We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“March 2011”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Exactly what we expected and paid for. Small mismatches cannot destroy overall nice remaindings. Resort is realy huge but not corwded. Real nature almost at touch, you can meet iguanas everywhere, they are laying at every pathway. Raccoons, mini wild boars, monkeys, pelikans, flamings... and corocodiles (behaind the fence), you meet all them there.
TIP: Although rooms are better in Riviera/White Sand section, better service and food you will find in Kantenah/Colonial section.
The best esspresso is in Colonial Lobby bar. Taste best with Fundador brandy :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Adam D,

Thank you for taking time to share with us and other readers your comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium.

Regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,125
    1,482
    491
    185
    103
See reviews for
1,652
2,331
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I returned from two weeks at this resort three days ago and are already planning to go back. Having been to a beautiful resort in the Domician Republic five times we wanted a change and were not disappointed. Check in was easy and we were given a room upgrade which was lovely. We had also requested a quiet area and a high floor, both requests were given without a problem (our room is was in the Kantenah area). The room was clean and spacious and the mini bar was kept well stocked. We only drink diet/light soft drinks so we asked for those rather than the regular ones, and had them for the whole of the stay. We didn't try the coffee machine. These have been some previous comments about the pillows, but ours were fine.
The grounds of the resort are really quite something. We really enjoyed exploring the boardwalks and trails looking out for the animals and birds and noted how clean everywhere was kept. The train between the four lobbies was very efficient as were the buggies.
The Spa is gorgeous and the gym reasonably equipped, a few more cardio machines would be useful when it gets busy. Again everything was spotlessly clean. There aren't many loungers by the Spa pool and people seemed to camp out for the day (often leaving a towel on the bed and not returning for ages) which was a shame. However, we went to the gym about 3 pm, had a shower there (that was amazing!!) and then into the pool after when most people had gone.
As for the beach, well, it's beautiful. Lovely sand at the Kantenah end with some rocky/coral bits in the middle and then sand again near the beach cafe. The water is clear and warm, with fish (we think they were permit and needle fish) swimming around you. Lots of people were snorkelling. You can walk some way along the beach that is not part of the resort and there are some lovely places to swim there too although we did see stingrays so caution is needed.
There are plenty of bars with a good range of drinks. The restaurants were all very good and I was really impressed with the booking method of turning up and if there was a wait you were given a buzzer which alerted you when the table was ready. We never had more than an hours wait which was fine. We found the staff very friendly and helpful in all the restaurants and bars.
Another very pleasant surprise was not being hounded by the staff working for the Travel Club. In the Dom Rep this was a real pain and you had to get quite assertive to have some peace. Here, apart from a couple of phone calls offering to give us help and the invitation of a free gift and a special dinner we had no hard sell or pressure which was a relief.
We went out a couple of times to Akumel and Playa Del Carmen using the Collectivos. These are an amazing way to get around and strongly recommend giving them a go. Just check with the resort staff what a standard rate would be for your trip so you know what to offer. When we go again we aim to hire a driver and minibus to go out for the day and tailor our own itiniery.
It is a lovely resort, with lovely people and would strongly recommend it as a destination for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: High room will give a good view over the canopy and better light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 660Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you 660Traveller for share with us your comments about your experience in Grand Palladium. For us it's very important the opinion of our guest.

If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our first experience of all-inclusive and doing 5* we did 11 nights 17 mar-28 mar . Well we were amazed from the moment u got of the coach at the hotel , firstly they greeted u with a cocktail and a smile . Then when we checked in we had been upgraded to a junior suite which was a nice surprise. The rooms were spotless the size of the bed well i'd felt like i'd been sleeping on my own it was that big, air-con and safe all included even sunbeds on the beach no worries at all. The resort was stunning the gardens the wild life something new every day. Every day the maid came in , our maid was called Juan he was brilliant he would make us animals out for towels they were brillant and it was worth leaving him a tips The food was great we mainly did the buffets mainly because u had to go out a bit early for the la-carte , we did El dorado twice which was very nice we waited 30-45 mins we also did Bamboo was not IMPRESSED with this la carte service wasnt good neither was the food (sorry). The main thing that impressed us was the staff the Mayan people and mexicans are most friendly people we have ever met they do rely on tips but its worth giving them a dollar or 2 cause as soon as your drink was nearly empty they were there with another. Our favourite bar was in the Coloniel lobby the staff were brill, we were in the Kantenah but it was a little quiter .There is something for everyone shows every night, bands after the shows .Wish we'd done 2wks was not ready to come home . We did 2 trips we was going to do Chichen itza but decided to do Coba as from May u cant climb up its pyramid "Nohoch Mul" it had about 130 steps very high i was a bit scared but was glad we did it when we go back we can do the other . Then we did Coco Bongos in Playa del carmen which was good but before was a bar crawl which was so so . Trips range from about £35 - £ 100 so if u want to do a few u need extra .We r seriously thinking of going back next year this time of years was brill. My only negative would be next time we would ask for 1st or 2nd floor cause did have ants , but our maid Juan did sort it out for us but i dont like them . TOP MARKS FOR GRAND PALLADIUM AND ALL ITS STAFF we really enjoyed our stay if u can't already tell.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bwfcjus-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear bwfcjus-john,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your time and your review. It's is very important for me and for the rest of the team.

This is a motivation for improve our work every day.

Please, if you decide to visit the hotel in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a group of 12 people from Ontario, Canada that went to the resort in February. Age 40-52. This is our second trip to Mexico and for my wife and I our 5th all inclusive.

The Spa is second to none. for those who decide not to walk out or take the little train shuttle to the spa area you are missing one of the best parts of this resort. The spa has a cold stone walk, cold tub, hot tub, a large hot tub spa area where the nozzles pour on your back and relieve stress, a great mist sauna, dry sauna, lazy river and relaxing pool at no extra cost. We paid for a couples massage (book once you get there and check it out) and it was well worth it. Staff was fabulous at the spa.

The gym at the resort was one of the largest, cleanest and modern gyms I have ever seen at a resort let alone any hotel.. A separate gym area for yoga and spin class. All very clean. The sports field are was excellent with tennis, soccer, mini golf and more. Kept in excellent condition.

The Kantenah area is were our room was located. This is a very large resort with 5 resorts in one that covers a large amount of property. Kantenah is a older section but it was very nice. A lot of vegetation around the units so you can hardly tell there are buildings nearby.

We noticed that our agent booked us two double beds. We sent a email a week and a day ahead to see if it could be changed to one king instead but never received a response and when we got there they couldn't change it. We asked to be put on a waiting list and also asked to be moved closed to our friends. The next day we were moved to a building with our friends. Just make sure when its booked you get the size room you want. It was our fault and the staff was very pleasant to try and accommodate us.

The pool area was a lot of fun and there was always activities to participate in if you want. The staff was never pushy to get people to join and always made it fun. The adult pool was nice but one day it was taken over by adults with young kids and it ruined the atmosphere there. We just went elsewhere. The pool bar was very good. Always found chairs around the pool. Never a problem getting towels

The beach area is rocky. The beach at the Kantenah end is the best. As you go along the beach towards the other parts of the resort it gets to Rocky. Beach shoes or cheap sandals will work. Beach bar was good and had good bar food. The beach volleyball was not on the beach. It was behind a large set of trees by the beach bar. Didnt really feel like beach volleyball and the sand was packed and hard.

The restaurants were good. Only have to make reservations for the Japanese restaurant. Other than that you can go as much as you want. We had a 10 minute wait at two restaurants. Which was find as we sat and had a drink and chatted with the friendly staff who made our wait fun.

They have small shuttles and a small train that run between the resorts on Grand palladium. Sometimes you had to wait a long time. It would be better if they ran more shuttles to the area. There is a wait during shows but just get a drink as there is no rush. Shows were good.

Two bars in the main lobby. Hemingway and Churchill. One is smoking the other is not. premium liquors here. Piano playing or just relax. it was nice to sit in there to wrap up a night or to start the night off.

We went to Playa da Carmen for the day. Take the $3 bus. Its easy and fun. Just ask the staff at the front desk and walk to the front. It is safe. Its a tourist trap but the further you go down the strip the better the prices.


Things we would like to see different. Of note none of this ruined our trip, but some people who are picky might want to know. Resort is 1 1/2 hrs from Cancun airport.
Bring your own hair conditioner, the house wine-white was okay. The red was awful. You have to pay for good wine at the restaurants.There is a lot of walking even within your resort let alone between the resorts. Just be prepared.

i like to experience different resorts so I may not go back unless the group wants to go. I would not be disappointed if we we did go back as i know it will be a good time.

Room Tip: Work with your travel agent to get the room you want-bed size,, location, which floor. Send a email...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear B L,

It's a pleasure read your comments about your vacation with us. Thank you for your time.

I will take note and I will share this information with our team.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Kantenah March 10 - 17. I'll start by saying it is true about the rocky beach. There is a small area that everyone crowds into where there are no rocks. This is a rather small area. The only other issue we had was the mini bar in the room. You would get soda, water, and 4 beers in the room a day. No wine. You could go to one of the many bars and get wine and more beer. If you wanted more than 4 beers in the mini bar in a day you would be charged. I like wine and was very disappointed that you didn't get wine in the room. The resort is very clean and the staff is great. I can't say enough about the food. It was very good. One of the best as far as the food is concerned. I really like that the restaurants do not require reservations. You can go to any of the four resort's restaurants that make up this complex. We were upgraded from a Junior Suite to a Mayan Suite. I did like the out door shower. Our room was right at the beach. The resort is very large but there are shuttles that constantly run between the 4 resorts until 2 in the morning. I have to say we will not return to this resort because of the rocky beach. If that doesn't bother you then I would highly recommend any of the 4 Grand Palladiums.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyOhcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear CincyOhcouple,

Thank you for your comments. I would like to comment that we have the option the wine in the room. The guest can check this with our Public Relation.

I appreciate your time and your review.

Please, if we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to send us an e-mail.

Sincerely,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here Feb 29 - March 7, 2012 in room 4317, first let me say the staff are amazing and deserve all the credit they get, the grounds are beautiful and every where you look is a postcard view. It's the most relaxing place I've been, my stress level dropped the second I arrived. Marda the girl looking after our room was amazing our room was always spotless. The guys in the Mexican restruant always gave us amazing service and always had a good laugh. We'll be back for sure next Feb.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you Holligan for share with us your good comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium.

Please, if you decide to visit the hotel in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Althought this resort is huge, once you find your way around it's got a nice feel to it. We loved everything about this place. The staff is excellent, the food is delicious and the facitlies are amazing. This hotel exceeded our expectations and we've decided we'll return. The ala carte restaurants are fantastic with something for everyone. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite and it was very comfortable and clean. It was also close to the beach which is exactly what I requested. Lots of families with children and couples an no spring breakers! The snorkeling off the beach is like swimming in an aquarium. I was almost overwhelmed at the amount and variety of fish. Be warned though, go when you have the opportunity, the ocean can be quite rough and visilbility can be almost nothing if the waves are really coming in. That was my only complaint, the sea was just too rough to be able to snorkel and see things everyday, but that was just bad luck and hardly the fault of the hotel. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: All was did was request a room close to the beach in a quite area and that's exactly what we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imwendy__68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear imwendy__68,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for share with us your opinion. It's very important for us because is help for improve our service every day.

Sincerely,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.5 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
10.1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
9.0 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
10.0 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing