We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In walking distance of everything”
Review of La Nueva Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Nueva Posada
Ranked #3 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“In walking distance of everything”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This is a family run posada. The rooms are very large. Lots of emphasis on security (CCTV cameras everywhere, keypad entry to 2nd floor rooms) which was reassuring. The food was quite good, including eggs Benedict for breakfast. We got back late one night to discover all restaurants were closed. The receptionist stayed late to ensure we could get a Domino's pizza delivered. Positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Jo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    39
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
59
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My wife and I spent 12 days at La Nueva Posada and were treated royally. The Eager family were amazing and went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable and safe. The location of the Hotel is on Lake Chapala and you here the waves gently crashing on the shore at night. The food is excellent, our favourite were the Eggs Benedict for Breakfast. Michael Eager put us in touch with the right people to get specific reports accomplished and his wealth of knowledge of the immediate and not so immediate areas of Mexico thru his 38 years of living there was an invaluable resource. As well as having its own restaurant, there are plenty of restaurants, retail stores and interesting things to do within walking distance of the hotel.

We highly recommend this hotel, if your visiting the Ajijic area.

Room Tip: Get a Lakeside Room, Rm 305 is prime
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IU1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel cares about the guests. Manager Mike and his wife are a charming couple who take a personal interest in the comfort of the guests in this charming and quiet hotel setting on the shore of lake Chapala. In addition to comfortable rooms, the hotel has a world class restaurant with a view of the lake through a lush garden, complete with Maccaw Parrots. Service is second to none and cleanliness is a high priority in both the hotel restaurant and the hotel itself.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for 7 nights. First night I was put in the hell room #102 DO NOT stay in this room. Very noisy near the security gate and little privacy as it is located along the main upper hallway. Changed rooms for a $5.00/night upgrade the following day. Much better but very hot and stuffy. Some of the rooms do not have a window but a small patio that makes you feel as if you are sitting inside a large chimney, so no breeze. It took 4 days to get a remote for the TV. Complaints/requests are not attended to without 2 or 3 more requests. Rooms were kept nice and clean.
I spotted rats in the pool area almost everyday. They were making attempts to take care of this situation.
Restaurant is lovely with amazing wait staff. The breakfast included in your stay is just great, a full menu to pick from. Ate 3 dinners at the hotel and they were good. Prices are good if you pay cash and receive the cash discount. 7 nights, 3 meals and a few drinks for 7 nights was under $500.00.
Location is good but if you want to be closer to the main town area or you have some difficulty walking, this is not the place to stay.
The parrot situation is not good, very small cage which makes you a bit sad.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaa607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Paid $75 per night for myself, my wife and our grandaughter. Room was very nice, great king size bed and wonderful mattress.
Very clean, breakfast included, located right on Lake Chapala with beautiful views from many rooms and the dining room in particular. Very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0nklatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

If I had the money, I would offer to buy this beautiful boutique hotel, sitting on the edge of Lake Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico in the town of Ajijic. The decor is quaint Mexican, with bright colors, and lots of Mexican decoration. The room we stayed in (June 2009) was large and comfortage with two queen size beds. Everything is clean--they even have a small swimming pool. Prices are very competitive--we paid $90.00 two years ago.
The view of the lake and mountains, birds singing, and luscious gardens made us relax. Their restaurant is excellent with indoor and outdoor seating. A wide variety of food to choose from and it all tastes good (watch the salt content). The only downfall, no elevator so if you are not very ambulatory, this is not a good choice. This is a perfect place to explore the beauty of the region and only 40 minutes into Guadalajara on a double lane highway.
A word on security in this part of Mexico. Our stay at La Posada was to find a house to buy so we could move to Lake Chapala. Now we live here. All the ridiculous comments I have been reading from Americans regarding safety in Mexico are NOT true unless you are going to border towns or wanting to get into the drug scene. Lake Chapala is safe and peaceful and the people are incredibly friendly. This is a great time to visit because there aren't as many tourists here; no problem getting reservations at the excellent restaurants most of the time. Take a cruise on Lake Chapala, golf, tour the countryside, ride horseback, the opportunites for fun and relaxation are endless.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at the Posada for 3 nights. Unfortunately, there is no elevator, but security is top drawer, which to me took the edge off the climb up the stairs. Being June, we were going into the rainy season. 2 nights out of 3, we experienced massive lightening storms and power outages. WiFi is off and on, but it is everywhere in the Mexico I have experiened. Breakfast is included, some waiters are real friendly, but there is one stick in the mud. Tip accordingly, is what we did. Food OK, bacon too salty. Hashbrowns, Costco specials, but still adequate. One jam, one butter for toast, which is OK, but I prefer a few, rather than have to ask. Beautifully decorated, it shows old Mexican charm, but really isn't that old.(Maybe 20 years). Right on the beach, with 2 for 1 Happy Hour in the early evenings. Not exactly close to the beaten paths in Ajijic, maybe a 15 minute walk to get to the main area which has lots to see. Bus to Chapala 2 blocks up the street, and every 15-25 minutes for 7 pesos. I'd stay there again, but would prefer the first floor. Lots of parking across the street where there are also 3 villas/casitas/ free standing suites, which we didn't look at. Front desk people, great. They had a fridge up to our room in 10 minutes. Fan, no A/C which was fine in June. One of the three nights, about 3:30, a large howling dog from next door was an issue. Beautiful grounds between hotel and beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.9 km away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
379 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
329 reviews
1.0 km away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
1.7 km away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
13 reviews
0.8 km away
Ajijic Suites
Ajijic Suites
#5 of 26 in Ajijic
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Nueva Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Nueva Posada

Property: La Nueva Posada
Address: Calle Donato Guerra No. 9 | Apdo 30, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Nueva Posada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your La Nueva Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Nueva Posada Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing