We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Holiday Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lindsay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Best Holiday Ever”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Everyone has their own experiences on holidays but it is hard to understand how anyone could rate this resort at anything less that Excellent. We travel south every winter and have been to Dominica, Cuba, Costa Rica and Mexico multiple times. Our last three visits have all been to the Mayan Riviera at 4 1/2 - 5 star resorts. I always use trip advisor in choosing a holiday and value the info here highly. This is my first time writing a review which says something about this resort. We were there from Feb 15 to Feb 22. Stayed in room 5127 in a junior suite second floor. Very quiet and peaceful. No issues sleeping whatsoever.

From the moment you walk into the lobby it is impressive (marble walkways). The resort is absolutely spotless. The staff are extremely helpful. If we wanted anything in our room, it was there in no time. A la cartes were all excellent although we could have been happy at the buffets all week - different themes each night.

This resort was carved out of the jungle and my understanding is that about 85% of the land was untouched. There are elevated walkways through the jungle from the rooms to the central areas where the restaurants, entertainment and lobbies are.

You will see lots of wildlife - the usual parade of iguanas as well as coaties and capybaras and numerous types of birds. The resort also has flamingos and crocodiles (caged - dont panic!).

This is a huge resort - get to know your own area but be aware that there are trains that will take you to other areas if you wish. One area not to miss is the spa. It is free to use and very relaxing in the late afternoon. There are steam rooms, saunas, whirlpools, shoulder jets that were heaven, stone paths that are supposed to stimulate you in some way - not for me!, lazy river, infinity pool and an absolutely gorgeous settting - all free. The usual spa services are all available at an additional charge if you wish.

Snorkeling is a must for us and although we had yellow and red flags every day - we still got it in. The best area is to the left side in front of the mayan suites. Lots of fish, stingrays and how many resorts can you see sea turtles in front of the resort? This was a first for us. We always go to Akumal beach to see the turtles - they are so graceful - could watch them for hours - 5-10 min car ride to get there from this resort - taxi or collectivo (the local buses). But we were pleasantly surprised to find them right in front of our resort also.

We will definitely be returning to this resort. I would go next week given the opportunity and would highly reommend it to anyone with the exception being if you don't like to walk.

Ayone lucky enough to travel here - have fun. You will not regret choosing it!

Room Tip: Mayan Suites are closest to the beach. Junior suites in Building 50 and 51 are quite close also. Wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Shrick ,

Thank you for share with us and others readers your opinion about your vacation at Grand Palladium.

Please, if you decide to visit us in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,229
    1,509
    501
    187
    110
See reviews for
1,712
2,398
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed for 1 week at Kantenah room 4827 and 4828. Initially we thought the rooms were too far from the main lobby but they weren't. It was so easy to get around and the peacefulness was lovely. I traveled with my husband and our 20 year old daughter and her boyfriend. We have been to many all inclusive resorts throughout the carribean. The Grand Palladium is by far the best we have ever experienced.
The grounds are meticulously maintained and given the resort is over 300 acres this is no small feat. We loved the covered bridges that take you throughout the resort via the mangroves. They are beautifully lit in the evening and we always felt safe. Although the resort is spread out there were always others around. We also loved the wild animals that we saw throughout the resort. We dined at a different a-la-carte restaurant every night and they were all very good. My husband and I were more than impressed at the caliber of the theater shows. By far the most elaborate and professional that we have ever seen. And.....a different show each night of the week!
The service was above and beyond. The staff never failed to greet you whether it was a quick pass on a walkway or a server in the restaurants. Our daughter and her boyfriend went snorkelling with sea turtles and loved it. We all rented segways on the resort and were thrilled with the tour. Hats off to Omar Francisco and Omar the Segway tour guide. The two of you could not have been more friendly!
Never a problem to find a chair around the pools or at the beach.
We would definately recommend this resort and plan on returning.
We were given a bottle of champagne and a coupon to make a reservation at one of the a-la-carte restaurants as we were celebrating an anniversary. Nice touch!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunandsandcrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you traveltheworldcg for taking time to give us your comments about your vacation.

I appreciate your time.

Cordially,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked for mexico been our last holiday before me and my partner started saving for our own place. All i can say is the holiday was absolutly gorgeous. Loved every minute been there. Food was excellent and the staff were really friendly. We loved the holiday that much were going back next may and cant wait :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucycarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you Lucycarter for taking time to share with us your comments about your vacation at Grand Palladium.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We got married at the Kantenah on January 19th, 2012, and I can't say enough good about this resort! The property was absolutely beautiful with one of the best beaches I have seen in Mexico or the Caribbean. There were a lot of great things about the resort that everyone else has covered, so I want to highlight what a great job they did with our wedding because reviews like these helped us greatly when choosing a venue.
Let me start by saying that 109 people attended our wedding coming from Canada, so I am sure organizing us all was no easy feat!
The wedding coordinator Vanessa was lovely; she went over and above with every request we made (within reason). We met with her the morhing after our arrival and went over all specific requests and got our blood tests (the most painless I have ever had) as well as doing all the signing and legal documentation. All this only took about an hour and a half and we did have cocktails the whole time, so it wasn't too bad at all. Instead of choosing from their flowers, we brought a photo of what we wanted and they were able to match it almost exactly. This was something that I had worried about, so I wanted to make mention.
On the day of the wedding, they made everything go off without a hitch. There were a total of 3 coordinators dedicated to us, from the ceremony in the garden gazebo, to the cocktail hour in Hemingway's to the reception and dinner at La Laguna. We were very happy with our venue choices, especially having the ceremony in the beautiful garden gazebo right next to the lovely chapel. This was by far the most private and peaceful venue to have your ceremony in comparison to the beach or the waterfront gazebo. In all the other locations, you had people all around gawking, but here this was not an issue at all.
Before the wedding, all of us girls had our hair done at the spa, which was absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend going there not only for the salon, but to relax in the free spa area. They did a great job on all of our hair; we just found photos in magazines there and they were able to replicate perfectly.
The decor and presentation was fabulous at the reception; it was the best food that I had there all week and it was plated beautifully. We chose the lobster bisque, the goat cheese salad, the mandarin sorbet and the sirloin and shrimp marsala and it was all excellent. The champagne (or sparkling wine) that they served was fairly decent, but the wine was a little hurting, so you might want to steer clear of that (unless you are ordering off the menu and paying).

All in all, it was an amazing week, and the resort did a great job making all of us from Huntsville, Ontario (and many other places) feel welcome and well taken care of.

I want to give a huge shout-out to Christian, our Transat rep, who was at our disposal all week,. He managed to organize 65 of us to go to Coco Bongos one night (best time ever) and handled various other requests throughout the week always with a smiling face and a joke or two.

Thanks Kantenah and I am sure one or two or 109 of us will be visiting again!!


**Feel free to email me if you have any questions about weddings there! vdarling@vianet.ca*

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VictoriaDarlingWadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear VictoriaDarlingWadel,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your good comments and for share with us this information. It's very important for us to know the opinion of our guest.

I will share your comments with Vanessa and the rest of the team.

I am very glad to know that you have had a beautiful wedding with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Traveled February 9 - 16, 2012 with friends via Air Transat.
Had a nice flight but early departure (6:15 am out of Toronto) meant crazy busy arrival in Cancun. Took forever to get through airport and to the bus.

The Kantenah lobby was beautiful and spotless. Check in took 5 minutes and then were shuttled to our room (building 47)
It was a good location....a 2 minute walk to the lobby and maybe 3 minutes to the beach (once you figure out the shortcuts) Trust me, take the map and keep it with you....it takes a bit to figure this place out.
All of the Kantenah buildings are literally in jungle and there are well lit paved or wooden walkways to everywhere.
The standard room was clean and everything worked (great a/c, water pressure, hot water at all times, tv remote,fridge, lights) Had a nice balcony with 2 chairs and a small table to enjoy the jungle sounds as absolutely no view (2nd floor) but still enjoyable. The bed is hard but slept great anyways. Room was cleaned to perfection every day with fresh towels and the fridge was always re-stocked.

There was endless choices in restaurants, as many ala cartes as you want as well as the buffets. No reservations are needed so pick ur ala carte, show up, and they will tell you how long a wait. We waited as little as 5 minutes for the steak house to an hour and a half for a cooking table at the Japanese (no problem.....just that much more time to enjoy pre dinner cocktails) We did Italian, Steakhouse, Japanese and Ribs & More. Plus the buffet. All were excellent, service was good and the house red was hit and miss. As for the complainers........what exactly are you looking for?? The choice in the lunch buffet is huge..... something for everyone although we usually opted for the tasty Mexican salsa, guacamole, and fresh nacho chips. Breakfast had absolutely everything you could ask for.
You were never more than a 5 second walk to a bar. The Kantenah lobby bar was a little quieter than the Colonial lobby (which made the best mohitos btw) Caesars (for us Canadians) were available everywhere as well as blender drinks......the only problem was the bars closed down at 12:00. The disco was opened beyond that and so was the beach bar which is 24 hours (but only served beer at that point)

The beach is gorgeous, plenty of chairs and lots of room to sit in full sun or among the hundreds of palm trees. The water was calm and clear the first couple of days, then the wind picked up for the remainder. We went parasailing for $60 each which was a blast and make sure you book the segway tour ($35) Worth every penny and gives you a fun way to explore the entire complex.

The pool is large and kept clean, not sure why the water around the pool bar is over 5 ft deep which literally keeps you on your toes but once you get a seat it's all good. Always lots of chairs and plenty of shady spots or sun around the pool.

Took the collectivo into Playa del Carmen for $3 each (just walk out to the highway and wait) It's a cheap and safe way to get into town for shopping and Canadian money is accepted everywhere at par with US$. It's $25 for a taxi.

All in all, it's a beautiful resort and more than met our expectations........the service was great and the staff were friendly and happy. It's huge so plan on a lot of walking but golf carts and "trains" are shuttling constantly if you've had enough.

Don't let the bad press about Mexico discourage you........book it!! You'll love it. We sure did!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JMcLovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear JMcLovin,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments. I appreciate so much your information.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Went with another couple to the Grand Palladium. Originally wanted to stay in the Royal Suites but were more than satisfied with the Mayan Suites. I'll try to go through the points in a logical order.

Flight arrived early (9:15 am) but the lineup at customs was slow. The bus trip should have taken about 1/2 to 3/4 hr but we ended up having to drop off people at other resorts along the way. We finally got to the resort at around 12:30. Victor at check-in was awesome. We had a little bit of a delay dealing with Julio? who wanted us to make an appt. to go and see the Royal Suites.

Mayan Suites - great location, on the beach, easy to get to both large pool, adult pool and Kantenah/Colonial lobbies, buffets and a la carte restaurants. Love the outdoor shower. Well laid out and room stocked with coffee/tea as well as a mini fridge with water, pop and beer. Hotel very Eco friendly however would suggest a dehumidifier in the room as bathing suits and towels would not dry and hanging clothes started smelling musty by the end do the week.

Food - do not understand how anyone could complain. Plenty of choice. Breakfast buffet had anything you could wish for. Lunch buffet had hot and cold vegetables, prepared salads or the makings, choices of breads/buns and cheeses/meats for sandwiches, soup, pizza, pasta bar, hot dogs, hamburgs, chili, usually a choice of roast (over the week we saw turkey, pork, lamb, ribs), paella, fish, and more. The a la carte restaurants were great and the menus were posted so you could decide if the choices were suitable to your taste.

Cleanliness - the resort was immaculate.

Spa - one of the most beautiful areas I have ever seen. Also had a massage that encompassed five different techniques which was heavenly and quite reasonably priced.

Lobbies - each of the four lobbies that we visited was a bit different and had their own feel in the evening. Loved going to the lobby for an after dinner drink, listen to music, enjoy the ambiance.

The site is quite large and is overwhelming the first day however you soon find that it is very easy to get around and laid out well. Staff was very friendly and accommodating and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear L H,

Thank you for share with us your comments about your vacation. I am glad to know that you and your friends have had a nice time.

Please,don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We traveled from feb 1st to the 8th to this hotel. With our 15 year old daught her friend and our 12 year old daughter It was Huge, which was fine with us we didnt mind walkin to ware off the food and drinks.

There was plenty of things to do for all, I felt safe letting the girls have a little fredom to explore the hotel and amenities.

The food was good, we really enjoyed the japanesse, make sure you book the show table, the Steak house was good also, buffets had lots of variety.
There is a problem if you can't find something or don't like anything.

Staff was friendly, the golf carts and train were convenent for getting around to the other 3 resorts on the property.

The bar staff were great in the Kantenah lobby, my husband loved them.

The rooms were fine, the only thing that bother me was the fact that the bottom sheet was not a fitted sheet so it would come un tucked every night which drove me a little crazy, but seriuosly not a big deal. The other thing that was dissapionting even thought we tipped in both our rooms everyday that we did not once get a towel art which I thought would be cool for the kids to see, as I am use to this on vacations. Again seriously not a big deal but would have been good to see.

The beach was perfect for the best of both worlds, a good swimming area and also rocky reef parts where you can snorkel right there, very cool seen lots of fish.

Over all this was a wonderful vacation and I would for sure recommend it!!!!!!

Room Tip: I would choose a room close to the beach or pool area for conveniance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Pamela D,

Thank you for your time and for your comments. I will take note of them and I will check the situations in the room with our maintenance and housekeeping team.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.6 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
24.0 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
7.0 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,843 reviews
9.8 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,596 reviews
33.6 km away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing