We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday and can't fault it but expected a little more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Benenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great holiday and can't fault it but expected a little more”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Have just returned from a 9 night family holiday here, travelling with 2 children (5 & 8). In short we had a great time and the resort provided everything you would expect but after holidaying in other 5 star resorts / hotels you notice the little touches that were missing. Everywhere was clean, the facilities were very good - wide choice of restaurants, large pools, watersports, kids club, spa, the staff were friendly & polite, rooms were reasonably well maintained, grounds were well kept etc. but (and it is only a minor but) it lacked the feeling of luxury, the 'wow' some 5 stars achieve. It is no doubt reflected in the price but little touches like robes, slippers, nice toiletries were missing from the rooms, the beds were a little small, service in the restaurants was not always very personal with lots of rushing about with dishes, drinks etc. and a feeling of trying to turn tables quickly and we got the impression from our children the kids club hosts weren't always very enthusiastic (our children did return several times however so must have enjoyed it).

We tried all restaurants except the Italian and the food was very good in all except the Japanese (we weren't at the tepanyaki table) where it was only OK, not bad just OK. We generally avoided the buffet restaurants in the evening as the longest wait we ever had for one of the a la carte's was 45 mins but we could have walked into one of the others if we wished, we just particularly fancied that restaurant that night. If you eat after 8 (and certainly 8:30) there is virtually no waiting we found.

Towards the end of the holiday the resort filled up much more (coinciding with a public holiday in the US I believe) and there were more young groups and you noticed more daytime drinking, games round and in the pool & general loudness. It never caused any issues as there was a good mix of families, couples & groups, wasn't a problem for us and added to the general fun ambience the resort tries to encourage but be aware if you are looking for a quiet holiday.

If asked if we would return the answer is yes.

Room Tip: We were in villa 21 which was close to the pool & beach and a short walk to both main lobbies. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottandhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear scottandhayley,

I would like to give you thank you for share with us your opinion about your vacation at Grand Palladium. All comments are very important for us because we can improve our service every day.

Sincerelly,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,074
    1,332
    472
    205
    153
See reviews for
1,814
2,087
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have recently arrived home from this hotel after having had a brilliant holiday!
High Points: Beach, Pools, Food, Bars, Rooms, Most of the service, Wildlife,
Low Points:Not good for groups over 10 people
We travelled in a group of 17 people and were all impressed with the facilities and amenities of this beautiful hotel which catered very well for ages from 1 yr old to 70 yrs old
There was 2 problems... we have travelled in these numbers many times before to Barbados, Florida, Europe, Cruises and have never encountered this...At time of booking we requested all 7 rooms together and unfortunately they could not do that which we had to get over but then we had to change to 3 different rooms in the first 3 days of our hols just to be next door to our children but we still did not get our ultimate goal which was to have adjoining rooms which i felt was very wrong as they had had our booking for 6 months and i requested directly to the hotel also 1 month prior to the holiday as it was for so many people...saying this though the rooms were lovely,spacious and very clean.
Our other problem we think is ridiculous is the total inflexibility of the dining arrangements in the a la carte restaurants! We were allowed to have a table together of 17 ONLY if we booked by 1pm the day before and all ate exactly the same thing with no choice at all for starters, mains and desserts and we were told our only other option was to "just all go and eat seperately"....So what would be the point of a family holiday!! So every night at 6 pm we had to go to the a la carte restaurant of our choice and book 1 table of 9 and 1 table of 8 as close to each other as poss and most of the time they were at other ends of the restaurant to each other with the exception of the Italian and the Meditteranean...This was not just a problem for us as we kept bumping into larger family groups like us doing exactly the same! The food was of high quality however and we all did enjoy our break..but these 2 problems did make our mealtimes disjointed and nowhere near as enjoyable as we have enjoyed in the past at other all inc hotels...When we informed the reception and guest services of our dissatisfaction we felt they dismissed us and were no help whatsoever and were quite abrupt with us and she said she was head receptionist! we feel this needs to be addressed or be informed in the brochures as we would never have booked this particular hotel if we had known this as we believe this to be a very important part of a family holiday... If you are going in a group below 10 then i thoroughly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for villas 20 and 21 as good locations and 2nd or 3rd floor rooms if poss1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear KLP19,

Thank you for share with us your opinion about your vacation in Grand Palladium. I understand your point of view but I would like to inform you that all request are subject to the availability of the resort. When we have a request, we try to do our best work for complete it.
Regarding the information about the restaurants, we have several options for the big groups and this information is in every restaurants.

I will take note about all your comments and I will see all with the rest of the team.

Please, if you decide to visit us in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed at this resort 8 times and watched it evolve and continuously improve over the years. We have been vacationing since 1993 (with 2 trips to Jamaica and 2 to the Bahamas) and have stayed at many different resorts in Mexico. In the last 9 years we have come back 8 times to Palladium. We have stayed in the Adult Royal area with the cabanas for the last 5 years. The staff is tremendous. Aurora now heads up the Royal staff and does an exceptional job. The only detraction is the last 3 years "sales" people have been trying to sell us a "time share" type of option and that gets tiresome. Otherwise the food, the selection of drinks and the staff are exceptional.

Room Tip: We like the Cabanas but the Mayan Suites are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for share with us your comments and thank you for your fidelity to Grand Palladium.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Be prepared for a Great holiday. Accommodations and grounds are excellent. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Buffet food was great with lots of selection. I audit restaurants and bars for a living and have seen terrible to great. The Colonial ranks very high in my opinion. Clean, with attention to detail. Hot foods were hot and cold foods were cold. I observed staff/management taking temperature readings.
More than enough lounge chairs at beach and pools.
Spa was like having your own private health club.
Snorkling was good ( bring water shoes as some areas are sharp with coral.)
I will return with family again.
Note - there were no vendors bothering you at the beach. Bus from airport was clean and quick. Resort is very well staffed and attended to and you always felt safe and well looked after.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ronrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you Ronrum for share with us your comments about your vacation at Grand Palladium.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirer
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The most amazing place. Ideal location service amazing

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Kamike,

Thank you for your time and for your comment.

Sincerely,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have recently returned from a two week stay at the grand palladium colonial. Having read the reviews on here I was expecting a good stay however this hotel exceeded expectations. There are enough activities each day to keep even my husband amused but if you didn't want to partake they wouldn't hassle you and there were plenty of pools/ sun beds for peace and quiet.

The food was fantastic with the only bad meal being in the Chinese with slow service. Our favourite restaurants were the steak house, Brazilian and Italian where cecilio our waiter gave us exceptional service every time even if we weren't sat in his area of tables.
There was often a long wait for the a la cartes however you could sit in the lobby and enjoy a drink.

The evening entertainment was cheesy however nice to watch and seemed to be better quality at the white sands.

The hotel setting is beautiful and we spent hours walking around exploring.

I would avoid the Thomson trips as these are wildly expensive for what you get, you would be much better off hiring a car or a driver yourself as we did after doing their trip to chit zen itza.

There are so many good things to say about the hotel I couldn't possibly list them all. We will definitely be returning and are hugely jealous of anyone who is jetting off shortly,,

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you Sally C for your comments. I appreciate your time and I am glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel.

Cordially,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a two week stay at this marvelous resort. We celebrated our honeymoon/first wedding anniversary on this trip. We had let the hotel know about this, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of champagne and fruit basket in our room upon arrival. The staff is super friendly, always smiling and ready with a 'Hola' as you walk past them. We booked a Mayan Suite, which was superb. We were on the 2nd floor, and although the Mayan shower is a bit smaller, we were more than happy with our room. We had no problems to speak of, once in a while there was a pretty funky smell coming out of the air conditioner, so we'd just turn it off for awhile, we think it was some kind of swamp gas, or stagnant water smell getting into the intake, we smelled the same smell in Tulum near a small area of stagnant water outside the restaurant area. The food was good. Don't expect to be having a Keg-like quality of food, some of the things I tried I didn't really care for, but we certainly didn't go hungry at all. There are rocky areas of the beach, but if you go to the north end of the beach, near the flags at the edge of the property, there are no rocks, and lots of fish swimming around as you walk thru the water. The hotel was at capacity when we were there, but it was not crowded at all. We had to wait a couple of times for a table at an a la carte, but they have a pager system that you take and go sit in the lobby and have a beverage while you wait. The pager lights up when your table is ready. The Colonial Lobby seemed to be the place to be in the evenings, lots of people with live music. The Kantenah, White Sands and Riviera lobbies are a bit more quiet and subdued. We never had any trouble getting around on the resort. The trains that take you from lobby to lobby ran quite frequently, and there are plenty of golf cart type transports to take you to your villa if it's a far walk. There are plenty of paths thru the jungle between lobbies and villas that the longest you should have to walk is about 5-10 minutes to get to where you want to go. We went into Playa Del Carmen for a day, where I forgot where I was and ordered a margarita from a bar on 5th Avenue. I took one sip, and realized that the ice may not be that safe, even though we took Dukoral before we left. Sure enough 24 hours later, I fainted at the adult pool and became extremely ill afterwards. Upon the advice of our Transat rep, my husband contacted the resort doctor, and he paid us a visit in our room, administered some anti-nausea, anti-cramping and antibiotics. I then slept for pretty much two days but felt alot better. The doctor was trying to get me to go to a private clinic, as I was quite dehydrated, but I declined. The MiniSuper in the Kantenah lobby has over the counter drugs like anti diarrhea and gaviscon, but I suggest you bring your own, it was quite expensive. 1US/pill. Other than that, our vacation was awesome. Life is pretty hard when the biggest decision you have to make is which bathing suit to wear that day. We traveled as a couple, but there were lots of families with young children. The main pool has all kinds of activies, we could hear a guy on a PA system from the pool every day while they were playing games and such. If you prefer more quiet, the adult pool is great. We stuck to the beach mostly, grabbing a couple of sun beds under a palapas every day. The resort is beautiful, and very clean. People always cleaning in the lobbies, groundskeepers tending to the vegetation. Our room was cleaned every day, and our mini fridge was stocked every day. We have nothing bad to say about this resort, and we most definitely will be back next year.

Room Tip: Mayan Suites are in seperate villas, dedicated to couples only. Therefore, no screaming kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Susan M,

Thank you for share with us your comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium. All comments are very important for us because we can improve our service every day.

Cordially,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.5 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
9.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,648 reviews
6.9 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
36.8 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,010 reviews
27.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
7,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing