We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rancho Buena Vista(Buenavista)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Palmas de Cortez(Los Barriles)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palapas Ventana(La Ventana)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aeropuerto Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Todos Santos Inn(Todos Santos)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Tara Retreat(El Sargento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ventana Bay Resort(La Ventana)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
59
38
12
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
38
12
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunaeast capegreat fishingpalapa barnachosbeachfront locationdeep sea fishinghot tublarge poolrooms are cleanoff the beaten pathbottled waternatural hot springslos barrilesdoradocortezboats
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 122 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2016

We stayed here for a second time, and that is not for the rooms, but for the garden and grounds around the hot-spring fed pool and spa that back on to a gorgeous white sandy beach. Even in the sea, just of the beach you feel the hot water coming up. milagro! And best of all, one can bring a pet as many people did last weekend. This is something unheard of in Baja, so for us this scores high. The room has AC and you have to take turns for the bathroom as it is super small. Breakfast was good and the staff is very friendly. Don't expect the Hilton, but then the price is a fraction of that too, honestly.

Room Tip: Around the pool area, rooms have extra large patios.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripperzerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the 2nd year in a row after the Baja Shakespeare play. We again thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are older but very clean and well maintained. The pool and the hot tub are fabulous. They use water from the hot springs in the area and it makes swimming very special. They just got a new chef and the food is Fantastic! We had filet mignons for dinner and you did not even need a fork to cut them. Breakfast was also a great . We had a vegetarian omelet and huevos rancheros and they were both excellent. The restaurant and bar are both oceanside which also adds to the ambiance. Give this place a try - you won't be dissapointed.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

My family has been staying here for 15-20 years. Where shall I begin? The Spa harkens back to the days when John Wayne & his buddies would come down to a "fishing camp". This is a place to get away from it all and experience a unique place in Baja. The scenery is majestic- sunrise, sunset, full moon add to the surroundings. The staff are above board, kind, & conscientious. The fishing is of legend. Sit around the bar at happy hour & you'll hear many a tale. I'd recommend renting a car for a day & trekking up to La Paz for lunch & site-seeing. The food is wonderful- the soup du jour is always a must. Dining on the veranda as the sun sets over the mountains & the moon rises over the Sea of Cortez, is magical.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a patio down by the pool, and reserve a corner table for dinner
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaxMuscolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

I don't even know where to start with this hotel. It rates one of the top worst hotels I've ever stayed in my life. The rooms are seriously outdated. The beds are like sleeping on plywood the washrooms are grim. They served us raw hotdogs as sausages for breakfast. We ended up feeding them to the cats that roam the resort. The pool was freezing the place has potential but needs a major face lift.

Stayed: February 2016
5  Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Kudos to whoever photoshopped the resort photos for Hotels.com it must have taken a LONG time to clean them up.

There are two rooms in each building. Ours have connecting doors, with 4 cm gaps at the top, so you can easily be spied upon and you can have conversations at normal voice levels between rooms, so I hope you know your neighbors! If not, you will soon enough!

I hope you like dark orange because this room has that as a strong theme. Watch out for the light shades on the wall - they are perfectly camouflaged, and fly off with the slightest nudge. Orange walls, orange floor tiles, mottled orange bed spreads, orange lamps, orange sheer window coverings, orange mottled drapes. The only thing toning the room down are seriously attractive paintings in a nice monochrome blue.

The room features floor to ceiling windows, and a restaurant style push door to access the (surprisingly nice) outdoor patio. You can either have privacy, or sunshine, but not both - don't let the sheer curtains fool you, the orange mesh is perfectly see-thru from both sides at all hours.

Please don't bring many devices to charge. There are only 3 available plugs in the whole room, and 2 of them have wires coming out the side to power the overhead lamps which can be dangerous if any of those wires came loose, so don't overload those - it would suck to be displaced by a fire.

Our bathroom features a toilet seat that is broken in half on one side, clean through. The bathroom vanity is covered in yellow tiles that are jagged and broken with exceptionally sharp corners. The tiles were trimmed around the sink with the precision of a hatchet, and the enormous gaps filled in with grout. Speaking of grout, I've seen cleaner grout in my local 24 Hour Fitness, and they never clean their showers. Make sure to wear your flip-flops.

Bring a flashlight if you are coming back to your room at night, because it is very hazardous to walk around without lights. There were lights at one time that helped visitors get around, but they are broken, and it is very, very dark at night. Depending on your room you will need to navigate air conditioning units, stairs, drainage gutters, cacti, and giant concrete boxes.

Most of the rooms surround the main hot spring pool and the larger regular pool. There is no insulation from outside sound in the rooms, and people like to stay up late and have drunken conversations at drunk conversation sound levels while drunk in the hot spring pool. So as a recommendation, get drunk and stay up late in the hot spring pool yourself otherwise you'll be seriously annoyed. Ear plugs work equally well.

There are also tiny ants everywhere right now. They're in the bed, all over the furniture, & I've swiped away a couple dozen from my laptop while writing this. They'll wake you up at night from the rock hard bed making you think there are bed bugs, but they're really just harmless, tiny, annoying ants.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews