We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
1
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
1
3
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 12 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2015

We stayed in our friends condo 2301 and it was spectacular! They have furnished it in gorgeous artwork and bright Mexican colors! There were three bed rooms and three full baths attached to the bedrooms, large outside terrace, huge open living area and dining room. A very large penthouse unit!
The grounds around the buildings (5) are impeccable and the pool area is set up beautifully. The area is a sleepy beach town, so if you are into night life and exciting bar scenes, this is not for you! The ocean is the main attraction and all water sports are offered here. Also, you can rent a 4 person golf cart to get around, cars are not necessary. Buses run back and forth to Puerto Vallarta every day from 10 am- 10 pm.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriss z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed 3 weeks in unit 1303. The description written by the owner is outdated and misleading. It is not luxury. It is not meticulously cleaned. There is no private beach, as this does not exist in Mexico. The PROS: great location for sunrise, sunset, seeing the bay and the whales, close to restaurants, water, grocery stores, bus, very safe. The CONS: our condo (or the building) is old and therefore a hot shower was NOT a guarantee, the drains were slow, the bathroom was old and not clean, the condo and decor are tired! The local woman (nice lady) who cleaned (you have to pay for this) needed clear directions as to what and how to clean. She needed training and perhaps supervision.
The beach closest to this condo is NOT nice, rocky, not suitable for swimmers.

Room Tip: Go for the newer buildings.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, Owner at El Anclote Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2015

My wife and I purchased this Penthouse condo preconstruction in 2000. After over 10 years and over 300 happy rentals this is the first negative review we have ever had. Please see our extensive 100% reviews to back this up. Our descriptions are 100% accurate and we have a full time team continuously maintaining the condo even when unoccupied. Beware, these renters were a problem from minute one. They complained about a slow drain which we cleared with Draino almost instantly. They complained about a burned out light bulb which was replaced almost instantly. We supply free light housekeeping and these people worked our poor staff to no end and to their credit, took it with a smile. Day in and day out they found trivial things to complain about and my poor housekeeper continued to break her back in an effort to please these people. It became evident fairly quickly that there was something fishy going on here. This was confirmed when they finally threatened to leave us a bad review if we didn't pay them over $1000 USD. They insisted it had to be in cash. Yes, we made a bad decision and paid their blackmail money in exchange for not being our first bad review ever. We just wanted this to go away. Yes, you guessed it, they still left a bad review. To add insult to injury, we even had given them a generous discount which we never do during high season.We had heard stories about renters like these but never thought it would happen to us. Its too late for us, but beware to everyone else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed in Unit#2303 It is beautiful! Very nicely designed and the views are spectacular! The property is very safe and all of the staff is very helpful. I know all of the units are different and this particular one is amazing I loved it! Great Kitchen, laundry and plenty of room to get your own space too. I would definitely recommend this unit!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We rented condo for the last week of March. I feel we paid top dollars for this unit. When we arrived the place was not totally neat. Here are some of the cons: twin beds pretty uncomfortable (we were not able to sleep on them); ceiling fan not functioning on main bedroom, no hair dryer as promised, the condo is not cleaned while you stay there. This condo is on the third floor. No way one can use the porch during peak hours 12 to 4 p.m. as it gets extremely hot. The beach is full of stones/rocks. It is a surf beach not for people who likes to swim in the ocean. Basically it is a condo with a nice swimming pool, but do not plan to be too much at the beach if you are not surfing. We had to look for beaches to go......like Playa La Manzanilla. Do not recommend it for families with kids as the owners of the condos (who basically live there for at least 6 months) are pretty unfriendly (do not seem to like kids) Pool is supposed to lighted until 10 p.m. however pool light were shut off when my son decided to take a swim at 9 p.m.. I will not go back to this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Punta Mita area is a great location for a quiet, sunny vacation with easy access to great food and multiple beaches for surf, paddle boards, swimming and beach walks. The people are wonderful - friendly and helpful and there are multiple restaurants for all meals. Unfortunately I found the 2011 review of #5202 El Anclote Condo after I had already sent in the deposit for our trip. I had my boyfriend call to ask about the condition of the condo and we were falsely reassured that it had been updated. If it has been updated then it must have been in really poor shape before. The pictures that are posted must have been from when it was newly furnished and painted. Currently there is still a torn couch covered with a mexican blanket, older furnishings and the bathroom is in need of bleach, scrubbing and cleaning in all corners! I did not feel comfortable hanging out in the living area so we mostly used this condo as a place to make a cup of coffee in the morning and head out to the beach for the day. The kitchen is a mishmash of utensils and containers that leave you feeling as if you are in someone else's apartment rather than a high-priced (holiday rates!) rented condominium. Kitchen towels? Hot mitt's? Citrus squeezer? Not to be found! The deck could offer some private sunset cocktail hours but it's very over-crowded with a barbecue, lawn chair, table with umbrella and two additional chairs. No place to hang your wet towels, surf gear and/or swimming suit unless you did it over all the stuff. I would not recommend this condo but I do think the Punta Mita area is well-worth checking out!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere for better quality and value condominium rentals.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenjuneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews