We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Coba. We used Trip Advisor reviews to pick the resort. It was my 2nd trip to Mexico and my husbands 1st. Overall we loved the resort but found had a few beefs as well.

Air Transat out of Toronto was terrific. Flight was on time and the meal was really good, especially for airline food. We had no problem going through customs at the airport and we could easily spot our Transat Vacation reps outside the terminal for our bus. It was a long bus ride to the resort approx 1 hr 45 but it was a comfortable air conditioned coach. The only other stop was the Barcelo resort along the way. The bus dropped us off at the main lobby at the Coba resort and we were quickly whisked away in a golf cart to the Royal Golden lobby for check in. I highly recommend upgrading to Golden. Loved the bathrobes and slippers and our room in building 2A is closest to the beach. The bartender Jorge in the Golden lobby is great and we had a drink there each night before dinner.

DRINKS at this place are not watered down in the least. In fact we found it the opposite and a couple of times we couldn't drink them they were so strong. My go to fave were the Pina Coladas (try the Miami Vice at the quiet pool bar too). Watch out for Jorge at the Golden lobby cause he loves to get you to do Tequila shots!!

The CLEANLINESS of this place was astounding. I mean not a piece of garbage anywhere and the gardening crew were constantly cutting down any yellowing palm branches. The gounds are beautiful...very impressive. We couldn't stop taking pictures of the place it was so pretty! There was always someone sweeping, wiping or mopping everywhere you looked too!

Our ROOM was on the 3rd floor and really clean and spacious. We met some fellow Canadians (we Canadians overrun the place lol) who said they woke to find someone going through their luggage at 2am. He was spooked and ran out the sliding doors. They were on the ground floor so I suggest 2nd or 3rd. We tipped our maid $2/day and she did a great job. We had towel art on our bed 4 days which was fun! Our mini bar was always stocked with pop, XXX beer, bag of chips and a snickers bar! Yes, the bed was hard but we managed to sleep really well on it!

The SERVICE whether at the restaurants or bars was incredible. We would pick a table at the
buffet and within a minute someone was there to greet us with water and offer a cocktail! The service is something that really stood out to us!

We had some issues with the food. I'm not a picky eater so I managed to find lots at the buffet to eat...in fact I gained about 10 lbs last week. My husband on the other hand survived on chicken strips and fruit. Our favorite a la carte was LE GOURMET and my husband loved all of his dinner and dessert. He had a raspberry flambe he's still talking about! We also had a show table at the Japanese restaurant MIKADO which was fun. The food was pretty good but I swear the "Filet" was stewing beef. We hated the Italian restaurant PORTOFINO. Oh, except the mushroom soup, it was awesome but the rest we had was inedible (cannelonni and pork tenderloin). We cancelled our 4th a la carte in favor of the Kukulkan buffet. They have a huge selection. The snack bars are just ok. I had a really sketchy looking hot dog one day that had black marks on it. I thought it was just grill marks until I realized they were boiled not grilled! I was quite disturbed! I'm not saying the food is horrible, just not what a 5 star should be.

If you want a lounge chair at the POOL you have to get there by 6:30 to reserve it. On our last day the manager came around and asked us when we last saw someone using the reserved chairs next to us. If they hadn't been there within the hour then the towels were removed. So if you do reserve a spot and you get there later in the day and there are other people there it was likely management who cleared the way! I'd reserve a spot at the quiet pool at 6 and go there right after breakfast.

The beach was nice, only a 5 min walk for us from our room. Any time of day there were always chairs available, we sometimes had to walk a bit but the further you get from the music the more chairs there were.

This resort is huge but there was always a tram going by which we could hop on if we wanted but mostly we walked everywhere. If you forget anything at home you can certainly find it in one of the dozens of shops on the resort. We spent 2 hours shopping one day at the Hacienda. You can even buy luggage!!

The wildlife on the resort was amazing. We saw deer, coatis, and iguanas every day. If you are deathly afraid of Iguanas or lizards, stay away cause they are everywhere! They are like little statues though so you can easily snap a picture!

All in all we had a wonderful time. It's great value for your money and the resort is spectacular except for the food.

Room Tip: Don't do ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonnabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,282
    3,626
    1,284
    420
    300
See reviews for
4,572
5,385
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,574)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Bahia-principe akumal is fabulous. Pay the extra to saty in club golden right on the beach buildinds 65,66,67 building 65 has more views at night due to looking out partially on resort . Make sure you reserve your dinners by e mailing the resort. Trams take u everywhere safe for kids and teens
E mail is pramx3@bahia-principe.com look online for restaurants at coba, akumal, tulim favorites are dolce vita, arlequin,mediterraniano so far trying Pescador tonight 8 diff ones if u dont reserve all that isleft is 10 pm seating

Will send longer review when i get home

We travel alot and this resort tops the list as far as friendly and helpful who work here nothing is too much trouble Carlos and Javier at the club golden are great!

Room Tip: Club golden or if you have kids 47 building right in heart of things akumal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family1Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I don't usually write reviews but I would have to say this is one of the best resorts I have stayed in. I travelled down end of February for a week and the weather was wonderful, cloudy the last couple of days but still warm! Gran Bahia Principe Coba is where my friend and I stayed and had an amazing time. The Al a carts were wonderful, especially the Japenese restaurant. We were fully entertained my the amanination team daily at the main pool and they involved everyone. The barbeque they had at the pool daily for lunch was Amazing.... The staff was very friendly and accomadating. The nightly entertainment kept me always entertained. The staff at the Coba snack bar (ANDRE) was the best. He got to know us and he would bring out our drinks when he noticed we were in need of another drink. This resort was very clean, and relaxing even it being a huge resort. The people mover was always fun to ride on, the drivers always smiling.... We had a lot of tours to choose from as well. I would highly reccommend this resort to anyone. Great job to everyone at this resort!
Thanks for an amazing Vacation. Cindy F

Room Tip: top floors if you can handle stairs because you don't get all the traffic walking by....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just came back from a week long trip. This resort is one of the best I have been to, it was our first time in Mexico and we really enjoyed this trip.
The resort is very clean and the staff are very friendly, helpful and pleasant.. Everything we asked for was taken care of. The rooms were good. The pools are great and extremely clean. There are a variety of restaurants which we enjoyed dinners at. The buffet is big and has a good selection of food. The beach is very clean with different kinds of entertainment available throughout the day. The shows at night were entertaining and fun with. The crowd was a mix of families, couples and young people. There is something to enjoy for everyone.
There is no reason why anyone should complain about this resort. Travelling into and out of the resort was easy with the help of the staff and we did an excursion to Coba which we enjoyed a lot. I can keep talking about how good everything about this resort is, don't hesitate to go here. Overall this was a great place to be at and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinky1_2_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

we just arrived home from the gran bahia principe coba last night. i would like to comment on a few things to help other travelers in their decision for considering this hotel.

when you book at the coba you are booking into one large resort that is 3 combined. the Gran bahia principe Riviera maya is 3 resorts; Akumal, Tulum & Coba. you can use all 3 facilities at any time no matter which resort you book with.

hotel is a 4 star
service is a 5 star
beach is a 2 star
pools are a 3.5 star

the hotel is lovely and clean. the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities. the food is very good, we've been to Cuba so food is important after that experience. staff is super helpful and the drinks flow freely.

the service was amazing. because there are 3 resorts combined, there is a lot of walking. the resort supplies trams to move you around with ease. these work great and we even had them drop us right at our villa on occasion. the key is to use the resort lobby's as the hubs to move through each resort. the restaurant staff are great, the bar staff as well. we had no issues with any staff member we encountered. everyone was happy, polite and friendly.

the beach....if you are going south for a beach holiday, pick a different resort. we have been to Veradero beach in Cuba and Bavaro beach in Punta cana. this resorts beach is not even close to those. little rocks, you need shoes. this beach is man made; there are man made barriers placed in the water to break the surf. this leaves small swimming areas that are shallow. the rest of the surf is big. i am a small guy and got knocked around. the beach seating is spread out and always full.

this is the biggest problem with this resort; there is not enough beach and pool seating!!! there are massive amounts of space, they could easily double their chair count. this would allow for a very less stressful beach and pool experience.

people get to the beach and pools very early(6 am) and place towels on chairs to claim them. if you do not have a towel on a pool lounger by 7 am you will not have a chair that day. chairs sit empty of bodies all day long, but there is a book and a towel on the empty chair so no one takes it. it is so frustrating and a holiday should not be that. we finally started getting up at 6 am placing our towels and going back to bed. who wants to be up at that time on holiday? we did not agree with this practice, but we had no choice if we wanted loungers. you will find loungers at the beach, but they are so far away from bathrooms, food and drinks that they are almost irrelevant.

the pools are beautiful and there are different types, quiet, activity, large and small. all were great and remember you can use all the pools at all the resorts.

all in all a nice holiday, met a lot of people, the staff is great, the grounds are beautiful, the food is good and the drinks flowed.

Room Tip: Tulum and Akumal are close to the beach. if you are staying at Coba, upgrade to Royal golden for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Going back to GBP Mexico in May, but, have stayed in Tulum both times, this year First Choice have allocated us to Akumal!! Want to know if anyone can advice us on location of rooms!!!!
We want to be fairly near restaurant for breakfast/ lunch, and fairly near pool, and if poss with a beach view!!! Lol, I know this is asking a lot, but if u dont ask u dont get!! Block 47 on the map looks good, please help??

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I travelled to this resort on Feb. 28/12 with my spouse, daughter and her boyfriend. This was our first time to this resort and our first time to the Mayan Riviera, we usually go to Cozumel. This resort is beautiful, if you just want to relax and enjoy the pool(s) there are several to chose from as you will have access to all resorts (tulum and akumel incl.) or if you prefer the beach, a short tram ride away you will find coba beach. The resort is very clean and very well maintained, the food is also very good and the buffet's are large so there is always lots to eat. If you enjoy a la carte's there are several to chose from although I would strongly advise to prebook your a la carte's before vacation as we found that they were booked solid up until 9:30 pm when we arrived, if you enjoy eating late this won't be a problem. Unfortunately the kids couldn't snorkel due to red flag so I was a little disappointed but in all fairness that's not the resort's fault. The pool bars are great and we spent quite a bit of time at the swim up bar, great bartenders and they are always willing to please with their own creations if you like to try different drinks...the mango tango is exceptionally good! The staff in general is very friendly and try to be accomodating, we did have an issue with the mini bar as it did not work and we requested four times to have it fixed and replenished, unfortunately is was not and that soured my husband. I should also forwarn that safe fees are not included in your package and I understand from other travellers that it was not included in the premium gold package either, so you will pay $5 per day but you will want one as people come and go from your room on a daily basis. The one irritating issue is the annoyance of the bahai staff of the "time shares", they constantly try to tell you that you have been given a free gift if you visit their new location, they also have access to your room and will leave little "presents" for you while your out. I found this to be bothersome and was not impressed that they had access to my room so I would advise after the maid has been in to put the do not disturb sign on your door unless of course this doesn't bother you. My other tip is to be at the pool(s) early to get loungers otherwise by 7 am they gone, this was also a bit annoying as there weren't enough loungers for the amount of people at the resort and several of us had issues with this, if you're a beach person this may not be an issue, we went down around 10:30 ish and were able to find some. Overall this is an amazing resort, lots of friendly people, both staff and other travellers, nightly entertainment at all resorts but the coba is the more happening place and the entertainment people are hilarious. I would definitely return again and would most definitely stay at the coba rather than tulum or akumel I just found it nicer but take into consideration there is no beach at coba and you must take the tram or a walk depending on your preference. Felt very safe here.

Room Tip: I requested adjoining rooms but did not receive them, we were next door to each other so not the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notahappycamper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1.0 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
13.9 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
44.0 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing