We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Geopremiere at Lac Morency in St.-Hippolyte, Quebec, Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge du Lac Morency
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Hippolyte
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Club Geopremiere at Lac Morency in St.-Hippolyte, Quebec, Canada”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Getting here requires you to drive a long distance over winding single lane road. The drive is very scenic. If you are the driver keep your eyes on the road if you want to avoid an accident. The first word that comes to my mind to describe the Wyndham Club GeoPremiere at Auberge du Lac Morency is rustic. This resort is designed to blend in to the mountains in which they reside. The units are constructed out of wood. This is not a bad design philosophy for this location.
The unit we stayed in was comfortable, clean and quiet. It had a fireplace, if you want to light the fireplace you have to pay for the fireplace log. The resort had a nice restaurant although you will have to make a reservation and there are limited hours of operations. This is a rural area therefore there are not many places to dine.
If you don’t want to drive to Montreal, the resort provides a bus tour to Montreal and Quebec City. We went on the Montreal tour. We had a French Canadian tour guide who was quite knowledgeable and provided a narrative of the places we visited.
This is an acceptable place to stay for those who do not require a modern resort, who do not need an active nightlife and many choice of restaurant to dine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank intrepid9742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubergedulacmorency, Font desk supervisor at Auberge du Lac Morency, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Intrepid9742. Thank you for your great feedback. We greatly appreciate comments from our guests. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the tranquil location, the overall facilities, as well as the service provided. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    126
    52
    22
    18
See reviews for
106
138
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Paul Ile aux Noix
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The environment is gorgeous as well as the activities, but the installations, services and material are NOT related to a 4 stars! (2 at the MOST) Rough towels, bedspread similar to what you would find in a cheap motel, people at the restaurant ignoring us ( we asked 3 times for water once) and the condos look nothing like the pics at their website. Forget the wi-fi and the workable gym (most machines were not working) We rented 3 condos and we would NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubergedulacmorency, Front desk supervisor at Auberge du Lac Morency, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Marie R. Thank you for recognizing that environment is gorgeous as well as our activities. The pictures that you are mentioning are for a 2 bedroom - 2 storeys type, you rented a 1 bedroom condo and requested to be on one level. Our well appointed condos are rated Silver and Gold Crown. We have just reopened our new reception building complete with indoor pool, spa, sauna and gym. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is our third time at the resort and we will be back beg of march with the kids for a week. Stayed in the h building, more modern than the units we stayed in last year. We are rci owners, so I believe that these units are gold and the older units are silver crown. Pool is still not working. They said their target was Christmas but I thought it was supposed to open on oct 31. Just as long as its opened in march. They offer you a free day pass to mt Gabriel's pool and gym facilities in the meantime. Had supper at the restaurant. Omg, amazing! Was pricey though. Great service, staff and all around a wonderful getaway with hubby sans enfants ( children)!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubergedulacmorency, Front desk supervisor at Auberge du Lac Morency, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Stephie1, thank you for sharing your positive comments. We are glad to announce that our indoor pool is now open. We are looking forward to next visit in March. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

While this resort may be acceptable if you come with a family, in the summer or fall when lake facilities are fully functional, if you get the biggest units and do NOT get a studio ( with the cramped kitchen, ridiculous spiral stair to loft which could kill you in a fire) , and arrive during hours ( after nine thirty the place is locked up )... be aware that the departure procedure requires everyone "make sure the dishes are clean and replaced in the cupboards". there is no dishwasher. Apparently cleanliness of your dishes depends on the goodwill of the prior occupant.. Which in our case was NOT fastidious. You have to bring your own stuff to make the kitchen workable.( e.g. coffee filters, paper towels),
And do not think of this as a winter resort near mont tremblant. It is a circuitous route to find and get anywhere.

Having stayed at many lovely Wyndham resorts, we question what Wyndham was thinking to include this non-descript property in such an anonymous location. It hurts the wyndham brand.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest unit you can get. The older ones in sections A-D are like cabins with wood floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank schrammfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubergedulacmorency, Front desk supervisor at Auberge du Lac Morency, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
"SCARY" is such a powerful word. What were you scared about, dishes? Spiral staircases? You booked a Studio Loft, with Wyndham Vacations, which should have described to you what a studio Loft is.
We pride ourselved in the cleanliness of our units and the quality of our service. When our guests need or wants something, the very simple way to get action is to let us what you need and we always do our best to make their stay more comfortable. Paper towels are provided and we do offer coffee welcome kit. Yes our unit A to D have wood floors and walls, which is very quaint and is a feature very sought after in the Laurentians, where we are located. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I recently traveled to Club Geo premiere at Lac Morency in St. Hippolyte, Quebec, through Geo Holiday. We booked last minute, 2 weeks out and were lucky enough to be booked into the only stand-alone villa they have at this resort, all we had asked for was a 2 bedroom unit. It was a whole house, with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom with a sauna and Jacuzzi tub, in the lower level where you entered. Upstairs was another full bath with jetted tub, full living room with fireplace, a dining room and complete kitchen with all you would need for a week or so. There was also a full deck on the front of the villa with a picnic table and 4 chairs.

The villa was off by itself, and was a short walk down to the front desk and activities center, no further away than other units, just in a different direction.

I should start by saying this vacation was mainly to rest and relax and we did plenty of that. There was not a lot going on at the resort, but this seemed typical for this time of year. The foliage was absolutely beautiful, and nicely viewed from the several hiking trails and look out points overlooking the resort and the lake. They had a fire there last winter, and so the office is in a trailer, but they were quite efficient and helpful. The indoor pool and gym facilities were closed due to the fire, but the outdoor pool was open and heated, along with a hot tub and sauna. Although we were told the water was not very warm, we did not use any of these facilities. The lake is beautiful and would be fun in the summer to swim or kayak in. The weather while we were there was mostly rainy, but that certainly was no fault of the resort. They were very helpful and efficient, during check in and out and with any minor problems we may have had.

We did not eat at the restaurant, as we ate all of our meals in the villa, unless we were off on a tour for the day. The only exception was a nice little Italian restaurant about 10 miles down the road, whose name escapes me. The price at the restaurant was quite expensive at first thought, but it actually included all 3 courses, so $35 for appetizer, main entrée and dessert isn’t really that bad, just not what we wanted. We spoke with folks who had had the Sunday brunch, who said it was delicious, but pricy.

We took 2 tours from the resort, one to Montreal City on Tuesday and one to Quebec City on Thursday. They were both great and we’d encourage other adults to do the same. I say adults, because it would be a long van ride for a child. They both included visits to the old part of the cities, beautiful cathedrals, a river cruise and informative facts and tidbits. I’d highly recommend anyone planning on visiting these cities for the day to travel with Shirley on the 13 passenger van tours. She filled our days with adventures, but offered plenty of free time also. The trips seemed expensive, $600 total, for the 2 of us, for both tours, but well worth the expense if you want to see the cities and have only 1 day each to do it.

We also took a self-guided tour of St. Saviour, a neighboring town with many shops and restaurants, and traveled to Mont Tremblant. The latter is a beautiful alpine village set into a mountain about 1 ½ hours north of Montreal. It is delightful with its many shops, hotels and restaurants. I was reminded of what an Alpine village in the Alps might look like. Be sure to take the gondola rides, to get a better view of the area.

All in all, Club Geo at Auberge du lac Morency is a great place to visit. All of the cons that folks have said about the place, from the dark rooms, uncomfortable beds and lackluster amenities did not distract from our stay. We chose to concentrate on the positives and each other. Our villa was very clean and we were given clean towels and supplies 2X during the week. We met wonderful folks from all over the US and Canada. We probably won’t go back, mainly because there are so many other places to visit with Geo Premiere and RCI, and not a lot to do here for us this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank efrench2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed at the resort for 3 days with my girlfriend who possesses a Disney time share. The resort was on our list of potential destinations due to its geographical location, north towards the Laurentian's and only 1.5 hours from the Montreal area. ...She had also booked the resort for the entire week and was intending to spend some down time with her kids also. Basically, the resort is just outside of St.Jerome Quebec nestled in the corner of Morency Lake, situated in a little Quebec town called St. Hippolyte.

The resort has been around for over 25 years and is very well maintained. Judging by the number of habitation units available there seems to have been some major investments over the years. You can choose from nice and relatively new condo units to individual and older 1 storey cabin or housing style accommodations. We stayed in a 3 bed single storey unit that was very clean, well appointed and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV was also included.

The month of November seems to be a slow period for the resort as the ski season had not yet arrived and we had just missed the peak fall foliage season. There was a bit of construction going on with renovations to the indoor pool area. There was a small beach and outdoor pool available for the summer months. You could rent a jeep with a driver and even an ATV to explore the mountain trails around the town.

We loved the restaurant in the main building with its view of the lake and the attentive service we received. I would rate the restaurant as a 4.5 star eating experience. They have an incredible wine cellar. The food is of the "nouveau style, modern experience" of international standards. A supper for 2 with minimum wine and alcohol selections will cost you around $140.00 but it is well worth the money. They offer a high-end gastronomical experience. The breakfast was copious with its excellent plate presentation, a great view of the lake and also it was moderately priced.. I found that this was the best family deal from a food standpoint.

All in all I would suggest this resort to anyone looking for a special summer getaway, a romantic changing foliage period or a ski accommodation experience in the Laurentian's area. Families can find cheaper eating in the St.Jerome area or can prepare their food in house. There is a grocery store on the main road just before you arrive at the resort.

Have fun....

Peter Palmer

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the lake....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The resort in nestled in a quiet valley with lake Morency as a backdrop. We were in building B in a 2 bedroom 2 level unit which had no water view (they told mother in law no rooms had a lake view) but a lovely view on the nice gardens and mountains all around us. No real complaints with he location other than there are probably building with either a better view or closer to the water and restaurant/pool areas. Wifi worked great and each building had their own wifi tower.

The unit had a nice updated kitchen with all amenities to cook if needed. There was comfortable furniture although another love seat would be needed if there are four people and are planning on spending much time in the room. The bathrooms were ok (they should be remodeled soon imo) but clean. The biggest complaint was the beds. Truly they were rock hard and slanted to one side. We were in the 2nd room with twin beds but even our parents in the master bedroom said the beds were not helping to get a good night's sleep. I was actually sore when I woke up each day. If the restaurant wasn't so good this resort would have got 3 stars because of the beds. We had a large kitchen table we played cards at during the evening and a small table and grill out back through the sliders if we had wanted to grill. We did laundry while there and the facilities were nice but make sure you have correct change :-)

The grounds were really lovely around the property. We enjoyed trying to identify all the different flowers and trees around us. Lake Morency was clear and good enough sized to make paddle boating and/or kayaking a worth wile adventure. We spent one morning hiking up to the top of the mountain that overlooks the lake and property (many many thanks to the gentleman who recommended the short cut!) and an afternoon kayaking around the lake looking for wild life. I imagine the fishing must be decent on the lake with the clarity and various structures fish normally hang around at but we didn't have a chance to fish. While kayaking we saw the beaver's dam and some chipmunks running around. The construction was still going on while we were there. They are doing some significant additions and remodeling so it could take some time to finish.

We did eat at the restaurant on site and it is a shame TA doesn't have them listed on the restaurant page for Saint Hippolyte because they deserve to have their own glory. The restaurant on site (although pricey) was well worth the money and such a surprise for us all. We had the duck entree, beef tenderloin entree, and pork tenderloin entree for dinner which were all wonderful. They had a caesar salad with smoked slamon that still makes my mouth water thinking about it. Surprisingly good wine (surprise is the word of the day here lol) and a couple of great desserts. Breakfast was also a treat as $10 bought you a gigantic plate with-eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, potatoes, toast, baked beans, cheese, black berries, strawberries, melon, blueberries, and something called cretons which was a meat spread (not for me but surely an acquired taste lol). Huge amount of food for the price and kept us full until dinner! I cannot say enough positive things about the restaurant and service-top notch!

This would be a great place to take the family if the beds were comfortable! I will check to see if this is the case by phone and maybe consider coming back then as it is a beautiful property!

Room Tip: Either high up the mountainside for the view or lower to better access the recreational areas. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndiS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Hippolyte
12.4 km away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
721 reviews
11.2 km away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
192 reviews
9.9 km away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Best Western Hotel St. Jerome
Best Western Hotel St. Jerome
#1 of 7 in Saint Jerome
215 reviews
24.9 km away
Manoir des pins
Manoir des pins
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Lucie-des-Laurentides
61 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel Le Chantecler
Hotel Le Chantecler
#7 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Lac Morency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Lac Morency

Property: Auberge du Lac Morency
Address: 42, rue de la Chaumine, Saint Hippolyte, Quebec J8A 2N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saint Hippolyte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Hippolyte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Lac Morency 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St-Hippolyte’s Auberge du Lac Morency is nestled in a charming location in the heart of the Laurentians, just 50 minutes north of Montreal. Built in 1934 and completely renovated, this warm and inviting Inn is the soul of an international holiday resort.At the beginning of the 90s, 4 rooms had already been added to the 10 original, and since 2001, 26 new luxurious units have been built.Our Restaurant:The Auberge du Lac Morency’s restaurant staff is composed of gastronomy lovers… they appreciate textures, aromas and flavors.Both kitchen and dining room employees are proud to be able to allow our guests to live wonderful moments. Everything is taken into consideration in order to attain a high level of excellence that our clientele will no doubt appreciate.For example, our Director wanted to offer smoked meats and fish… a smoker was thus built which allows our chef to express his originality. Your visit to the Auberge du Lac Morency wouldn’t be complete without having tasted our smoked salmon! Why not try it with a glass of white wine chosen from the hundreds of choices present on our wine card.Early on Sunday mornings, at the chez Hippolyte restaurant, our entire team prepares to serve our delicious brunch. Brioches, croissants, fine cheeses, fruits, salads and cooked meats are on the menu and will make both young and old wish they could eat more.Our table d’hôte is changed regularly, usually as the seasons themselves do. Our chef chooses lighter foods for the warmer seasons and richer ingredients in the winter.Our Spa:We offer Swedish and hot volcanic rock massages. Esthetic and body wrap treatments are also available.Offer yourself this precious gift and you will find balance between your body and soul.Hope to see you all in the laurentians! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Auberge du Lac Morency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Lac Morency Hotel Saint Hippolyte
Auberge Du Lac Morency Saint Hippolyte, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing