We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$587
US$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Punta de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$470
WHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meson de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imanta Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$765
US$742
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Playa Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa De Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$795
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,065)
Filter reviews
5,065 results
Traveller rating
1,854
1,833
768
352
258
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,854
1,833
768
352
258
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand palladiumsports baradult poolribsa la carte restaurantsmain poolthe mexican restaurantmini zoohemingway barsalt water poolmobility issuesboogie boardingmain buffetkids clubcity tourbbq on the beachstayed in building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 5,065 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Additional post to my previous one.
Very well organized outfit. Equipment is clean, boats tiptop. Very secure outings.people very helpful and friendly. Food on excursionsis excellent. Would book with them again if in PV.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Helene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Helene P
We would like to thank you for your comment and for your kind words towards our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. We are so glad to know that we were able to make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our services and installations. It is a pleasure for us to know that we made this possible during your vacations.

We hope that you can consider coming back to enjoy once more of an amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit and we would like to give a huge shout out to Victor Hernandez ( the bellboy) Yari ( the waitress in the main buffet), Edar and all the surf shop guys, and Alexander Marin and the rest of the animation staff. Erik from the Hemingway Bar. These employees were amazing.
Our room was clean, resort was clean, a la cartes were great. Although we favored the Asian restaurant the most.
We are looking forward to our next visit in February 2018.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank toader71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear toader71
We would like to thank you for your comment and for your kind words towards our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. We are so glad to know that we were able to make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our services and installations. We are so glad to know that our staff members were able to make this possible. We will gladly tell them about your comment to inform them about the amazing job they did during your stay.

We are so happy to know that you are considering coming back to enjoy once more of an amazing attention and service. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to our hotel.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Hopefully I have managed to provide a balanced view below but in summary a very relaxed holiday for myself and family with a couple of niggles.

Visited first 2 weeks in August and it was very hot and humid. Sunny all day and rained only in the evenings/nights - one torrential but great lightning show over the bay! It was hot and humid pretty much 24 hours.

----

Good:
People
The people working there. Really attentive and keen to help. Call out to Gabby, Michelle, Alexandro and Adriano from animation team. Great fun. Enoyed, sun salutation (stretching), barman skills, tequila tasting, aquagym, pool bikercise and soft games. Also Jonathan from Ribs and stuff restaurant, Giovani from Hemingway bar and Memo (poolside waiter).

Hotel
Location - Great that it is straight on the sea.
3 swimming pools with a swim up bar in the family one. The infinity pool is adults only and strictly managed. Although adults seem to behave like kids after a few drinks especially at night. Drinks can be drunk actually in the pools - new one on me.


All-inclusive
Drinks available all day, including non-local brands - unexpected. There are also drinks (beer, water, soft drinks) available in fridge in room which are also free and get replenished daily.
Hot dogs poolside and paella, fajitas cooked on the beach area. Very tasty.

Hemingway bar was pretty good - brand name spirits/beers in an air-conditioned, adults only bar.

Water-sports
Surfing (apparently same as California but warmer and certainly quiter), paddle boarding and boogie boarding free. Good surf. The staff are helpful. Edre took us out for a visit along the bay on paddleboards early morning and we saw our first turtles.

External activities - we visited aquadventura park to go to a dolphin swim - park quiet and a bit run down but the dolphin activity was great and we had a great trainer. We all enjoyed that day.

Entertainment - highlight is Mariachi band. The Mexicans love it and we danced the night away with a great family - very welcoming.

-----

OK:
Food is Mexican based so do not expect the type of food you get in UK Mexican restaurants, pretty basic. Buffet has a lot of different items but over 2 weeks gets a bit samey. The food can sit around for a while so can get a bit dry. Asking for a fresh piece of steak/chicken can be met with blank stares.

Hotel
Rooms were ok. Cleaned regularly. The hotel is a bit tired in general. Needs a spruce up.

Sea water is very warm (especially salt pool) but this is the pacific, not crystal clear Caribbean water.

Evening Entertainment/shows - in general as all hotels, not much to write home about.

-----

Not so good:
As a family with 2 children we requested rooms together (as you would expect) direct with hotel and also via holiday rep but we found that on arrival we not only did not have rooms together they were on different floors! Speaking to reception the only way to get closer was to move to ocean view and an additional costs of £200 for the 2 weeks. Not good enough. Through the holiday we found many families experienced the same thing.

When we arrived tired after a very long journey we were offered someone to show us map of hotel and welcome us. Turns out she was really just wanting to get us to a time-share (members club) session. Really hacked me off.

Location
This is a quiet hotel located quite away from anything. You cannot just walk out to the shops. (this can be seen as a good or bad thing). We only found it not so good in the second week. You had to catch a taxi to get anywhere (£20 ish).

Water-sports
Snorkelling - we found nothing to see really around the hotel.

The water is a bit rocky so be careful where you boogie board or surf. My wife managed to take a chunk out of surfboard on the rocks (rocks unseen) and had to pay £40 to have repaired.

Food/Restaurants
Found that this is a hotel mainly focussed on Mexican clientele so restaurants mainly provide food etc. to cater for them. the food is ok but do not expect European cuisine.

They do not appear to be able to stop birds getting into Ribs and stuff restaurant. Not sure why. Doesn't look good.

The restaurants can only be booked via an app that you can download. Pretty hopeless, especially if you do not have a phone/tablet! The app also doesn't work properly yet so you can only do a live chat to book a table. Pretty poor implementation of a new system. We complained to rep and he had guest services provide us with 4 reservations that we could use through guest services at reception. We otherwise just went to restaurant early with little or no queues. If you did not book you had to go on a waiting list.

Sports bar - not nice at all. Looks run down, hot and smelly.

External activities
Quite expensive - expect/budget approx. £100 each for any activity (outside shows, dolphins, etc.) and you have to pay for a taxi to a pick-up point - £20 each way for 4 people.

------

Recommendation
Mexicans generally seem to work on a later day than UK people so restaurants gets REALLY busy after about an hour of opening. recommend an early breakfast and meals in general.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kt2017855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear kt2017855
We would like to thank you for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. Your comment really help us see where we need to improve our services and installations.

It is a pleasure for us to know that overall you had an amazing stay at our hotel. We will gladly tell our supervisors about all the points that you think we should work on. Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our hotel.

We hope that you can consider to visit us very soon to offer you a more amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Although we've done all inclusive resorts as a couple, this was our first time taking the children so we made a very conscious effort to choose a family-friendly resort. Two of us also suffer from coeliac disease and I'd heard that Grand Palladium take special diets very seriously, which also impacted our decision to choose this resort.

The resort is around a 45 minute transfer from the airport or from Puerto Vallarta, not a problem if you're happy staying on the resort, but when we took a City Tour we were collected at 8am for a tour that didn't start until after 10am because we were so far out and had other pick-ups en route. Having said that, a beautiful location with a pleasant enough, though rocky and quite narrow, beach.

We had requested a "family suite" which essentially was two adjoining rooms - OK as we got 2 mini-bars, 2 bathrooms etc, but it took around 90 minutes for the housekeeper to come up to unlock the connecting doors on the day we arrived. Rooms were spotlessly clean, though in the king sized room we had a "sofa" which should have been put out with the trash years ago - the plastic cover was peeling off in a very unattractive fashion and was certainly not what I'd expect to see in a hotel of this standard.

I mentioned the room was clean, but housekeeping seemed to work on a completely random timetable - some mornings the rooms were made up by the time we got back from breakfast, but more often than not it was 5pm, just as we were coming back from the pool and wanting to be in the room - we spent far too long hanging outside in the corridor! Our "premium" package also included a cocktail party, which we saw no sign of, as well as a turndown service - we received this only around 3 nights of the 14 we were in the hotel. Our minibar was also rarely restocked, in fact most days I had to chase the housekeeping staff and ask for more water or Diet Coke. If you are offering this service then please do provide it!

Halfway through the vacation our keycards stopped working, they'd obviously only been programmed for a week instead of the 2 we were staying, and whilst it was resolved quickly enough it's a basic mistake which I wouldn't expect. The battery also died on our safe, this was eventually resolved on the 2nd day of asking, they wouldn't come on the first day as we weren't in the room - even though we had told the staff on the desk that the safe was open and empty and we wanted them to resolve the problem quickly.

The pool area was great, with plenty to keep our 5 and 9 year olds happy, and the swim-up bar was a bonus, though needed some repair work as it was looking very shabby. Lizbeth, one of the waitresses around the pool, worked her socks off and provided an excellent service.

Our kids spent a lot of time in the Kids Club and had a whale of a time performing in the Mini Club shows each night - regularly the only children in the show! The staff worked tirelessly to ensure children of all ages have a good experience.

The food was very good, with a wide selection in the buffet, though it was getting a little "samey" after 10 days or so. Given our gluten free requirements, Nestor walked us around the buffet to explain what we could and couldn't eat, and on days when there were no GF desserts available he would scurry off to the kitchen to find an alternative. I do find it odd that the only time there were GF cakes/cookies available was at breakfast - why not put them out later in the day as well? I can't comment on lunches as we never ate lunch, but food for dinner was always piping hot and in plentiful supply. One day Luciano actually flagged me down by the pool asking if I was the mother of the coeliac child to make sure we were happy, I really can't thank the Food and Beverage team enough for their help in making my 9 year old's first experience of all inclusive, and of gluten free in a hotel, so positive. We ate at Bambu once, the food was OK but in all honesty nothing to write home about. Having said that, I was impressed that the waiter realised as he was about to put our food on the table that it wasn't gluten free and immediately got it replaced - he could quite easily have just given it to us. We visited the Mexican restaurant twice, the first time we were lucky enough to get the tableside guacamole and Mexican coffee, a great experience and the food was amazing. The second time, despite having a reservation, it was a Friday night and service was lacking, with no table side service available. Food still tasty though and worth a visit for sure.

For the most part the room was very quiet (we were on the top floor of building 2, overlooking the beach), with only 1 night having noticeable noise from the disco/party and guests coming back to the rooms in the early hours. Hot water was never a problem - though we did arrive to find neither room had any towels in! When we went to reception to request some they asked "oh, do you want to have a shower?" as if we were crazy!

We had an unlucky experience on the beach in that a freak wave washed our bag, containing valuables, out to sea, despite us being "safely" ensconced on the sun loungers, so we didn't spend any time there after that. The sand was soft and clean, though there are several large rocks around, and hidden in the water which has a strong undercurrent. Be careful with small children for sure.

On the whole we had a great family vacation, but if I'm honest I'm not sure it lived up to my expectations or delivered true value for money. Some of this is due to the small print of our tour operator rather than the hotel, I am sure - for example booking the "suite", ie 2nd room, meant we didn't qualify for the deal where children stay free of charge. This also seemed to confuse the hotel who had us down as 3 adults.

Oh, and for all those people who say the recycled water for watering the plants smells bad... we didn't notice anything other than the usual "jungle" type smell that I associate with tropical environments, just lush vegetation and certainly not overly unpleasant and only really noticeable around zoo area.

At the end of the day, would I return here or to another Grand Palladium hotel? I think my answer would have to be possibly... not the best holiday I've ever had, but far from being the worst

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrawberryMivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear StrawberryMivvy
We would like to thank you for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. All of our comments are really important to us since they help us see where we need to improve our services and installations.

We regret to know that your stay at our hotel wasn't the one that you were expecting. We will talk with our respective supervisors about all the points that you mentioned in your comment. We want our guests to feel comfortable and satisfied. Your suggestions will be delivered to our deparments for further improvement.

We hope that you can consider coming back in a not so far future to offer you a more amazing serivce and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I have never posted a review on here but I felt it was necessary to let you all know how great I though this hotel really was. Every night there was always something to do and the staff well and truly made this holiday special for both me and my partner. All the A la Carts served good food and the buffet had so many different choices throughout the day.
We upgraded to the Royal Suites when we got there and I recommend anyone they offer the possibility, to take it. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and the pool/restaurant/staff made it the best it could be! Was worth every penny!
One point I will make is the hotel is quite far out therefore it's not the one for you if you just like to stroll to the closest town one evening. But there was plenty to do in resort and our TUI rep helped us book plenty of excursions!
I'd like to just make a point of thanking Alondra and Oliver. These two members of staff served us at both the royal and main bars and really stood out as to how welcoming and friendly they were. Remembering our names and what we usually order paid a big part to how welcomed we felt and we always had a service with a smile.

All in all, with the zoo, the rooms, the layout, the staff, the drinks, the food, the spa, the pools, the beach.. I really, really can't fault this place. I had the best time and will (even though I thought I'd never say this about a place) go back there again. 100%! Also, I've passed on my comments to several of my friends so expect more guests to be coming your way!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LVA95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear LVA95
We would like to thank you for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. We are so honored by your praises and compliments towards our hotel.

Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our services and installations. We are so glad to know that our staff members were able to make this possible. We will gladly tell them about your comment to inform them about the amazing job they did during your stay.

We hope that you visit us very soon to enjoy once more of an amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews