We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
380
25
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
25
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner half block terrace suite enchanting place like coming home main plaza colonial mansion location was perfect dining room folk art the hotel manager fresh fruit spent a week breakfast each morning sized bed great fireplace charming town
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 418 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We just visited Patzcuaro for the fifth time and have always stayed in Casa Encantada. The central downtown location is close to everything. Offering the architectual surroundings of an original eighteenth century hacienda, as well as Casa Encantada's beautiful gardens make for a memorable stay. Every room is decorated uniquely with tradionall Mexcian accents. A fillling breakfast is included every morning by the attentive staff. The owner, Victoria Ryan, is a long time ex-patriot resident and a well known artist & sculptor. Many of her works are displayed around the property, as well. When looking at lodging options for a Patzcuaro vacation, Hotel Casa Encantada is always on the top of our list!

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank paulvR2565KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatzcuaroVictoria, Owner at Hotel Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

OOOOOOOO Thank you Paul! We are so blessed to have regular fans and guests like you. Thanks foor all the compliments. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Such a quiet and lovely hacienda near the plaza. Walk to everything. Very safe charming Town. Breakfast was terrific. Victoria was friendly and so helpful as was Luis. Fortunate to be here during Semana Santa with all the processions and craft market in the plaza. Lots of great street food and don’t miss the pasta ice cream!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mishawaka1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatzcuaroVictoria, Owner at Hotel Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Cheryl,
Thank you so much! Come bacck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

This is one of the best BnB ever. The rooms were spacious and clean. The service was the best. It was a safe place to stay, very secure. I never felt unsafe at the hotel and in Patzcuaro and surrounding towns. So much to see and do. In the three days we were there, we still did not see everything. I recommend this BnB very highly!!!

Room tip: They do have rooms on the second floor. If you don't like stairs ask for the first floor.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydboss749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatzcuaroVictoria, Owner at Hotel Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Thank you so much... We enjoy making sure that we do our part in making your stay as comfy and enjoyable as we can. We really do. The goal is easy. I try to create a beautiful, elegant & yet casual oasis in which people can feel at home and taken care of at a reasonable price. Again, thanks for taking the time to comment..and thank you for the kind words about the Hotel and about Patzcuaro and the surrounding areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

I first stayed at the Hotel Casa Encantada several years ago and have been a lucky loyal customer ever since. I travel to Patzcuaro at least twice a year and would not stay anywhere else. The owner, Victoria Ryan, has designed and created a magical place full of beauty and art. Luis and the entire staff are accommodating, cheerful and helpful. On top of all of that, they are very dog friendly!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatzcuaroVictoria, Owner at Hotel Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Barbara, Thank you. You represent our best guests. You appreciate what we do. And we love what we do! You return time and again..and you tell your friends about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

A friend and i recently planned a trip to this area in order to visit Patzcuarro and Morelia, as well as to witness the monarch butterfly migration. We started our trip in Patzcuarro, and luckily for us, a friend recommended Casa Encantada. From the beginning, Luis and Javier organized everything for us, from Edgar to pick us up at the airport in Mexico City to Jaime to give us a detailed and fascinating tour of the towns around Patzcuarro.

Casa Encantada is lovely and inviting, with beautiful courtyards and fabulous artwork. The rooms are charming and spacious. We were in the Garden Room, quite large, fabulous fireplace, and great surroundings. The food was delicious and plentiful, and everything was fresh.

We wandered the town a lot, from the large plaza to the small one, to great shopping sites, etc. We felt extremely safe at all times. There are always people wandering around, families and visitors and locals alike. People were friendly and helpful with directions, the people in the restaurants and the stores wanted us to have a good experience, and I would highly recommend the town of Patzcuarro and Casa Encantada in particular to anyone who wants to enjoy a true colonial town with traditional architecture, friendly people, great food, and overall beautiful surroundings. It is obvious that the people who run Casa Encantada love their place there, and take care of it like it is home.....and they take great care of their visitors as well. Also, the location is fabulous, close to everything, but just enough steps off the main square that it is peaceful and quiet. Book in advance, this place is popular for all the right reasons.

Room tip: There is a lot of information on their website about the rooms and suites, so check it out for your own personal preferences.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank homebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatzcuaroVictoria, Owner at Hotel Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

All I can say is thank you so much. I/we strive to give each guest a personal experience. My goal is casual, affordable elegance. Your words will help future guests a lot. We are helpful. The place is beautiful ad elegant (even if I do say so myself) and the town and surrounding areas are very safe. Thank you so much. See you here again. Sincerely, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews