We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,257)
Filter reviews
1,257 results
Traveller rating
678
354
132
50
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
354
132
50
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sidelobsteralfredoroyal restaurantsuites poolpool sidepillow menumaster suiteribspalladium resortprivate restaurantmain resortpool barjacuzzi tubtravel cluba la cartethe mexican restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,257 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Suites August 10th-14th and had the most relaxing vacation we could ask for. It was off season but honestly the most perfect time to visit, as the resort was empty which made it so quiet and peaceful. The Room was very nice, but nothing fancy but it didn't really matter because we were rarely in the room. The bed was comfortable. The service is really what makes this place stand out. Felipe at the bar was most accommodating and very friendly. And our Butler Omar was awesome from day 1. We spent most of our time at the pool and the laying on the beach. We went to the Palladium Side only a couple of times. The biggest disappointment for us was the food. While we preferred eating on only the Royal Suites side after bad experiences at Bambu and the buffets on the Pallidium Side. But event the food on the Royal Suites side was mediocre at best. The lobster every night was a nice touch and we found ourselves ordering it a lot as a backup in case we didn't like the other food. And the desserts were really not impressive at all. I had read so many good reviews about the food, so I guess my expectations were too high. The grounds are beautiful. The pants in the restaurants things is absolutely ridiculous, especially at this time of year when its so hot and humid. Maybe exceptions should be made during this season. Another tip.. bring the Bug Spray! Mosquitoes left and right, you definitely need it handy. We tipped as our trip went on but we really wanted to tip our Butler at the end, we were very disappointed that the only ATM in the resort was broken for 3 days and we were unable to get cash to tip Omar at the end. We felt horrible but there is nothing we could do. Please make sure ATM is always available, its honestly only fair to your workers to do so. All in all it was a great trip and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberM500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtoradjuntoayb, Manager at The Royal Suites Punta de Mita, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Amber M,

Thank you very much for your comments about your last stay in our resort, for us is really important to know the opinion of our guests in order to improve our service day after day. We take into consideration your observations about the food and we will work to enhance those impressions. Concerning the ATM, we report it immediately to the bank to repair it, but unfortunately it doesn’t directly depend on us.

Thanks again and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to show you our hospitality, and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further matter.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Royal Suites for our honeymoon Aug 6th - Aug 12th and it was so perfect. The resort is at its off season and we literally had the place to ourselves. We upgraded to the Master Suite (there are only 4) and that was wonderful and worth the upcharge. Only the Master Suites are ocean front and have a balcony with lounge chairs and jacuzzi. The room we had was 5116, you don't want 5115 because it is over the restaurant and the huge exhaust fan is running until 11pm.
If you have a choice also request the 3rd floor. The time we went they were remodeling the 3rd floor and it was not available.
The service was amazing, Julio the Manger, did everything to make sure our honerymoon was perfect. The rooms are a bit dated, however, the service and location make up for that issue. The food at the Punta Mita restaurant was good, really no need to go to Palladium side for the restaurants, if it is hot and humid the men are required to wear pants and my husband was miserable. We went one night and never left the Royal Suites side again to dine. The pool service and room service was amazing. This place is all about service and relaxation. The only thing I was frustrated with was that we couldn't get any money to tip the servers. We had been tipping all week (which is what travelers should do, the all inclusive does not include tips) and the ATM machine broke. Unless you want "America in Mexico" stay at the Four Seasons but if you want to experience friendly service and smiles all day everyday without expectation, this is the place to be. The beach in front of Palladium has surf boards for free use and my husbad surfed everyday while I read my book and got drinks from the beach bar. Really perfect! Thanks Julio!

Room Tip: 5th building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janette60802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMCastro, General Manager at The Royal Suites Punta de Mita, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Janette60802
On behalf of the Royal Suites Punta de Mita by Palladium family, thank you for your comments. It is exactly feedback such as yours that assists us in achieving the service excellence that we constantly strive for.
Once again thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. If you plan to visit us on the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will personally take care of your booking, to ensure you have a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in the Royal Suites (August 13th to 18th) having upgraded from the Palladium. We were looking for a quiet retreat and, during our chosen week, the Palladium was too noisy and crowded.

What a pleasant surprise! Truthfully, my wife and I both agreed that we could not possibly have made a better choice. The Royal Suites had everything we wanted, and none of the extra “bells and whistles” which we don´t want, but which are so often an unavoidable part of a high-end hotel/boutique hotel experience.

Conclusion: We loved our time there, and will definitely return to the Royal Suites. We recommend it to anyone who values what we do: tranquility, service, exclusivity, natural beauty and yes, excellent value. (It should be noted, that all the adjacent Grand Palladium facilities are also available to Royal Suites guests)

What we liked:

The quiet, peaceful surroundings and beautiful scenery.
Our fellow guests were very quiet adults, mostly couples. Also, even though the Palladium and Royal Suites have beautiful gardens and grounds, we heard no noisy machinery (lawn mowers, leaf blowers, etc.) during the entire 4 days (including in the Palladium grounds)

Our own restaurant, private pool, and beach lookout with beach beds.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all a la carte, but, they also have a salad/fruit/cereal bar if you want lighter alternatives. No reservations are required. There is also a snack menu available starting at 11:00 am which was very good. Food and beverage service is available poolside or in the beautiful area with loungers and beach beds, right above the ocean. They also do their best to meet individual guest requests with respect to the menu. Room service is also 24 hours per day.

Friendly, responsive and professional staff.
Without a doubt Royal Suites service is in the same class as that in luxury hotels such as the Four Seasons. Staff are extremely respectful and professional, but at the same time, genuinely friendly.

Comfortable well-equipped—but not super-luxurious—suites.
Our room, 5113, had a Jacuzzi in the bathroom with a handheld shower as a well as a separate stand-up shower with an optional hand-held shower. The room (a King) was spacious, comfortable and quiet and had a balcony. Amenities included an in-room safe, iron and ironing board, a hair dryer and plenty of hangers. There were also robes and slippers for two provided, along with shampoo and conditioner, shower gel and lotion (2 of each replenished each day). An alarm clock with IPod docking station was provided, as was a DVD player to go with the flat screen TV. Everything worked well.

Please note that the accommodations are NOT super-fancy. Other than the large bathroom with Jacuzzi, our room was just like any other well-maintained hotel room, which was fine for us, but may not be for everyone. If you are looking for a large designer-decorated suite, fluffy plush bathrobes or other high-end amenities, there are many other options in Punta Mita.

For beverages, there are 3 categories: 1) Mini fridge, replenished daily, with sodas (I forget, I think coke, diet coke, Fanta, Fresca, and something else), three small bottles of water and 4 beers. 2) Some hard liquor (no charge) replenished weekly. We got a bottle of scotch (William Lawson), a bottle of rum (Bacardi Añejo), some kind of Tequila and Vodka, brands which I don´t know. 3) They have a nifty little 4 bottle wine cooler for which you can set the temperature to your liking and it is stocked with 4 bottles of wine, but, there is a charge per bottle (prices indicated on top of the cooler). At the back of the Room Service menu, there is a list of wine and liquor which you can order by the bottle, 24 hours per day for an extra charge (charges indicated). Otherwise, you can order a drink with your food order through Room Service at no charge up until 10:00 pm (don´t remember the starting time in the morning).

No beach vendors or Timeshare people anywhere at the Palladium or Royal Suites. . There are a few flea-market type tables on either side of a walkway in the Palladium section but absolutely zero beach vendors. We attended a weekly Manager´s Reception in the Lobby Bar of the Palladium, but there was no attempt to sell us anything. They were actually encouraging people to recommend improvements to the Palladium. (Yes, really). They want you, the guest, to come back.

Possible negatives (although not for us)

Rooms: The only true ocean view rooms are the 4 Master Suites in Building 5. All other rooms have garden views. The Palladium has many more ocean view rooms.

Beach: The beach at the Royal Suites is very small and rocky. There were large waves both there and at the beach in front of the Palladium when we were there. However, lots of people were surfing in front of the Palladium, and reported “good waves”. There is also a little salt water pool in the ocean between the Royal Suites and the Palladium´s Building 3, which is totally calm.

If being oceanfront on a calm sandy beach is a priority, there are other options which might suit you better. In the summer, around the Punta Mita peninsula (north-east) at Playa Careyeros or Litibú the ocean is usually calm as glass. In the winter, the other side of the point is calmer (parts of the Four Seasons property for example).

Tips:

Rooms and Location: The Royal Suites consist of a large lobby with bar, closest to the Palladium lobby and then two Villas, one behind the other. Our room number, 5113, meant we were in Building 5 (closest to the ocean) one floor above the ground and in room 13. The other Villa is Building 4. The higher the last two digits, the closer to the ocean and pool area. The 4 Master Suites (oceanfront) are numbered 5115, 5116 and 5215, 5216. If you wanted a ground floor room (minimum steps), you would ask for a room where the second number was 0. For example, 50xx, or 40XX. There are no Master Suites on the ground floor. In terms of room requests, I believe some rooms have Jacuzzis in the main room instead of the bathroom so people may want to specify which option they prefer.

Accessibility: I have no idea if there are any wheelchair accessible rooms (bathrooms, wide doorways, etc.), but I do think the Royal Suites would be ok for someone with some mobility issues. There are app. 32 ground floor rooms. The stairs to the pool and restaurant area are broad, separated by a landing every 3 steps and there are sturdy iron railings on both sides. While there is no ramp, you could take the long way around and negotiate your way from the ground floor all the way to the beach, as well as the restaurant and pool without needing to use a single staircase (using the maintenance vehicle route)..

Location of venues in the Palladium. If you are going to the Palladium side, ask someone exactly how to get to where it is you want to go. Some locations on the map are confusing. Better to ask. We couldn´t find the gym despite walking by it several times (It´s above the Spa, which is well-signed). We also couldn´t find Bambú (restaurant) at first which is located above the big Palapa restaurant called El Bosque.

Room Tip: A great choice for a couple wanting quiet luxury without unnecessary frills. Rooms closest to the ocean are in building 5 and have higher numbers. The ground floor rooms are numbered 50xx and are best if you want to avoid stairs. The 1st floor rooms numbers are 51xx and the second floor 52xx.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pngreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMCastro, General Manager at The Royal Suites Punta de Mita, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear pngreg,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on our hotel. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service and our product.
I appreciate your positive notes about the hotel and I was very happy to read that you liked the all inclusive concept and the service that we offer in The Royals Suites Punta de Mita. I appreciate too the feedback you have provided regarding our food and beverage offerings and types of rooms. For us it is so important to know our guests opinions in order to improve our service day to day.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasure experience again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We can't say enough about The Royal Suites. We were floored with the service for every aspect. We weathered through a storm that blew out their transformer...sadly the one that controlled their A/C. It was out of their control, but they went out of their way to please us....even as much as to bring us a box fan and free flip flops! Julio was SOOOOOOO accommodating. Rubi was the SWEETEST face for any questions we had. Macario at the pool side bar. ALL waiters at the restaurant. We can't say enough of this place. It was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet. Personal. Relaxing. Beautiful. Food was really good. Entertaining. Our list goes on and on. We absolutely will be back! Thank you ALL at the Royal Suites! Your Friends, Rusty and Shannon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMCastro, General Manager at The Royal Suites Punta de Mita, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Rusty and Shannon,
First of all, thank you so much for your visit and I am thrilled you had such a great visit and we left you a memorable impression. Rest assured I have taken note of your comments regarding our staff. I am indeed honoured to have members of the team that help make our guests experience an unforgettable and special one. I will share your kind words to them.
We look forward to see you again and thank you for sharing your experience in Royal Suites Punta de Mita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff at at the Royal Suites was excellent. The bartender, Maciel, at the pool to the Royal Suites provided the best service we had. We stayed at the adult only section of the resort. the pool was nice, but the music at the pool was too loud and made it hard to have a conversation if you were not right next to the person you were talking too. The most disappointing thing was the food. The restaurant at the Royal Suites had the best for at the resort, but the other restaurants were disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank so1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear so1333,

First and foremost, thank you for your comments about your last vacation in our hotel, and particularly about our staff, we will pass on your comments to them.

To be sincere we like to receive compliments but, in the other hand, we strongly think that any criticism or suggestion helps us to improve day by day, so we have to face them in the most positive way. We are grateful for your commentaries as they allow us to work every day to improve the quality of service that we provide to our clients; hence we are working in the area of opportunity that you mentioned. Our goal is not only to make our guests return but to make them feel more comfortable each time and notice the improvements in our services.

Thanks again and please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit or if we can assist in any other way.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews