We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value: serene garden area, helpful hosts and many amenities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angel Flores Guest House
Edmonton
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent value: serene garden area, helpful hosts and many amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Angel Flores is a guest house located about 2 blocks from the town plaza and about 6 blocks from the wharf and shoreline walk. It is an excellent value and is very clean. The pictures represent the place well and Skip and Felipe are excellent hosts. . Skip keeps the rates low, and for what you pay you get an amazing bargain....an excellent clean room with its own bathroom and filtered water to drink. Three miradors for suntanning, reading and viewing. A garden area and a very comfortable outdoor living room with TV and music. An outdoor kitchen that is well-stocked. The guesthouse is in a working neighbourhood near the centre of Ajijic, which is filled with noises...roosters, barking dogs, mobile sound systems which you will hear as part of the ambience. Everything you need is close at hand. The beds are large but definitely firm. Felipe is thoroughly bilingual and will give you a guided tour of any nearby area for the cost of a taxi ride. He'll pick you up at the airport. You do not need a car as the bus to nearby towns and to Guadalajara leaves from around the corner. It is easy to walk through Ajijic: definitely eat at Tango and Simply Thai. The bar on the wharf is a great place for an afternoon beer or cocktail. Do not miss the public spa (volcanic pools) at San Juan Cosala. Note: there are three dogs onsite....they are lovable, not bothersome. I am allergic to dogs but still liked having them around (they never come into the guest rooms).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank equus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
16
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

We had a great stay at Angel Flores last February and definitely give it "thumbs up" (we should have written this sooner, but time flies). The garden oasis setting, the full outdoor kitchen, the outstanding hospitality of Skip, the host and owner, and the value for your dollar combine to make Angel Flores a delightful experience. In addition, it is within walking distance of the many attractions of Ajijic and just down the block from an excellent breakfast venue and a health club, if you need a workout. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and very clean. Perhaps an addition that could be made would be a full-length mirror in the rooms. This, of course, is not at all a requirement for a highly satisfying stay. If you stay with Skip, we have no doubt that you will be happy with that choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svAngelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
198 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

My wife and I had a marvelous stay at Angel Flores for a full week thanks to the ever present hospitality of Guest House owner, Skip. From the moment we arrived until our departure, Skip was always ready with helpful suggestions- dining, walking, shopping, site seeing. We loved the comfortable, clean, and quiet king-size room.

The communal kitchen was a real plus enabling us to have coffee, breakfast or lunch at our leisure. And for those concerned about "drinking the water" in Mexico, Angel Flores has purified tap water so we were able to drink right from the faucet in addition to having 5 gallon jugs of purified water in the communal kitchen. The grounds and gardens are as beautiful as any I have seen in Hawaii or Bali.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Ajijic is paradise made even more so by our stay for 7 nights at Angel Flores Guest House. The owner/host, Skip is a delightful gentleman who took us into his spectacular garden home and made us feel like his family. The location is a short walk into town, private, safe, and quiet. The gardens are restful, cool and amazing tenderly cared for by Senor Augustine every day. We loved access to the communal full kitchen, and enjoyed hours reading in the gardens.

Our room overlooked the gardens and was newly built, immaculate, comfortable and quiet. In reference to another reviewer this could NOT be further from a "youth hostel" , and we have traveled throughout the world in them. What was this reviewer thinking? At this price we got more than our monies worth and never missed having a pillow top mattress or daily maid service. This is a guest house, not your typical B & B. Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat. Muchas gracias, Skip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axixic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

If you desire a comfortable room, don't saty here! We were expecting to have a place like a nice B&B but without the breakfast. The comfort level of this room was what I would expect in a youth hostel.The bed, though large, was a typical Mexican hard bed without pillowtop or comfy mattress pad. The shower was large, but the sink must have been designed for a pre-schooler and it didn't even have a stopper for hand laundry or shaving. Two bath towels were provided, but only one face cloth and one hand towel.And, to make matters worse, maid service was only provided once a week and she only came the one morning after we arrived! The one reading lamp was reminiscent of those college desk lamps from the 60's.
The gardens are beautiful and the outdoor living area is quite comfortable. Also, it was nice to have safe parking for our car and it was a short walk to the main part of Ajijic.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJMAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haroldskipwaggoner, Owner at Angel Flores Guest House, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
It is very sad to meet people that need to use derogatory connotations toward other visitors in order to state their personal opinions. However, we appreciate all the reviews to improve our services within a reasonable frame given the fact that we are a Guest House, at a very competitive rate and all of our services provided and pictures of the establishment are in our websites hiding nothing. We consider the quality of our services being above average proved by other reviewers and dozens of guests who had remained anonimous. Remember our motto is: "Angel Flores Guest house is your home away from home."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.john
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

I spent one week at Angel Flores Guest House and love the time I spent there, Skip and Fleipe go out of there way to help you with what ever question you may have, dinner, shopping were to go to see the city. The king size bed was wonderful and the room was very clean and nice, very large showers, I love the kitchen, it was set up for you to make your own coffee or just warm up left overs from the many restaurants around the hotel.
You do not need to rent a car one block away is the buss and main road. Yes I would stay again, and tell friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjmwh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kitts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

I was in Ajijic for 5 days and couldn't have found a better spot to stay. The owners are such wonderful people with the ability to make you feel as welcome as if you were family.
I have travelled all over the world and I would highly recommend this as a place to stay

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stkitts12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.6 km away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel La Estancia
Hotel La Estancia
#7 of 8 in Ajijic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ajijic Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Flores Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Flores Guest House

Property: Angel Flores Guest House
Address: Angel Flores #5 | Between Colon and Juarez, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel Flores Guest House is build in the gardens of a lovely Village home, overlooking the largest lake in all of Mexico (Lake Chapala) The Ajijic vacation house has eight rooms each with its own bathroom. Seven of them have a kingsize bed and the other one a set of twin beds. Each room in this Jalisco vacation rental has a build in desk with a desk chair. We are located in the heart of the Village a short walk to everything. If your are looking for a retirement location, this area is one of the best in the world for great weather year round and low cost of living. Many people live here only on their social security checks.Free calls to US and Canada, full kitchen for use by our guest, garden living room dining room and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing