We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Resort, Bad Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Resort, Bad Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I really enjoyed my stay this past January at the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum. I am not typically a resort goer, usually I enjoy a more independent type of travel but I went with a group of 6 friends and this is the way they like to travel, that said I had a really great time at the resort. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was also very good. There was a night club / entertainment area that is shared by the 3 resorts that was also very fun and gave us the opportunity to meet more people than just those staying at our resort. My main complaint and the reason why i would never go back is that the beach was extremely rocky. Huge rocks inside the water that made it very difficult to just walk in the beach and take a swim. I had read several reviews and did not find mention of the rocks or the very unsightly wave break. (Man-made wall of something that was about 20 feet from the shoreline) The pictures did not show this wall thing and when I made my way down to the beach I was somewhat shocked to see it. The beach is why we decided to go to Tulum so it was a little bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Choose another resort if the beach is your main priority
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHEHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,610
    3,172
    1,207
    445
    258
See reviews for
3,485
5,147
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

One word really, FANTASTIC!! Spent our Easter holidays at this hotel and it was the best holiday we have ever had. We have been to many AI resorts in the Caribbean etc but this was top notch.Food,drink and everything else this gigantic hotel had to offer was spot on. We have already booked to go to El Dorado Sea Side Suites for my " Big Birthday" next year but after this experiance we have decided to change the booking and return to Gran Bahia Tulum and save a small fortune!! Thankyou Gran Bahia Tulum you were amazing!! P.s we went to Coco Bongos on TC Experiance. Coco Bongos was amazing but would do the trip alone next time as we could have stayed much longer and got a taxi back ( inexpensive). We also used the local Collectivo's to go to Tulum and Akumal beaches. Very safe and cheap!! Roll on 2013 can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Villa 17 was perfect for us. Short stroll to Lobby or jump on passing golf trolley!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fudge1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Not thoroughly impressed at the resort. Food was average, staff were lethargic and the only energy found was the folks pretending to sell excursions in the lobby who were really selling time shares. We get it but we don't need the hassle each time we walk into the lobby " did you just arrive??" and then into any spiel to lock onto a conversation. Asking the maid for clean towels or other took many requests and hours to respond. Hands out for cash in the resort by staff quite a number of times. Be aware of the Europcar rental, the price that you book online they try to jack up as "that car is not available" but higher priced ones are. They have to give you the higher cost car as same price as you booked. good argument ensued and they finally gave me the price i booked (on the paper i printed). A car rental is approx 40 dollars a day, far cheaper to rent this as we did to go to cancun for the day than the 100's of dollars the ripoff taxis charge. As for purchases, don't bother, most items sold there and Tulum are 2x the price at the airport. Tequilla for $43 a bottle was $23 at airport. Overall staff were pleasant but not engaged in service, rather their pockets. The Alacarte restaurants, even though they give you late bookings 9:30 and 10:00 pm since they are "full", go an hour earlier and you will find all restaurants are only half full. not sure why but we ended up eating much earlier than the late bookings available. Hassles continue at the pool and beach where staff are continuously walking by and asking if you want an excursion, take picture with a parrot or swim with their dolphins (extremely expensive). Also the internet (public) doesnt work much of the time ("server down") was the answer, however their $10 dollar pay per day works just fine. go figure. Overall an OK place but they need to stop the hassling of the visitors with the nickle and dime affairs. Much prefer same chain in Dominican republic none of this nonsense there.

Room Tip: all rooms the same, nothing spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, PE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I went here in January 2012 with my family and our neighbors family, 9 of us in total (ages 18-50). I can honestly say this resort was perfect! The food was absolutely amazing! This was my first time in Mexico, I have been to Cuba 4 times, and I have to say this resort was way nicer than any I have ever seen in Cuba, though Cuba is still my favorite place.

The Rooms- Were awesome, we were right by the smaller pool where the 24 hour snack bar is located, very good location you can see the beach from your room. I would recommend a room this close or closer, just because it is a huge resort and there's a lot of walking! Rooms were spacious and clean, showers were nice but kinda weird because they only had half a door? Kinda hard to explain but ours kinda leaked onto the floor but it wasn't really an issue. Beds were super comfy. Only complaint is our fridge didn't get cold but we didn't really need to use it anyway.

Pools- AWESOME! There are so many and all of them are great! The main one by the lobby was the best with the swim up bar!

Grounds- Incredible, they were always cleaning the grounds they were perfect lush and beautiful!

Food- Awesome, beyond awesome. Everything was good and there was SO MUCH to pick from! Also our favorite a la carte was DON PABLO, if you can go there I highly recommend it, you can pre-book these before you go which is definitely a good idea if you want to get good times. Also the Italian was excellent.

Beach- The best ever! So much to do on it, they have these huge sacks filled with sand that break the waves that are sooo much fun to play on, and then there's calmer spots too. Lots of great snorkeling!! if you like to snorkel bring your gear!

My mom my brother and i did a day excursion to go snorkeling in the cenotes and a lagoon, i think it was around 80$USD and was well worth it. They provide a mexican type lunch and it was very good, my picky brother had no trouble filling up. They also take your picture in one of the caves, you can buy copies but they give you one for free which was awesome.

Overall this trip was perfect, there is so much to do and so much to see! They have dolphins on the resort and you can go parasailing, that was a lot of fun.
I highly recommend this place!!!! You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tornto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We went for a Wedding (My Uncle) on a 7 night stay. Worth every penny. Well Fed Day to night with an abundance of food from different with emphasis on on Mexican cultural foods as well. I was highly entertained by the staff of the resort for free entertainment also from day to night. Including Yoga, water aerobics, salsa lessons, Bingo, bike riding, kayaking, cooking lessons and much much more all included in the inclusive resort price. Then there were the off resort tours which the Best Day Travel Adviser LILI was a great Help. She was patient well spoken and understanding of our interests. The ATV tour was a Great suggestion on her Part I absolutely loved the experience considering the variety and price. The Front Receptionist Yoel was also A Great help and very informative. He spoke English very well as well as French. He went out of his way to send Ice to our room when the Machine was down. Always a smile and willing to go the extra mile. Yuan did a great Job of remembering my room and drove the Tram with pride he will be missed. Over all very pleasant people.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor are good for the drinkers and people with children as it makes it more a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

party of 6 travelled to this hotel in november 2011. we had an amazing time one of the best all inclusive hotels we have stayed in. the staff were great nothing too much trouble, hotel grounds were imaculate, rooms cleaned daily, mini bar stocked daily. the food was great and it is the only hotel we have stayed at where the drinks were branded. we stayed in villa 24 close to quiet pool and 24 hour bar it was an excellent location our room looked over the dolphin pool.i have since read some of the negative reports and cannot understand their complaints we had none whats so ever, we had such a good time we have booked to return in may cannot wait to go back. would highly recommend going to coco bongos best club we have ever been to entertainment was great.

Room Tip: villa 23 and 24 close to pool and 24 hour bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

our holiday at tulum was amazing the accomodation was lovely and very clean.nothing was too much trouble for the staff who all work exceptionally hard.the inclusion of the al a carte restraunts made a lovely alternative to the buffet restraunts.we got married there Jasmin and Carla were great and organised everything for us while we chilled by the pool.there wasnt much for the children at night once the shows finished but they loved the pools and the daytime entertainment.we would all love to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1.0 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
14.9 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
32.8 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Address: Crta Chetumal - Cancun km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 960
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing