We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Vacation Villa!”
Oceanside view of Valhalla
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oceanside view of Valhalla
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Oceanside view of Valhalla
Street Side Entry
Evening view of Half Moon Bay
Enormous Roof Terrace
The Roof Top View
Outdoor dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jackal119
NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Villa!”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Villa de Valhalla was everything it was advertised to be. The Valhalla staff (Luis, Lupi & Christina) took very good care of us and made sure we had everything that we needed.

The villa manager (Monica) helped to make our stay successful. We utilized the photographer (Scott Brown) that she recommended. Hopefully the photos will be as wonderful as Scott was.

We hope to return to Akumal in the near future and hopefully to Villa de Valhalla.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the rooms had the same great view.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Villa de Valhalla! Thank you so much for choosing Akumal Direct Reservations. We have seen a lot of Scott Brown's photography work in the past, and it has always been beautiful! I have no doubt that you will love your family photos. :o) Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Akumal again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T
Palm Spring, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive, good location”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Biggest disappointment is that the freezer stopped working on our first day. Property managers say that they went to Playa Del Carmen to buy a new refrigerator but that it would not be delivered for at least 7 days. Bottom line, a nine day stay without a freezer. Really? Hot, humid and all our frozen food thawing, and the best they could do was bring us bags of ice. I can't imagine that the property managers could not get a pick up and actually drive in to Playa del Carmen and get a refrigerator/freezer and bring it down to Akumal. I find it hard to believe that there would not be a refrigerator available in all of Playa del Carmen. Too expensive for such bad service. I manage vacation rentals in Palm Springs, and wouldn't dream of leaving my renters high and dry for a week.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: walking distance to "La Buena Vida"
Liked least: Unacceptable service from the property management company in Akumal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best place for a family vacation!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2012

We stayed here in January of 2011 and we still talk about it today. It is a great place in a great location. We couldn't have asked for a better place. The staff were excellent. The nearby restaurants were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathryn L
Parker, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Villa Valhalla is the perfect home for a large group. Our extended family has rented homes for 25 years together and this was the perfect vacation for us. This home is amazing, beautiful, best location in Akumal with Half Moon Bay in your backyard. Our kids did not want to leave and the home was so comfortable for everyone. The people at Akumal Direct reservations will assist with anything you could ever need, they were fantastic to work with. We had the personal Chef Daveed a couple nights preparing amazing local food including our own fish that was caught that day. The rooftop deck is a gorgeous place to be at sunset with margaritas. Best vacation ever and we have traveled to many countries together. We love the people of Akumal and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homes location is superb the housekeepers and house manager were excellent in helping us with whatever we could possibly need.
Liked least: wi-fi is off and on but they will come fix it immed. if you have a problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx
Reviewed April 28, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
Reviewed April 14, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing