We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Protect our reefs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centro Ecologico Akumal

Centro Ecologico Akumal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Snorkel Xtreme Cancun
Ranked #9 of 24 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Protect our reefs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Support CEA and have fun learning about our reef and the environment. During the summer they have programs to release baby turtles. Not to be missed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    101
    25
    13
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Informative..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We often wander thru the centre when there and read the info they have in the open area. This time we went inside the office and talked with a volunteer who was quite informative. We discussed the tortugas, the invasive lion fish, and 'shuffling' in the water to avoid rays near shore. It's always very quiet, but there always seems to be someone in the office to answer your questions. Glad we stopped in.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank twogoldens57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
361 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“Turtle Conservation&Release Ecological Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Centro Ecológico Akumal (CEA) is a non-profit conservation organization working on the Mexican Caribbean to monitor the impact of development on the regional ecosystems. CEA's projects include sea turtle monitoring, coral reef research and bay monitoring, water hydrological/geological studies, advanced waste treatment solutions, recycling, watershed pollution and much more. CEA has government authorization to run a program for protection, conservation, research and management of sea turtles on four local beaches since 1993. During turtle season, CEA staff and volunteers patrol the beaches nightly to identify and protect nesting females, nests, and hatchlings. Signs posted on display boards said CEA offers evening turtle walks May through September.
The CEA center in Akumal has a number of display stands all around the building that explain these various research studies in which they are involved.

On the east end of the building is a beautiful large wall mural depicting the sealife and plants local to the area and a large map showing the Akumal area coastline on the west wall (see photos submitted). There is no charge for admittance but there is a free-will donation box for those wishing to contribute to this cause. CEA is located in an open-air building just to the east of the Akumal Dive shop.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

CEA is a pioneer in ecological protection and local research. Please visit!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TankahTres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centro Ecologico Akumal also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Centro Ecologico Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing