind of comfort that we expect to find when we travel. Cleanliness of the rooms, comfort matress (most of our matress are very new Simmons Beautyrest for hotels) and quality towels are something very important for us. In addition, fast hi-speed internet and HD TV and good AC units are also an important criteria in the choice of a good hotel and it's something that we try to provide to all our guests. We are an independant motel/hotel but we try to provide the same level of comfort given by hotel's chains plus a personnal touch. All our employees are involved to deliver it to your guests. Thanks again for your stay in La Malbaie, Charlevoix and for your great words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

We stayed one night here on our trip in the Charlevoix area. 2 adults, and 2 school aged children. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was good with many food options. The eating area is nice bright room. Upon check-in, the front desk person recommended some family restaurants for dinner. The motel location is good for restaurants within walking distance.

What I thought was most outstanding was the customer service (Paul) provided after we left. I forgot several clothing items, and I called the next morning to inquire. Paul arranged for the clothes to be couriered the same day to our next stop in Quebec City. This was a lot of extra work for him, and he exceeded my expectations in customer service. I was so pleased to get my clothes back. It was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: The ground floor units have parking lot noise. Ask about a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank toddcorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULPHN, Manager at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad to hear that your clothes arrived on time in Quebec City! We hope to welcome you again on your next visit in Charlevoix.

Best regards,
Paul-Philippe Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews