We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing European Resort in Akumal, Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pomona, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing European Resort in Akumal, Mexico”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were two families on vacation.
This place showed to be fantastic in all aspects:
everything was beyond expectations - shore, ocean, archtecture, amenities, service, food...
Family friendly, genuinely entertaining...
Real treasure!

Room Tip: Everything is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG_OMEGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear MG_OMEGA,

I appreciate your good comments. Thank you for share with us your opinion.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Directora Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,123
    1,481
    491
    185
    103
See reviews for
1,650
2,330
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed Grand Palladium Kantenah, From Jan 9-16th. My boyfriend and I( late 20's) Loved out trip to this hotel. Airport transfer to the hotel was smooth and quick, had people waiting for us at the airport.
Got to the Hotel, Check In was super quick , We had to wait for our rooms for a few hours but it was because We arrived at 10 am. The rooms were renovated and just fantastic. Ive been to mexico 9 times all to 4.5 and 5 stars and this was by far the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. Villa 4 , 3rd floor.

The Restaurants were amazing except for the Chinese one.( The appetizers were great but the mains lacked flavour.) The buffets were great for lunch but only ate once for dinner and it wasn't to bad, large selection. I would say stick to the a la carte there are so many of them. Never got sick from the food or the Drinks, nor did anyone else from the hotel that we met.

Hotel staff, super friendly ,a don't expect to be tipped even though they appreciate if you do. equal service for all. The shows at the Riveria resort, were amazing, you can see that they are professionals and put a lot of work into these shows. First all inclusive that I actually stayed for the shows.

The Grounds are large with lots of wildlife, there is a train that takes you from one resort to another for dinner or shows, or disco, it runs every 2 min, great and easy way to get around. The fitness facilities are modern and clean. Speaking of clean, the whole resort was spotless, our rooms everyday were cleaned to perfection.

Negative: As amazing as the beach was, there were some rocky places and really only two entrances to the water that were sandy. but if you park right in front of them you should be fine.

Also hard pillows so if you can fit it bring your own. or pay to upgrade.


All and all, great vacation for all ages. We in our late 20's met a ton of Canadians and the disco was happening every night. For kids there were events everyday, and the entertainment crew always had activities for people to get involved in.

Room Tip: villa 3, villa 4 renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandgal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you Islandgal_11 for taking time to share with us your feedback. We appreciate it so much.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Our third visit to the palladium has been possibly the best yet, we stayed 28th dec till 12th jan in the kantenah rooms 4213 which have had a revamp. Obviously a busy period and I must say all the staff were not phased being our first visit at this time of year we were not sure what to expect all areas were impeccably clean due to the ever friendly staff being ever vigelent eg a glass was dropped during dinner serves in the buffet restaurant and the cleaner was almost there before it hit the floor! . The bar staff are friendly and soon get to know your tipple and Mario at the pool bar likes you to try his special shots. Having heard a few negative comments on New Year's Eve by other guests we must say we had an amazing time, this was all down to the staff in the colonial lobby who were fantastic. We can not wait to return this year same time. Thank you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Mickare,

I am glad to know that you have had a great vacation with us. I appreciate your confidence in Grand Palladium for third consecutive time.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

Sincerely,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed from December 30th to January 13th. We stayed in a Mayan Suite which was a fantastic room, room 3308, great location, close to beach and pool, not far to walk to lobby.

This was our 2nd visit to the Palladium and our 12th visit to the Mayan. We were disappointed to learn that returning guests do not even get a welcome back letter.

The a la carte reservations or lack of are a joke! I went to stand in line at 730 in the morning to get into the Japanese restaurant...couldn't get in until 9pm. We stayed in the Kantenah section and could only book reservations for the tepanyaki table, the beach bbq and punta emila. They allow guests at the riviera/white sands in a regular room to book reservations for ANY a la carte. While guests staying in a Mayan Suite at the Kantenah can not. We couldn't even book a dinner together with friends staying at the Royal Suites.

We were very excited to see Alfredo the bartender at the Kantenah lobby bar 5 years later...he made our trip last time and did the same this time. Beware of the Alfredo especial!

The food was much better in the buffet and a la carte's this time around, our favorite was the Japanese...very good sushi :)

While our room was adequately cleaned everyday, we were disappointed with the lack of towel art...1 in two weeks. And yes we did tip our cleaner.

My husband was told by a manager at an a la carte restaurant "if you don't like the way this works go eat at the buffet" this is because he didn't have a room key to trade for a pager.

The only other disappointment was the royal suites have free wifi and a Mayan suite do not.

Not sure i would go back for a 3rd visit, we did however really enjoy ourselves, the room was great for a 2 week stay. We weren't tripping over each other.

In closing we would like to thank our friends traveling with us for signing up for the travel club...this allowed us to get premium drinks and a private tepanyaki table at the Japanese restaurant.


Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your time.

I would like to comment something about the restaurants: All "A la carte Restaurants" are without reservation. Only Punta Emilia, BBQ and Tepanyaki table are with reservation.

The only guests that can make previous reservations are the guests located in The Royal Suites Yucatán, Travel Club Palladium and Vip.

I am sorry to know that you left the resort with this confusion.

If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Spent 2 weeks from Dec 9th -24th in Kantenah in #5117, a junior suite...spotless on arrival and kept that way, fridge was stocked each day, fully renovated with huge flat screen TV, marble floors etc,very comfortable king size bed, loved the quiet treed location, less than 1 block walk to beach and same to huge pool shaped curvy like a lake, must have been over an acre with shallow kids pool attached on one side, 5 minutes walk to another same shape huge pool...never felt crowded, salt water pool on gorgeous rocky coast line provided for big crashing waves to lull you to sleep on 4 poster beds surrounded by curtains you could draw, and gorgeous long white coral beach was huge so never a problem getting lounge chairs and lots of palapas & palm trees for shade, very friendly and accomodating staff, most spoke good english, double reverse osmosis treated water so was safe to drink through out resort, each buffet was open a specific amount of time and we noticed them scrubbing everything once closed...even the parts of buffet equipment that hung over the buffet tables, but always a couple open so never a problem to eat when you wanted to, lots of friendly animals and birds, lots to do, boat ride on river, night life, excellent restaurants to choose from with 4 courses (chinese fusion, japanese teppanyaki or sushi, steak house, italian, brazilian, mexican, ribs etc) and ate at a different one each night and did one of several buffets which also had gourmet choices such as roast whole pig, duck, and fancy desserts too... for lunch & breakfast. Went to an on the beach BBQ one night which was fun with live band, also make sure you go to beach front restaurant in White sands resort for superb best of all gourmet food. Always activities if you want to participate such as dance class, scuba lessons, fun games, Segways...also a great kids club...great supervision of kids...our 9 yr old grand daughter participated in a stage show which they practiced for during daytime and did on stage for parents at 8pm each night. Super fun. Also, venders of mexican arts & crafts who set up in the evenings were absolutely not pushy and would bargain...but there were also regular stores inside resort with fair prices. Also, our grandson developed an ear infection while there...resort Dr sent him & his parents to Playa del Carmen by resort ambulance (with paramedic) where they were impressed with Canadian quality hospital where they treated him and returned them to resort at a small cost (that insurance covered). Ride the "Collectivos"( 12 passenger high roof white Mercedes vans that drive back & forth along highway...picking up tourists and resort workers) to Tulum, Playa del Carmen etc for $5 US each or $30 pesos each, just wait beside highway outside resort and they pick you up...we felt very safe. We plan to return to this resort again but with friends later this year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ebonycat_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Propietario at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Ebonycat_42,

It's a pleasure to know that you have had a great vacation with us. We appreciate your comments.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

we stayed 2 weeks from 28th dec 2012 to 11th jan 2013, lovely place and excellent service from all staff, the place was spotless and stafff were forever cleaning, the only problem was the pillows on the bed, they were awfull and for what we paid for the trip i think they could supply decent pillows. We all enjoyed it especially the restaurants and being able to visit the other hotels at night, apart from the odd drunk who tended to let everyone know they knew the words to their national anthem every day we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lesleyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear lesleyOntario,

We appreciate your good comments. Thank you.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilze, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We went to Grand Palladium Resorts – Kantenah section in December. It was amazing. We booked a Kantenah Mayan Suite and let me tell you that we will never choose anything different if we have the choice. We were in building 3604 with a view to the beach. We faced the royal beach section but we didn’t mind at all. There was always a soft music we could enjoy on our balcony and La Jarra beach bar was very close too.
The rooms are very spacious, the renovations made the room pretty and the outside shower was just superb!
Because I do a lot of research before travelling, I was well informed about the resort and I already took a look at a map of the resort. We quickly found our way arround and any shortcuts. We are not a fan of walking (or top fit) but still didn’t think the resort was “too” large. We walked from Kantenah beach to Las Rocas salt waterpool and the distance wasn’t an issue at all. Maybe also because everything is so gorgious!
The surroundings are so beautiful and well preserved, the wild life so fantastic (but stop feeding!), I only didn’t like the crocodiles surroundings, too small and not so beautiful for those crocodiles. A larger more natural location would be much better.
The train and villa carts system worked just fine. Which was great as we didn’t feel like walking to dinner and back “home” for the night. There are enough restaurants for anybody to choose from but if you are easily cold like I am, bring a light jacket to the restaurants as I found airco to be too cold for my liking. Rib’s ’n More was a favorite of mine but the buffet restaurants were also good. Good variety, not so busy and I loved the fact that I could create my own salads just the way I liked them. Sometimes we had to wait more then 90 minutes for a table in a restaurant and there were days we didn’t mind and enjoyed one of many bars or strawled by market vendors and there were days we decided on the buffet restaurants.
We ended up not seeying any show except the show provided by the bartenders at the Kantenah lobby bar. Those guys were funny and attentive!
We loved the adult pool in the Colonial section, it was our favorite!
If anyone would hesitate, DON’T. We will surely go back to this paradise.
Oh and just to add something besides the resort… go to Akumal if you like to try snorkeling. You can take the collectivo and just go in the water by yourself, you’ll see a lot of turtles, this was unbelievable and fantastic!

Room Tip: Kantenah section is quieter, mayan suite has great location to the beach and shortcuts to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Miranda576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Google Translation
Dear Miranda576,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.5 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
10.1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
9.0 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
10.0 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing