We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Akumal Norte Paradise- near it all, but away from...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Akumal's Half Moon Bay Outside Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
View of Akumal's Half Moon Bay
Outside Terrace
Terrace with an ocean view
Dinning Area
Living Area
View from the living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Guest Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Guest king bedroom
Guest Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Master king bed
Master bedroom
Master Bathroom
Dinning Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TravelLov...
Monterey County
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Akumal Norte Paradise- near it all, but away from the bustle!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow on all levels with this condo! The owner communication, location, calm atmosphere, amenities... and oh my goodness, the view! We had such an amazing time at La Sirena... even though we were unlucky enough to get a bit of weather, it was still such a wonderful vacation. We just tried to imagine that the condo was ours and we'd be able to visit whenever we wanted, to combat the sadness we felt to leave this little slice of amazing! We had tons of TV channels to watch and because of the strong WiFi, we also used Netflix (since it was raining pretty good at times- with lightning! Awesome!). The owner also provides a bunch of DVDs and books for your use. The place was kept beautifully clean during our stay with daily cleaning visits from the lovely people who work there, and a very comfortable bed to sleep in. The A/C worked great in both the main living area as well as the bedroom, when we needed it. After the storm, I noticed that it was actually pretty neat that the north end of Half Moon Bay is a little rocky because all the beautiful beaches south of us were covered with tons of seaweed, so the lounging beach at La Sirena was beautifully clean while others were covered in seaweed, which was nice for our last two days. We went snorkeling, and though the weather kicked up some sand into the water, we still saw tons of fish- Cuddle-fish, Needle-fish, Sergent Majors, Blue Tangs, Bluehead Wrasse, Peacock Flounder, Parrot-fish, Trunk-fish, French Angel fish (some of the biggest I've ever seen!) Squirrel-fish, and a Southern Ray. Wear reef/water shoes, head out to the sand, then put on your mask/snorkel/fins and head towards the dark spots out in the middle of Half Moon Bay. You'll find tons of awesome reef-heads out there. We even saw a big ray in the water, right from the condo deck! The pool was lovely when it didn't look very fun to get into the ocean (rough), and the grounds around the pool are so beautiful and tropical. It's also really nice to have a shaded pool for when it's hot mid-day. The kitchen was very well-appointed, with a nice-sized fridge and we cooked breakfast as well as a few dinners for ourselves. The stove is a little different then in the states... be sure to turn the gas knob, then click the button with a little lightning sign on it for a spark. We enjoyed La Buena Vida for lunch, as well as Que Onda for dinner, and we loved Turtle Bay for our last breakfast in Akumal.
We were so impressed with the condo that we just can't wait to go back and possibly bring some friends or family to share in the awesomeness! Rent this condo. It's such a special, quiet and beautiful spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View!!!!
Liked least: The weather... what can you do?!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne E
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR BRIGHT & AIRY OCEANFRONT CONDO-RIGHT ON THE WATER!”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Owner has done a phenomenal job decorating this condo. It is absolutely breath taking when you walk in the door. The size of the windows in the living room and kitchen? HUUUUUUUUUUGE!!! And all you see and hear is the OCEAN :-)

Other suites in the building do not have screen doors on all 3 patios. This condo does,which allows you to leave the doors open 24/7 to provide a cross breeze day & night. Only used the A/C a few times, for short intervals (in May).

Kitchen is VERY well stocked, as this is the owner's second home. Another nice touch was a bluetooth wireless waterproof speaker, very portable, used it on the balcony & inside ALL the time - made the condo feel like it was MY second home!

This is not a swimming beach, it is a snorkeling beach and when the water is calm, a bit of caution when entering due to it being quite rocky will lead you to the reef where you can swim with all kinds of fish - I saw about 500 fish swimming in one school one morning - and even squid. For larger fish & to swim with the tea turtles from a sandy beach, it is a quick drive down the road to Akumal Bay (or a 15 min. bicycle ride). You are also a 3 min. walk from Yal-Ku Lagoon, which is very calm - loaded with fish - and great for beginner snorkellers.

Several cenotes are nearby, the adventure theme parks are all 20 - 25 min. away. Amazing restaurants - within walking distance and also in Akumal Bay. In short? PHENOMENAL location. And if you want to go to Playa for an evening, it is only half an hr. away.

The bed was SUPER comfortable, the shower had good water pressure (something not easy to find in Mexico!), daily maid service and she will accommodate your schedule.

The beautiful large pool was hardly ever used, and I made FULL use of it, gorgeous setting with palm trees overhanging the pool and tropical flowers all around. And it is open until 10 pm, so if you feel like a moonlight swim...

The concierge is extremely accommodating and also happy to give free Spanish lessons! Should you feel so inclined, bicycle rentals are available on-site (daily/weekly rates) for less than any other condo or resort in the area.

One thing that really stands out about renting this condo is the absolute WEALTH of information provided by the unit owner. Clearly, she cares a GREAT deal about the comfort and happiness of her guests. The "welcome package" is extensive with tons of tips and information, and should you have any questions during your stay, she is so quick to respond by email. VERY impressive!

The flights of stairs to get up to the condo consists of 4 flights of about 10 stairs each, and they are quite steep. If you don't mind a little exercise on your vacation, and can handle 40 stairs, do not let this put you off. I'll tell you why... the privacy, security and view from the main patio is WORTH climbing the stairs to this absolutely gorgeous penthouse suite. And..the stairwell is enclosed within the concrete building, you are not in the hot sun going to & from your condo.

Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat. I actually hesitated to post my review, as I do not want anyone else to find out about this gem of a place in the heart of the Riviera Maya!!! However, there are LOTS of weeks in a year LOL...

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hbunnyiho...
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great views but...”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Condo #13 at La Sirena has both good & not so good qualities. We noticed right from day 1 of our stay there were a number of cleanliness issues setting a bad tone for the week, also an ant problem, As long as we removed our trash twice a day and kept all opened food in the fridge we were able to keep the ants in check. In my opinion the condo is in need of a deep cleaning. The kitchen is well stocked and has everything you need to prepare meals. Available instruction for lighting the gas oven would have been helpful. AC in main living area was out for a few days & it took too long to repair. After sending an email to condo owner it was immediately addressed and fixed within hours. Great shower in master bedroom with good water pressure an updated shower head would have been a plus. Two small TVs but difficult to operate with very little channel selection. DVD player shows movies in black & white, a nice selection of DVD's to choose from. Beautiful views & great deck off main living area with view of the beach. Nice place to enjoy a glass wine at the end of the day or to have your morning coffee. We stayed for 10 days & the entire time the ocean was rough & cloudy. The beach is rocky with lots of sea urchins making it a challenge to get out to where you could snorkel or swim, we didn't see many fish & no turtles. While the beach area is nice with several lounge chairs and palapas it's difficult to swim in this area. The swimming pool is lovely located in a beautiful garden but unfortunately not much room around the pool for people to relax. No lounge chairs, only 4-6 upright chairs with 3 of the 6 chairs broken, one table, chairs and umbrella but in an awkward location. The pool is nice for a quick dip to cool off but not comfortable enough to spend much time. Lots of good nearby places to eat and very reasonable priced. Owner provided a nice welcome package with lots of good info, easy to talk with and helpful. A good value, lots of storage space and a room safe to store valuables.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, deck off main living area, shower in master bath
Liked least: could have been cleaner, not much room in pool area & no lounge chairs or side tables
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at La Sirena #13! We agree that the views from that condo are incredible, and the ocean facing terrace is a wonderful addition to the living space! Thank you for your comments regarding the house keeping. We take this kind of feedback very seriously and it has been raised both with the property manager and the owner who have addressed the situation and are monitoring it. A great time of year to visit, when the winds are a bit lighter, is early summer, and also its turtle nesting season, so we have loads of turtles in both of our bays. We have many nests each year along Half Moon Bay, and if you are lucky, you can watch them hatching in June/July right through until November! We hope that you enjoyed your trip. Thank you very much for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Akumal soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“La Sirena "lucky #13", fabulous stay!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed in this lovely condo and fell in love with the view! Being on the third floor gives you the view of gorgeous Half Moon Bay in Akumal. The condo it's self is comfortable, clean, and roomy with everything you could need. There are two balconies you can sit on with comfortable furniture and a "Juliet" balcony in the 2nd bedroom so the door can be left open in cool weather. Makes for great cross ventilation! The two bedrooms look out on to the lush interior grounds and the pool. The condo is also very far back from the street so it is quiet and feels very safe.

Akumal is a lovely little town along the Maya Riviera and La Sirena is located in the north part of the area near Yal Ku Lagoon. The beach access is along a stone entrance which helps get you over the rocky coast line in this area. Water shoes recommended. Snorkeling is fantastic all over Half Moon Bay and we did it almost everyday! The town center of Akumal is a bit of a walk from the condo but definitely doable. We always rent a car when coming here because of all the other activities there are to do. Parking is available at the condo.

There is only one concern I would like to mention. The condo being on the third floor may cause someone a problem if they have a problem with stairs. We're in our late 50's and did not find it to be issue, just made sure we took what we needed each time we went out!

We would definitely stay at La Sirena, and especially #13, again! The owner was very easy to work with and helped make our stay wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Construction next door (should be done now)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thank you for choosing La Sirena condo 13 for your vacation. We sure appreciate your kind words about the condo and the community of Akumal. Your advice for future readers is very helpful. It is a huge compliment that you mention you would stay in condo 13 again. We all hope to see you again in 2014!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Professor...
Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly perfect vacation!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

From some of the other TripAdvisor reviews, my friend and I knew that La Sirena #13 was the condo we wanted for our Akumal vacation, and we were not disappointed. Starting in the condo itself, we found the views to be spectacular, the kitchen amenities to be adequate (although not fantastic--but we're both cooks), the beds pretty comfy, the balcony wonderful, and the ocean breeze spectacular. We turned the AC on during the one night that the breeze died, and enjoyed a cool evening watching a movie (we brought dvds, but the condo has a decent selection). My friend liked her AC on while she slept, and I preferred the ocean breeze...so she closed off her room, and I kept mine wide open...it worked out perfectly. We did have a few small issues with the condo (my AC didn't work one night--no biggie; the hall shower didn't drain well) but we brought them to Marcello's attention & they were handled promptly. We also realized pretty early that our housekeeper was in the condo cleaning for quite awhile, so we asked her (in spanish) to only clean the kitchen & replace towels instead of the full cleaning, which gave us more access to the condo on the days that we stayed local. For the most part, however, #13 is a wonderful home-base.

Outside of the condo itself, we both found the pool to be a nice amenity--especially my friend, who loves to swim laps. The fact that we are beachside was also terrific--although keep in mind that this is not the sandy side of the beach. There are a lot of sharp rocks out there, so I suggest watershoes if you're not snorkeling. The lounge chairs were reasonably comfortable, and I definitely enjoyed laying around in the sun & reading. The building and grounds are kept very clean, and other than not always being able to find someone at the front desk, we were really satisfied with the service.

La Sirena is at the north end of the bay, so bikes, a golf cart, or car is highly recommended. We rented a car for the week, and found it very convenient. We could get to town quickly if we wanted to grab a bite, pick up something from the store, or take a short day trip. We had no problems driving, no problems with the police.

A few quick tips: BUY GROCERIES & DRINKS IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN (on your way from Cancun). You'll save money, as the Akumal grocery stores are limited in supply and very pricey. BRING YOUR FAVORITE SPICES/KITCHEN TOOLS. I brought a lime squeezer, a few baggies with my favorite seasonings, a few cookie mixes, a wine key, etc. The only thing I wish we had was a sharper knife, but we made due. GO OUT TO LA BUENA VIDA. This is a fun, beachside bar, really close to the condo. The food is also EXCELLENT. I highly recommend the ginger chicken empanadas & the lime soup. Yum.

All in all, this was a perfect vacation, and I suspect I'll go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean breeze
Liked least: Not being able to find the property manager or staff when I needed them
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review. Your comments are most appreciated. We are thankful to know that the staff took care of any issues that you had with the condo right away. Your comments about the kitchen are helpful. We will make sure there are sharp knives for cooking and will review the kitchen amenities so things can be added that are necessary. We do appreciate you choosing La Sirena condo 13 for your vacation. We will look forward to helping you book your next trip! Muchas Gracias!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Reviewed April 14, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing