We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel , but there is better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Notts england
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel , but there is better.”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Found the hotel to be good because you can use the Tulum & Coba restuarants & bars/shows a well. Me & my wife found the food & service to be better at both the Tulum & Coba, this was not a problem as the transport to them made it easy. In our room (5723) the system for heating the water was very noisy & was a problem at times when trying to sleep at night , I am not sure if other rooms are the same. I was also disappointed with the beach (very rocky & man made in some areas) but having been on Punta Cana beach last year which is long with great soft sand i was expecting better. This holiday hotel was still very good & you are well catered for by all the staff with well maintained areas rooms & gardens. The food was of a good standard but not on par in our opinion with the Iberostar/Riu hotels in the Caribbean. I did not like the the way the hotel photographers used a small monkey & large Iguana ( which looked like it had been painted a bright shade of green on its lower body to get people interested, I just feel that they should not be used for photos this was upsetting for me & wonder our they are kept after photo time is over.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel65lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,887
    2,368
    747
    309
    205
See reviews for
2,823
4,139
75
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,014)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just returned from our third trip to this wonderful resort. I have read some of the negative comments on your review pages and would like to address some of those first.
I was a travel agent for over 25 years, so I can answer some of the questions. I have visited many countries in the Caribbean, Mexico, South American, Europe, Hawaii, and travel throughout Canada and the US.
The air conditioning problem is true, however if your patio door was closed tightly the air conditioner worked fine. Hot water, no matter where you go south on holidays is a problem at many resorts. This occurs because many people are coming off the beach and pool areas at the same time, about 3 to 4 in the afternoon, to shower and get ready for a fun evening so naturally hot water would run out quickly.
As far as the a la carte dinners, one word, email. That is correct. Email the resort ahead of time, I did so a month before we arrived requesting which restaurants we wanted and the time. All of our requests were met. We requested 7pm dinners, and were accommodated. The best al a carte restaurant we enjoyed was the Japanese, which was a great show while preparing our dinner. It was fun to sit with others from the resort, who shared their fun experiences too.
We also requested villa 65 or 66 in Royal Golden, and no we did not pay extra other than the upgrade. This year was the first time we actually got our request. Our agent informed us prior to travel that the resort tries to accommodate returning guests, which I found quite nice. The manager even wrote us a nice letter to thank us for staying with them again.
As far as water shoes goes, we are from Ontario Canada, and we have a boat. I don't swim in any of our lakes with out them because it can be rocky even in Canada. We always travel with our water shoes, and you never know what you will get. We found the beaches quite enjoyable.
We also reserved our chairs, by the ocean, early. This practice has been going on for decades and at all resorts I have ever been to. Everyone does it, so it is not out of the norm.
The rooms were excellent, and very clean. The staff at any of the hotels, Coba, Tulum, Akumal, and Akumal Primier were all friendly and eager to please and help with any requests.
It has been my experience that if someone has a negative attitude before traveling to a destination, then they will most likely have a negative holiday and a positive attitude, will probably have a positive holiday.
Yes this resort has a lot of walking, so bring good walking shoes and don't forget that all important portable first aid kit with extra band aids. We walked everywhere, if the shuttle was full, or not there. Great way to burn off the extra food we were eating. My daughter and I even ran every other day, early in the morning, as later it was too hot, but not too hot to sit by the pool or the ocean.
The food was great, when the item ran out, we just returned, as a buffet you can do that, and pick up what you missed. We found a variety, and enjoyed no matter which buffet we went to. A little tip, your traveling party can go to the Italian restaurant for breakfast for the buffet instead of the big ones. It is quieter and close to the action in the day time. This restaurant is also available for lunch too.
Realize, when on holidays, we look forward to seeing a different culture from then where we are from, to learn and experience how diverse we are and you will enjoy this resort.

Room Tip: Request building 65 or 66 if you upgrade to golden, if you are notpgrading then request building 48...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Third time..just as great. Another great 10-day stay!
Stayed at the Akumal side of resort this time (Tulum side two prior trips); rooms a lot nicer on this side. Not too far of a walk from beach; jacuzzi pool right behind our room (bldg 75), with a bar...very quiet and convenient; booked a la cartes in advance via email and got early seatings at all...and they were better than we remembered. Thanks to a tip from another traveller, also requested king size bed with mattress topper and room on third floor at corner of bldg--very quiet. Weather was fantastic! Being that it was the week after March Break, found buffets to be extremely busy on Akumal and Tulum side, so we went to Coba side for dinner; much quieter...also, 24hr snack bar on Coba side much better as the other two were very busy (as everyone is at the beach at that time).

Would go again.....

Room Tip: Although our bldg was far from lobby, it was a straight walk to the beach (about 7 min) but very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cohoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

i travelled with Keri K (...March 11th review entry) trip duration: Feb 18th - March 5th

however, my version (of our trip) varies just a bit:
the 2nd bed she mentioned in her review - was in fact - NOT a Twin Bed/nor a REAL bed.
...BUT instead a COT.....which i got stuck on.
The problem: i am 6 feet tall
Result: My feet hung over the end of the bed by about 6 inches, each morning, upon awakening/my back ached.
I had fully paid for (*and expected) a real bed;
however - i found out, upon arrival in Mexico, that this arrangement had actually been agreed to, on unbeknownst prior emails to the resort.
The issue was resolved nearly a week into our trip, when after two of us, in the room "toughed it out" ...on the less than desireable cot - and that a real bed was in fact, in order.

There was virtually NO air conditioning in our room, or any of the rooms, upon speaking to other guests. The humidity index was minimum 94%, and daily high temperature was 30 degrees Celcius.
The GBP is a dated resort; and has clearly not upgraded/nor maintained their HVAC systems- so lack of air conditioning is very apparent.
SUGGESTION:
Having some room Oscillating/Box FANS available, (or in every room); would be a very welcome and cheap/affordable/somewhat satisfying temporary remedy*

Our chosen A la carte restaurants were quite delicious; the coupled service was also very good.
The buffets were mostly lukewarm and lacking in offering/variety - day to day. The (Buffet) Dining room staff should be highly recognized and commended; they were exceptional with attending to our every need/wish and so gracious & friendly.
The Snack Bars had excellent frozen drinks/bar service.......but that is it.
Food-wise: the snack bar selection was completely unpalateable to me, as i don't eat greasy formed burgers, limp fries or hot dogs.

I loved the beach, ocean & sunshine/location proximity was beautiful.
Drink Service: was great. I will definitely be going back to Mexico, but not to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoommateNumberThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here on March 2 - March 9. We had a wonderful time! We were in villa 53. it was a bit of a walk to get to the beach, but not too far, and was close to the lobby. We found the staff and the service to be excellent!! It was my husbands birthday on the 8th, I told guest services, and asked if they could do something special. We came back to the room that day and there was a big towel birthday cake! There were streamers and balloons all over the bed. It was a very nice touch!

The food was typical resorty food. Kinda bland and nothing to write home about, but everything was good and fresh. Never had any tummy troubles,and we ate a little bit of everything. Book your a la carte restaurants via email before you go so you get a decent dinner time. We went to Portifino, Tequila, and Le Gourmet. The first two were okay and the gourmet was pretty good.

The shows were entertaining, but they had a bit of that resort "cheesy" factor. It's not a Vegas show and if you remember that, you will enjoy it.

Its a very large resort, but we found it easy to get around. To keep this simple, we had a great time! The resort was clean, food was hot, fresh, beach was clean as was the pool, and the service was great!! We would return in a heartbeat! We love the GBP chains and Akumal definitely lived up to the standard!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbride26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We just returned from a weeks vacation at the Akumal. Up grade not needed no benefit for the money. Watch out for the sale staff on the way to the buffet. They say it is NOT a Time Share, but if it walks like a duck, talks like a duck, it is a duck.
Over all rating 7 out of 10. Food hit and miss, ran out of items and did not replenish them, room clean maid did a great job, no hot water for a few days, beach long but hard sand and rocky, resort big so prepare to do a lot of walking. FREE GOLF, but must rent a cart for $65 to $85. My husband thought the course was good, but take lots of balls. We have been to other all inclusives, and this is very typical . A must see in the area is the TULUM BEACH just south of the ruins. Take the collectivo for $3.00 per person, get off at the lights on the highway and it is a 15 minute walk. BEAUTIFUL soft sand, clear water, not a lot of shade so beware.

Room Tip: ask for top floor as lower rooms dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverIslandBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquiere, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

First off, I can't believe people who would give a poor rating to this hotel. I believe you should STAY HOME !! We were relocated after finding out our original hotel (Bel Air Collection and Resort CANCUN) had overbooked and couldn't respect our reservation. Thank God !! We requested to be sent to the GBP, since we had stayed in the Coba section two years ago. We requested any section of the complex, because we knew we had access to all three sections of the hotel. Thanks to TRANSAT/NOLITOURS (Theresa), we were relocated to Akumal. Everything, from the taxi from the Bel Air, to checking in at the Akumal was perfect. We were permitted lunch upon arrival at 1:30 PM, awaiting confirmation of the transfer and package transfers, and check-in was finalized at 3:00 PM. The Akumal is one of the oldest sections of the GBP. Our room had AC that could barely keep up, the lock on the patio door was broken, and we didn't have a clothes line in our bathroom. SO !! We were on a third floor, we slept with the patio door open, and left the ceiling fan and AC on during the day, so things weren't so bad. We put up a clothes line on the patio and clothes dried fine. Food is excellent, the service is unbelievable, and the personnel so very friendly. The weather was fantastic, the beach wonderful, bathing in the ocean was fine. Walks in the morning (before it gets too hot) was great (approx. 5 km back and forth). Granted, lounge chairs on the beach were hard to come by after 10 in the morning, and people reserved early, we even had our chairs taken after only 1/2 hour (breakfast). Our friends had their tanning lotion stolen. These isolated incidents were not the hotel's fault, vacationers on the site were not all 5-star quality ! We are definitely going back to R.M., and we will not shop around for a better place to stay. Thank-you, Transat/Nolitours and Theresa, for a wonderful vacation. Thank-you, also, GBP for putting us up, even during your busiest season of the year. It was greatly appreciated. We felt like we were at home our second time around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
14.1 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
8.4 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing