We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felix Schlokat and staff made our vacation a most memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My wife and I spent a week at Gran Bahia Principe Coba. We had stayed at the resort once before and had such a good time we decided to go a second time to celebrate my wife's birthday. Thanks to Felix Schlokat and the staff at Coba we had a wonderful week of sun, fun, and relaxation. The accomodations were excellent and the service was great! A special thanks to Elmer, Rueben, and Danira our favorite staff members. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to explore a beautiful resort and enjoy a special vacation. We're looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwagner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear 'dwagner63'.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback in regard to my staff and myself. I have passed it on so my team knows what a wonderful job they are doing. Thank you for that!

Please do not hesitate to contacting me anytime. I will be looking forward welcoming you very soon,

My kindest regards,

Yours Sincerely,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager Premier
Gran Bahia Principe Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,066 - 8,072 of 14,087 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

So glad we decided to: A) travel to Mexico and B) stay at this awesome resort! We've been to 4 other all-incl. in the Caribbean and this one was the best yet. First, you get 3 resorts for the price of one-Coba, Tulum and Akumel- we stayed at the Coba. It is set off the beach but please don't let this deter you! The beach is a very short walk or tram ride away and usually Coba is bit less expensive. But remember, you can use the facilities/food/pools at all three! The lobbies and landscaping are beautiful, not to mention the many huge pools in each resort. Swim up bars are convenient and I never waited for a drink-could be the season/time of year? Note: bring your own insulated cup. Every seasoned all-incl. traveler does! I will def come back to Mexico in May--less traffic at the resorts. The beach is beautiful--water was like crystal clear turquoise bath water and the on-site snorkeling at Coba Beach...incredible! We saw/petted a small sting ray and there were fish galore as well as squid. I even had a tiny crab hitch hike on my shoulder. There are iguana's everywhere at this place which adds a little extra something. I enjoyed running across little families of these critters--great photo ops! There are also 2 animals here that you won't find in the US and they reside on the resort as well. The caoti look like a rust colored racoon mixed w/ a lemur and they live in trees. There is another "thing" that looks like a small armadillo and you may catch a glimpse of one. The caoti's are more prevalant. The room we were in was a small suite w/ fridge stocked w/ beer, soft drinks, candy bars and chips daily! We left $2 per day and we got towel animals w/ flower petals on the bed every day. Huge jetted tub and marble floors. The rooms are a bit moist as stated in other posts--not sure how to get around that in the caribbean. But I got over that quickly--too many perks to dwell! And I'm a sensitive "picky" traveller too. The buffets were huge: tons of fresh fruit/veggies and a good selection of different entrees. Note: many caribbean resorts "cater" to a euro food type. You'll see some different selections than you would at a typical US buffet, but you will find many things you'll like and it's a great opportunity to try new food! If you have kids there are many friendly foods for them also. Definitely do an ala carte restaurant though. Had the best grouper fish ever at Pescado's. The experience as well as "non-stop" food on a sword at the Brazilian restaurant La Gran Tortuna was fantastic. The sirloin and filet mignon was awesome, but the rotisserie pineapple?!! INCREDIBLE! The japanese restaurant Mikodo puts on a show--be sure to request a show table/grill--and food is good too. I only have 2 negative comments regarding food at the resort: sushi and any cold seafood salads should be kept really cold at all times and they need to get a little better w/ coffee service for breakfast. This place is massive and they have shops in every resort here. The tulum complex has a hacienda where there are tons of shops. We never left the resort and I'm sure you can get cheaper things off resort. The nightly entertainment was typical but better than most until you see the Michael Jackson show-wow! This guy's face has been surgically altered to look like MJ and he danced/imitated MJ so well it was a bit creepy! But that show was really great!!! And before each show there is an area where they do Latin dancing outdoors and this was very popular. It's like an outside small disco and with a tropical breeze, authentic music and a Bahia Principe (house drink) in your hand...paradise! Yes, there are many workers here that do not speak english and if they do it's very little. But they will bend over backwards to accomodate and the language barrier was never,ever an issue. I've been in other resorts where the workers have long forgotten how lucky they are to be employed and are downright arrogant or just ignore you. This is not the place for that!! I was nervous to travel to Mexico but those fears are squashed. Common sense people. Again, fabulous experience and will most definitely be back again...and again...and again..............

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbandcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear 'jbandcorn',

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience! I do really appreciate your comment as your feedback helps us to continously improve.

Please let me inform you that we already implemented several language courses into our education program. Furthermore I will make sure that our Chef Monsieur Jean Luc will be informed about your concern in regard to the cold food, so he can show response and react immediately.

Please feel free to get in touch with me anytime if there is anything I can do for you. It will be an honor to welcoming you here again!

Have a fantastic day,

Yours Sincerely,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager
Gran Bahia Principe Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Terrible service all around. People masturbating in the pools and staff doing nothing about it even after asking them. Food got very tiring at the Buffett as it was the same spread night after night. No one was eager to serve you even after tipping. Pool stop circulating after 5pm and we shed a employee why and they Dave no answer. Pools were terribly under circulated and filtered for the load. Pool hAd a disgusting yellow tinge to them at all times. Stay away from this resort. Rumor has it is under new management and it shows!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 123google123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was my third time traveling to the GBP Coba to teach Zumba with Rita Sark. Each time just continues to get better. The minute you arrive at the resort you are made to feel like family. The grounds are so well maintained and the staff are some of the hardest working people you'll ever meet. It feels like home whenever I arrive. We taught Zumba twice daily and the sports and entertainment staff were always ready to join in to help us get the crowd into it. We were able to get great crowds and repeat guests who joined in regularly. We met so many wonderful people. The sports and entertainment staff were absolutely wonderful to work with and so good at their jobs. Bow Wow was always able to capture the attention of the guests with his great personality. The DJ Pedro is so talented and was a pleasure to work with. After two weeks, I was not ready to come home. It is always a wonderful experience and it gets bigger and better each year. This year, we had 20 people from our hometown join us and we hope that doubles even triples next year. I love this resort so much and the people who work there.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank Julesw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear 'Jules',

On behalf of the entire Gran Bahia Principe Coba family, I would like to say 'Thank you' for sharing your comments and for informing us about your stay.

Please be ensured that I will forward your words on to our Sports & Entertainment Manager who will then appreciate the work of Ms. Rita and Dj Pedro.

Please feel free to contact us anytime as we will be honored to welcoming you here again,

I wish you all the best,

Yours Sincerely,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager Premier
Gran Bahia Principe Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

They really rolled out the red carpet for us this time with a fruit basket and a bottle of sparkling in the room. It was a great another stay.

This stay was better than the rest. Why? Weather in May was better than November. They have zumba classes now (twice a day) and my fiancee loves zumba. We got added room amenities (like slippers) because we were return guests. Our location was better.

People ask me why I have been to this resort three times in the last year and a half and here's what I tell them:
The food is awesome.
There are so many activities to do in the area (parks, cenotes, ruins, tours). Never a dull moment and I'm a scuba diver.
The staff is awesome, we love being recognized by those who we have built relationships with.
The beach is great, great snorkeling this trip.

Cons: Hmmm, we found a few dead cockroaches and the air con was a little non-existent...

Will we be back?
Definitely.
I am quite sure that for this price, I will never ever find better...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sekaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Dear 'sekaitraveller',

We would like to thank you for this feedback and for taking some of your valuable time to get back to us this way.

Please let me ask you get back to me via email and to inform me which room you have stayed in. Therefore I will be able to do some immediate follow-up.

Please do not hesitate to contact for me anything, anytime. We will be honored to welcomeing you again at our Gran Bahia Principe Coba,

My kindest regards,

Yours Sincerely,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager Premier
Gran Bahia Principe Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My Husband and I just got back from a 5 night 6 day vacation at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba. We had a total amazing time! I highly reccomend booking through EXPEDIA. When booking with Expedia you are upgraded to Gold status. We were waited on Hand and foot, especially when they seen our gold wristbands. We went for our Anniversary. I emailed guest services 2 weeks prior to our arrival (highly reccommend) I made all of our A La Cart Reservations (with the gold, you get an extra dinner) , asked some general questions, and let them know that we were coming there for our Anniversary. They sent a huge beautiful flower arrangement to our room the evening of our Anniversary and another bottle of Champagne (when we first got to our room after check out, there was the first bottle in our room). The service we received was top notch!! The resort was beautiful. We never left the resort, there is so much to do there, we didn't even see everything the resorts have to offer. We had 4 A La Cart dinners, they were fabulous! We both absolutely loved the selection of all the different types of foods, so tasty! Loved having a 24 hour snack bar. The drinks were wonderful! We will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Don't listen to any bad reviews bout this resort, I'm not an easy person to please, everything about our hotel was fantastic. the staff were the friendliest I've ever come across, the resort was very clean and well kept. The food was good considering its all inclusive and the resturants are easy to get into, the brazilian resturant was the best. The beach at Coba and Akamul are the best, the beach at Tulum is rocky and so is the sea. we stayed at Coba, and had a junior suite with champayne and a bowl of fruit on arrival, and our room was very clean and nicely decorated our bathroom was huge, we also had a pool view. We considered ourselves really lucky!!!!! The pools in each resort had a noisy pool and a quiet pool with wet bars. Every evening there was a show at 10pm, and the cocktails are amazing and loads of choice. also kids loved the non alcoholic ones. My partner drank the beer and said it was good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sexylegs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
4.3 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
4.4 km away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 23 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
350 reviews
1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: C$171 - C$370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing