We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fly fishing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Went in Oct-2015 for fly fishing trip with a good buddy. The owners, staff, food,& pricing,
I would give a A+. Rooms very nice above pool. Great pool + pool bar area. On the beach. Rented quads in Lorreto ( 6 miles down the beach ). Chief cooked our fresh
caught fish at night. Great food ! Fishing very good on the beach and blue water.
Fished out of 24' panga. The guide was terrible. That is why only a 4 star.
The local mexican people were wonderful. Most seem to speak english enough.

Room Tip: Not the place for the night club type.More for families and fishing, Very safe area.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BCSTEELIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stayed here for a second time, and that is not for the rooms, but for the garden and grounds around the hot-spring fed pool and spa that back on to a gorgeous white sandy beach. Even in the sea, just of the beach you feel the hot water coming up. milagro! And best of all, one can bring a pet as many people did last weekend. This is something unheard of in Baja, so for us this scores high. The room has AC and you have to take turns for the bathroom as it is super small. Breakfast was good and the staff is very friendly. Don't expect the Hilton, but then the price is a fraction of that too, honestly.

Room Tip: Around the pool area, rooms have extra large patios.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripperzerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the 2nd year in a row after the Baja Shakespeare play. We again thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are older but very clean and well maintained. The pool and the hot tub are fabulous. They use water from the hot springs in the area and it makes swimming very special. They just got a new chef and the food is Fantastic! We had filet mignons for dinner and you did not even need a fork to cut them. Breakfast was also a great . We had a vegetarian omelet and huevos rancheros and they were both excellent. The restaurant and bar are both oceanside which also adds to the ambiance. Give this place a try - you won't be dissapointed.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My family has been staying here for 15-20 years. Where shall I begin? The Spa harkens back to the days when John Wayne & his buddies would come down to a "fishing camp". This is a place to get away from it all and experience a unique place in Baja. The scenery is majestic- sunrise, sunset, full moon add to the surroundings. The staff are above board, kind, & conscientious. The fishing is of legend. Sit around the bar at happy hour & you'll hear many a tale. I'd recommend renting a car for a day & trekking up to La Paz for lunch & site-seeing. The food is wonderful- the soup du jour is always a must. Dining on the veranda as the sun sets over the mountains & the moon rises over the Sea of Cortez, is magical.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a patio down by the pool, and reserve a corner table for dinner
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaxMuscolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

I don't even know where to start with this hotel. It rates one of the top worst hotels I've ever stayed in my life. The rooms are seriously outdated. The beds are like sleeping on plywood the washrooms are grim. They served us raw hotdogs as sausages for breakfast. We ended up feeding them to the cats that roam the resort. The pool was freezing the place has potential but needs a major face lift.

Stayed: February 2016
4  Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Kudos to whoever photoshopped the resort photos for Hotels.com it must have taken a LONG time to clean them up.

There are two rooms in each building. Ours have connecting doors, with 4 cm gaps at the top, so you can easily be spied upon and you can have conversations at normal voice levels between rooms, so I hope you know your neighbors! If not, you will soon enough!

I hope you like dark orange because this room has that as a strong theme. Watch out for the light shades on the wall - they are perfectly camouflaged, and fly off with the slightest nudge. Orange walls, orange floor tiles, mottled orange bed spreads, orange lamps, orange sheer window coverings, orange mottled drapes. The only thing toning the room down are seriously attractive paintings in a nice monochrome blue.

The room features floor to ceiling windows, and a restaurant style push door to access the (surprisingly nice) outdoor patio. You can either have privacy, or sunshine, but not both - don't let the sheer curtains fool you, the orange mesh is perfectly see-thru from both sides at all hours.

Please don't bring many devices to charge. There are only 3 available plugs in the whole room, and 2 of them have wires coming out the side to power the overhead lamps which can be dangerous if any of those wires came loose, so don't overload those - it would suck to be displaced by a fire.

Our bathroom features a toilet seat that is broken in half on one side, clean through. The bathroom vanity is covered in yellow tiles that are jagged and broken with exceptionally sharp corners. The tiles were trimmed around the sink with the precision of a hatchet, and the enormous gaps filled in with grout. Speaking of grout, I've seen cleaner grout in my local 24 Hour Fitness, and they never clean their showers. Make sure to wear your flip-flops.

Bring a flashlight if you are coming back to your room at night, because it is very hazardous to walk around without lights. There were lights at one time that helped visitors get around, but they are broken, and it is very, very dark at night. Depending on your room you will need to navigate air conditioning units, stairs, drainage gutters, cacti, and giant concrete boxes.

Most of the rooms surround the main hot spring pool and the larger regular pool. There is no insulation from outside sound in the rooms, and people like to stay up late and have drunken conversations at drunk conversation sound levels while drunk in the hot spring pool. So as a recommendation, get drunk and stay up late in the hot spring pool yourself otherwise you'll be seriously annoyed. Ear plugs work equally well.

There are also tiny ants everywhere right now. They're in the bed, all over the furniture, & I've swiped away a couple dozen from my laptop while writing this. They'll wake you up at night from the rock hard bed making you think there are bed bugs, but they're really just harmless, tiny, annoying ants.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

The beach here is amazing. There is a hot spring under the resort and ocean. You can burn your buns if not careful on the spring coming up through the sand. While swimming you can feel the hot springs under your feet. I really liked it. Some days the water is as calm as a lake and other days it has big waves. We bought air beds and rode the waves one day. We walked to the town next door it's about an hour walk and only passed by 2 other people. You could have the beach to yourself. There is a reef really close to the hotel where people snorkel but you can see fish jumping everywhere. One day I didn't get in because there were tons of needle fish at the surfs break> cool to see. The hotel has awesome food. I would suggest the European inclusive plan. It's just as good as the American plan. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean. I had room 38 and it had a soft comfortable bed. Everyone else that stayed with us had hard beds in there room. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is nice. I usually don't feel safe in Mexico but this time I did. I would feel comfortable walking on the beach by myself. This is a hotel known for it's fishing boats. My dad caught 3 Striped Marlin and a couple tuna. I like watching the boats come back at 3 pm to see what everyone caught. They have flags on each boat letting you know. I went fishing one day and we didn't catch a thing. Some days are good and some bad. We had a nice big boat with a cabin. Seas were very rough the day I went and that was't very much fun. Try to pick a calm day and get lot's of live bait. I would enjoy this resort whether you want to fish or not. There are no TV's or refrigerators in the room. You can get ice from the bar to put in your cooler to keep your beer cold. Happy hour is the time to buy drinks it's buy one get one free well drinks > you will have to ask the bartender what drinks that includes. They have really good Pina Coladas. Federika the dog runs around and greets guests. I love dogs and she's super cute but i saw her rolling on a dead fish on the beach. You may want to smell her first to see if it's ok to pet her. This is the best resort that i have stayed in mainly because of the beach. This hotel is hidden off a dirt road but paradise when you arrive. Some say you can drink the water because of the hot spring but when we did we had stomach cramping> but not to bad. Just don't drink it. Stick with the bottled water.

Room Tip: Ask for a comfortable bed (room 38) and don't drink the water
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank daphne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenavista
0.9 km away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
236 reviews
14.0 km away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
79.9 km away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
54 reviews
33.3 km away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
14.8 km away
Hacienda de Palmas
Hacienda de Palmas
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort

Address: Carr. Federal # 1 Km. 105, Buenavista 23580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Buenavista
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Price Range: $152 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista hotel is located in Baja California, Mexico overlooking the Sea of ​​Cortez . It offers a variety of activities , peaceful rooms and excellent facilities . Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort features Mediterranean- style guestrooms with private patios furnished with hammocks. El Navegante restaurant serves traditional Mexican dishes for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Guests can order nachos while soaking up the sun by the pool or take a drink at the poolside bar . After dinner you can go to the bar El Pescador and enjoy a drink . Just minutes from the Buena Vista Beach Hotel offers activities such as fishing, diving and horse riding. You can also explore the 50 km of beach, or play a game of tennis . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Buenavista
Resort Buena Vista Beach
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort Mexico/Buenavista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing