We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,827)
Filter reviews
14,827 results
Traveller rating
8,100
4,212
1,563
539
413
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,100
4,212
1,563
539
413
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbyplaya del carmensnack barquiet poolkids water parkakumal beachmain buffetmichael jackson showshow tableother resortsgreat resortactivity pool
Filter
Updating list...
5,480 - 5,485 of 14,827 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a very well run resort. Lots to do yet relaxing at the same time. The service and the food were excellent. The grounds are well kept and the resort is beautiful. It's not as big as some people have said, it's actually pretty easy to walk where you want but you can also take one of the many carts travelling everywhere in the resort. I found some staff were a little distant until they received a tip, but for the most part everyone was great. I will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnowStormRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Tripadivisor user,

We are very thankful to read your nice review. We appreciate that you chose us to spend your holidays.

It is really gratifying knowing that your stay was full of bliss and you enjoyed all the facilities during the stay. It was a pleasure for all our staff to host you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Eight of us travelled to the Grand Principe Coba from April 6-13 and in a short phrase…we had a great time.

Is this hotel perfect…no. But it has many great features.

Good includes clean large rooms, firm beds, better than average pillows. The grounds are lovely and picturesque and the shuttle buses are frequent.

The buffet is really good and the fact you can visit right across the grounds is fun and different. They have a swim up bar….albeit in some need of repair because the seats can cut you if you are not careful. Staff is friendly, accommodating and overall helpful.

On the downside is that it is far from the airport -- 90 minutes and about 45 from Playa del Carmen. It is also tremendously big. I’m also not a fan of taking the bus to the beach. There was a real lack of seating both at the pools and beach. If you weren’t out at either by 930, it was almost impossible to get a chair. You will read about the Priviledge Club pestering...and its really not bad. I kept telling them I was going home..that put them off me for a day. If you do get trapped in a meeting...one person I met was stuck with them for 3 hours!!

The ala cartes’ – with the exception of the Japanese – are nothing special. The casino lacks atmosphere. The lobby is comfortable and one hour free wi-fi a day is a nice touch.

Would I go back….probably not. And it has nothing to do with the facilities rather the size. I like a smaller, more intimate resort where you can get to know people a bit better.

For the price, it’s a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Steve,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your review about your stay with us. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We truly appreciate your nice comments about the good job our staff. We always do our utmost to make our guests feel at home. We are honored that we could fulfill your expectations.

We will review your suggestions since they are very important.

We would be honored to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were at the GBP Coba 5-12 April and thought the hotel was great except for 3 issues - the lying doormen, the lack of availability of the a la carte restaurants and the room reservation. There are signs posted in the lobby and in the Hacienda with the taxi rates to popular destinations, however every time we asked for a cab the doormen would quote us an inflated price. Each time I would point to the price list and show the actual price and they would always answer with "that's wrong". Needless to say we did not pay the higher price, but for a 5 star hotel you shouldn't have to put up with such blatant dishonesty. The a la cartes were all booked except for a 9:30pm seating in the Japanese restaurant - apparently you have to book before you arrive. We booked our trip 2 months prior and asked for a ground floor suite - didn't happen.

Room Tip: Near the lobby as the place is enormous.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schmeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We appreciate that you had shared your opinion about your stay with us. Thank you very much for trust us your holidays. We always do our best to make our guests comfortable.

We are really sorry regarding the issue that you described. Nevertheless, it is important to remark that they are third parties outside our enterprise and we are not linked to the prices and the information they give since they are in a public area and they have their own staff. However, we will send them your comments so that they actions.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Not much to add on this review from other's opinion. Honestly it is a great hotel and choice for anyone's vacations (for those that love to do few, get lot of sun, a bunch of food and great service) but the last mile is not complete. Considering that you live on a inclosed resort, that provides you with everything so you do not have to worry it is sad to notice that you have only 1 hour (continuous and once every day) of free internet you put everything in perspective. They choose to offer you tones of tequilla and bacon and eggs for "free" only to ask you for extra money to have access to the internet. Yes, this is a small detail, but marked our holidays as we were on 7 hour different zone from home and we had to go to the lobby to get 1 hour internet joice. More, I had to work for a few hour (access mails etc) and I found out they have no business center - not even paid. They offer me the possibility of renting a laptop, available on Tulum lobby, only to find out it was not available at that moment.
As for the rest, I only have to mention that this Hotel is far from the outdoor and neighbourhood villages. So, to get anywhere you have to take a taxi. Ar condition wasn't the best. Honestly not my favourite style.
But all in all, you get the best service hotel ever! No match for this client oriented service to my experience... Well, appart from internet service.

Room Tip: If you trave with kids go for the Coba rooms close to the slidder to swiming pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gordo_Galante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your opinion about your stay with us. We are happy that you had a good time here.

We are extremely sorry that some of our facilities did not meet with your full approval. We kindly inform you that our hotel and the internet service provider agreed this new policy which pretends to improve the internet speed and the service quality since our guests now have one free continuous hour of Premium internet whereas in the past, it was a standard internet service.
We would like to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful visit to the Gran Bahia Principe resorts on the Riviera Maya. We see lots of changes taking place which is common in such a large group of hotels and miss our old friends but also made new friends. The music in the hotel is a lovely addition in the lobby in the evening. The food is alwaiys good and lots of choices. Transportation was wonderful for us as a family as getting to the beach or to another location within the resorts was taken care of by Geraldo and his "bell boys" all of whom were wonderful, The whole area is spotless, gardens, pools inspected regularly, lobbies, buffets. All staff are very respectful and eager to please and one is greeted with smiles all day long . We continually are surprised at how the staff from the bottom jobs to the top seem to be so positive when they greet you and yet the minimum pay is low, and we should always remember that and tip them although the service does not change, we as a family feel better about helping them to provide for their families as they all have young families. We have returned many many times to these hotels at the Coba, Akumal,Tulum and Sian Kaan and all have excellent facilities and entertainment Coba specializing in families because of the new waterpark addition for children. Akumal and Tulum on the beach, and Sian Kaan being an adult resort on the golf course. We will return again many times we hope and again thank you to all our waiters too many to mention and to our managers for ensuring that our bookings were all taken care of and ensured that we had a wonderful 50th wedding anniversary celebration. THANK YOU!! from Rehona, Jack, Heather and friend.

Room Tip: . We prefer bottom floor because stairs are a problem for me. No problems with that choice and we loved our location. Everything was lovely in our room near all the action. and we had a lovely sunny patio to dry our suits etc. We even saw Mickey Mouse coming and going as well as some other fantastic cartoon characters..
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rehona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Rehona,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Your comments make us keep on doing our best every day since our aim is to make our guests feel comfortable.

We are glad we fulfilled your expectations and you appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees.

We look forward to welcome you back to provide you with an enjoyable experience,

Warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels on the Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews