We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
130
95
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
130
95
11
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 242 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2019

We booked one night in La Malbaie at the last minute due to changes in our travel plans. What a find! This small hotel well deserves the high ratings -our room was above average in quality, comfort and size even compared to Brand hotels of similar ratings. Besides the ample space, there were two comfortable tub chairs around a small table, full kitchenette with plates and utensils, Keurig coffee maker ( pods, sugar and cream included), toaster oven, microwave and mini fridge. There is even a central outdoor BBQ area. Wifi was good, the bed was comfortable, but there are only stairs to reach the second floor. Be sure to request a ground floor if you prefer.

All staff were very friendly. The optional cold buffet breakfast ($4 each) was great value and included boiled eggs and yoghurt, fruit, breads, cereals and pastries, with a selection of spreads ( cream cheese, peanut butter, jams and even creton spread- a regional favourite).
I was sad to move on to our next destination- I could happily stay here for several days visiting the region. Since the hotel was sold out , I assume others have discovered this treasure too.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 212slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Stayed for two nights. Room was spotless. We had a small kitchen that served us well. Staff was friendly and helpful. Well situated for walks along the river. Close to good restaurants. Had a great sleep in a king bed. The place was completely full but very quiet. Great place to stay.

Room tip: get a kitchenette if you need one
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank klodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this little motel. Clean, quiet, and very well maintained. The room we used for one night, had 2 double beds with a sparkling clean bathroom. In addition, a small kitchen with a mini fridge, a microwave, a toaster oven, and hot plate also boasts utensils and dishes. There is also a table with benches in the corner (similar to ones in a RV). Vending machines are close to the three buildings on the property. Each room has either a patio or balcony with a cafe table with 2 chairs.

I will definitely return

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 295PaulaC295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Great place on "restaurant street", can walk every where you please. Very well situated, some rooms have a view of the St-Laurence I beleive. Very comfortable with lots of light a a newer bath and surround. Refrigirator, good size tv, overall: nice

Room tip: Main building facing the river
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Curious810096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Castel de la Mer is well-appointed, easy to find, clean, comfortable, and a very good value for the area. Very helpful and pleasant desk staff. Breakfast is functional but nothing special, and we'd recommend going to the patisserie in town, which is terrific. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jakester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERRE N, Propriétaire at Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Thank You for choosing Le Castel de la mer, in La Malbaie, last September. Please excuse the delay to answer to your excellent comments on our Hotel-Motel, posted for the readers of TripAdvisor and be sure that we have appreciate your good words on Le Castel de la mer. We hope to welcome you again if you want to discover our "magnifique" region !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews