We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you like the fancy hotels of Cabo, this is NOT the place for you.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you like the fancy hotels of Cabo, this is NOT the place for you.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a quaint place in a small, more remote area. There is basically no night life, so if you come here, come because you want some peace and quiet, walks on long stretches of unpopulated beaches, and a more authentic Mexican vacation. The staff at Buena Vista are very nice. The are working on some rennovation, but I'm hoping they don't make too many changes ... the quainteness is what makes this property unique.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Being a fisherman who loves to fish Mexico , I have stayed at a lot of different places in Mexico including bed & breakfast ,hotels, bungalows, fancy and not so fancy suites.
In the early 90s while reading a fishing magazine about the "Jewel of East Cape"it was then i decided to check out Hotel Buena Vista that means good view in Spanish.
Well it lived up to its name exotic flowers, palm trees, white sand beaches, natural hot springs, cobalt blue water and It's Mexican charm. Not to mention the friendly staff here.
Yes the food here is excellent you can drink the water but what really makes this place a paradise is the people who work here, they make you feel like family.
The Valdez family who owns Hbv also work here and will come by your dinner table and say hola , check to make sure all your needs are being taken care of.
This is why I continue to come back year after year to see my second family.
Kelly Corcoran
Olympia Wa

Room Tip: Rm 40 is close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyseadogcorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have been talking with folks from the Buena Vista for years at fishing expo's. Finnaly made the decision to go to Mexico fishing and went to the BV. While it is not a high rise hotel with all the fancy trappings it is a great place with a fantastic staff, good food and cold beer. Room was comfortable and the grounds were pleasant. Went down in September and almost had the place to myself. Chef Freddy was excellent, Felipe took care of all the details for the days fishing. Hortencia was accomodating and Richardo is a great bartender. After 3 days of epic fishing for tuna, sails and dorado each day ended in the pool then a swim in the Sea of Cortez, a good dinner and a good nights sleep. I am already planning my return trip. This is agreat place for families.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you are looking for, they will guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Our family is looking forward to our 5 trip back to Buena Vista...and we aren't a fishing or a diving family! Yes, the hotel is dated. It is not "plush" but the warmth of the staff and "at home" feeling completely makes up for that. Our kids are safe to roam and play around the pool and beach area. The ocean is calm and beautiful. The rooms are clean and a/c is more than adequate. The water is from a hot spring and is safe to drink. On one stay we had the desk arrange atv rental and we rode down the beautiful white sand beach. There is nothing better than heading out to the beach to enjoy my cup of coffee and the sunrise. When we ask the kids what vacation they'd like to do, the answer is always "Buena Vista".

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same configuration. Connecting rooms make for a perfect family set up. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

In conjunction with Baja on the Fly, I've been hosting saltwater fly fishing groups to Mexico for sixteen years. Fifteen of those years have been spent at Buena Vista Beach Resort hotel because I have found it to be the perfect spot for the kind of trip I offer. One year we tried a different hotel, but went right back to Buena Vista. Why? Wonderful fishing, great, uncrowded beach where you're never bothered by someone trying to sell you something, clean, comfortable rooms, and very good fishing. the hotel is always glad to see us and makes us feel like family. They are always willing to make cheviche for us out of the sierra mackrel we keep and they serve it to us along with their warm, right--of--the-oven chips on the patio. They definitely make a mean margarita! We especially enjoy the patio buffet in the evening for a chance to sample many different Mexican dishes along with their fish specialties.

No question about it, I"ll be back in 2012!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pudgge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
190 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I spent one nite at the Buena Vista so he could go scuba diving at Cabo Pulmo. We were referred to this hotel by a time share salesman so before booking we checked it out with the hotel concierge. She said ,"it's fine but maybe you'd like to consider these other 2 hotels..." That should have been a clue for us to choose one of the others! The hotel was built in 1952 and other than the pool nothing seems to have been done to it since then. The rooms are dull with a very small bathroom quite rusty around the toilet...very small ants crawled around the bathroom but the worst part was finding them in my bed! They have a beach but the water is so full of sea grass you can't swim. We had lunch upon arrival and found the guacamole to be a green colored sour cream...the fish tacos had bits of what looked like bits of cheap canned tuna...needless to say we went into town for dinner. The pool was ok and Manuel at the pool bar did make excellent margaritas. My husvand did have a great dive at Cabo Pulmo so it's worth going...just select another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBVBR, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond and be assured your comments are taken to heart. With 35 years in the hotel/resort business in Baja, we are well aware of our problems and remedy them as quickly as possible. You arrived at the tail end of our season – not your fault, obviously – prior to our closing in early 2012 to paint, repair, renew and address some of your facility issues.

As for the invasion of sea grass on our beach, usually the waters in front of the hotel are gin clear. As I recall, the wind had blown from the north the weekend before you arrived and may have pushed some sea grass up against our beach. Not much we can do about that, this natural episode happens, once or twice a year. Thankfully, the sea grass didn't impact your husband's scuba dive that he apparently enjoyed at Cabo Pulmo.

As for your comments about our food service, please be assured that you don’t run a resort for 35 years in Mexico or anywhere in the world by selling green sour cream as guacamole! To give you the benefit of the doubt, perhaps ours is a different variety of avocado than you usually see. I honestly don’t know the answer. As you experience the resort is mainly focus on fishing and diving, and we are honor to serve the freshest fish, which comes straight to our dock. We ask of our staff to deny fish when we haven’t had any fresh fish come in, since our goal is to continue my grandma’s legacy of a fresh cook meal. I apologize for this inconvenience. Nevertheless, we are very proud of our local staff, which in some cases has been with us since my dad started back in the 70’s. They are hard workers, loyal and very honest, and as you pointed out, they become friends of our guests, which is part of our small, family own resort’s charm. I truly hope you give us another opportunity and stay a little longer next time.

Hopefully, on your return to Baja you will have an opportunity to visit our resort and I can personally show you the room renovations and upgrades.

Sincerely,

Axel Valdez
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just spent the Labor Day weekend at Hotel Buena Vista Beach resort in Los Barrilles, Baja California Sur. I went with my son as well as a friend. We enjoyed the huge pool with nice warm water & swim up palapa bar. The fishing was great! We caught a total of (24) tuna / (1) dorado / (1) sailfish. Highly reccomend if you want a inclusive fishing package and a good shot at catching fish. This guys make you feel like you are at home. It is also VERY kid friendly :-) This is my fifth time to this resort and I have been to the old RBV (now closed) as well as Palmas de Cortez (3) times. Would rate this resort at the top along with Palmas

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and get the rooms by the poolas they are close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHOENIXFISHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenavista
0.0 km away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#50 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
14.3 km away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.2 km away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#2 of 4 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Address: Carr. Federal # 1 Km. 105, Buenavista 23580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Buenavista
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista hotel is located in Baja California, Mexico overlooking the Sea of ​​Cortez . It offers a variety of activities , peaceful rooms and excellent facilities . Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort features Mediterranean- style guestrooms with private patios furnished with hammocks. El Navegante restaurant serves traditional Mexican dishes for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Guests can order nachos while soaking up the sun by the pool or take a drink at the poolside bar . After dinner you can go to the bar El Pescador and enjoy a drink . Just minutes from the Buena Vista Beach Hotel offers activities such as fishing, diving and horse riding. You can also explore the 50 km of beach, or play a game of tennis . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Buenavista
Resort Buena Vista Beach
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort Mexico/Buenavista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing