We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We keep going back to Coba (this was the third time). I went to few other resorts on Maya Riviera but this one has it all. For the price you pay, you get the most.It's not perfect but where is it (in this price range) ? Not very fond of the noisy AC which may pose some trouble for some people (we had to turn it off over the night, we only left the fan and it was OK).
But other than that ? Very clean and tidy grounds, very good food, great beach, an awesome bartender on the Coba beach ( Jose, many greetings ! ).
When we went there, the general manager of the resort himself came down from his "ivory tower" and was the main attraction of the entertainment team !!! Hands down the most popular GM I've ever seen...And the most energetic dancer...:)
Again, we'd considered other destinations (like Cuba, Dominican, Jamaica) but we read all kind of "not-so-great" reviews that we'd decided it was safer to go back to Coba. And we'll keep going...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silviu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Silviu,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to share you kind review with us. It is great that your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts were amazing.

The best reward is to read that our guests are thankful for the effort that we make every day. Our staff is delighted to receive your greetings.

We would be honored to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,943 - 4,949 of 14,083 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a very well run resort. Lots to do yet relaxing at the same time. The service and the food were excellent. The grounds are well kept and the resort is beautiful. It's not as big as some people have said, it's actually pretty easy to walk where you want but you can also take one of the many carts travelling everywhere in the resort. I found some staff were a little distant until they received a tip, but for the most part everyone was great. I will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnowStormRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Tripadivisor user,

We are very thankful to read your nice review. We appreciate that you chose us to spend your holidays.

It is really gratifying knowing that your stay was full of bliss and you enjoyed all the facilities during the stay. It was a pleasure for all our staff to host you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Eight of us travelled to the Grand Principe Coba from April 6-13 and in a short phrase…we had a great time.

Is this hotel perfect…no. But it has many great features.

Good includes clean large rooms, firm beds, better than average pillows. The grounds are lovely and picturesque and the shuttle buses are frequent.

The buffet is really good and the fact you can visit right across the grounds is fun and different. They have a swim up bar….albeit in some need of repair because the seats can cut you if you are not careful. Staff is friendly, accommodating and overall helpful.

On the downside is that it is far from the airport -- 90 minutes and about 45 from Playa del Carmen. It is also tremendously big. I’m also not a fan of taking the bus to the beach. There was a real lack of seating both at the pools and beach. If you weren’t out at either by 930, it was almost impossible to get a chair. You will read about the Priviledge Club pestering...and its really not bad. I kept telling them I was going home..that put them off me for a day. If you do get trapped in a meeting...one person I met was stuck with them for 3 hours!!

The ala cartes’ – with the exception of the Japanese – are nothing special. The casino lacks atmosphere. The lobby is comfortable and one hour free wi-fi a day is a nice touch.

Would I go back….probably not. And it has nothing to do with the facilities rather the size. I like a smaller, more intimate resort where you can get to know people a bit better.

For the price, it’s a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Steve,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your review about your stay with us. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We truly appreciate your nice comments about the good job our staff. We always do our utmost to make our guests feel at home. We are honored that we could fulfill your expectations.

We will review your suggestions since they are very important.

We would be honored to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were at the GBP Coba 5-12 April and thought the hotel was great except for 3 issues - the lying doormen, the lack of availability of the a la carte restaurants and the room reservation. There are signs posted in the lobby and in the Hacienda with the taxi rates to popular destinations, however every time we asked for a cab the doormen would quote us an inflated price. Each time I would point to the price list and show the actual price and they would always answer with "that's wrong". Needless to say we did not pay the higher price, but for a 5 star hotel you shouldn't have to put up with such blatant dishonesty. The a la cartes were all booked except for a 9:30pm seating in the Japanese restaurant - apparently you have to book before you arrive. We booked our trip 2 months prior and asked for a ground floor suite - didn't happen.

Room Tip: Near the lobby as the place is enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schmeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We appreciate that you had shared your opinion about your stay with us. Thank you very much for trust us your holidays. We always do our best to make our guests comfortable.

We are really sorry regarding the issue that you described. Nevertheless, it is important to remark that they are third parties outside our enterprise and we are not linked to the prices and the information they give since they are in a public area and they have their own staff. However, we will send them your comments so that they actions.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not much to add on this review from other's opinion. Honestly it is a great hotel and choice for anyone's vacations (for those that love to do few, get lot of sun, a bunch of food and great service) but the last mile is not complete. Considering that you live on a inclosed resort, that provides you with everything so you do not have to worry it is sad to notice that you have only 1 hour (continuous and once every day) of free internet you put everything in perspective. They choose to offer you tones of tequilla and bacon and eggs for "free" only to ask you for extra money to have access to the internet. Yes, this is a small detail, but marked our holidays as we were on 7 hour different zone from home and we had to go to the lobby to get 1 hour internet joice. More, I had to work for a few hour (access mails etc) and I found out they have no business center - not even paid. They offer me the possibility of renting a laptop, available on Tulum lobby, only to find out it was not available at that moment.
As for the rest, I only have to mention that this Hotel is far from the outdoor and neighbourhood villages. So, to get anywhere you have to take a taxi. Ar condition wasn't the best. Honestly not my favourite style.
But all in all, you get the best service hotel ever! No match for this client oriented service to my experience... Well, appart from internet service.

Room Tip: If you trave with kids go for the Coba rooms close to the slidder to swiming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gordo_Galante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your opinion about your stay with us. We are happy that you had a good time here.

We are extremely sorry that some of our facilities did not meet with your full approval. We kindly inform you that our hotel and the internet service provider agreed this new policy which pretends to improve the internet speed and the service quality since our guests now have one free continuous hour of Premium internet whereas in the past, it was a standard internet service.
We would like to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful visit to the Gran Bahia Principe resorts on the Riviera Maya. We see lots of changes taking place which is common in such a large group of hotels and miss our old friends but also made new friends. The music in the hotel is a lovely addition in the lobby in the evening. The food is alwaiys good and lots of choices. Transportation was wonderful for us as a family as getting to the beach or to another location within the resorts was taken care of by Geraldo and his "bell boys" all of whom were wonderful, The whole area is spotless, gardens, pools inspected regularly, lobbies, buffets. All staff are very respectful and eager to please and one is greeted with smiles all day long . We continually are surprised at how the staff from the bottom jobs to the top seem to be so positive when they greet you and yet the minimum pay is low, and we should always remember that and tip them although the service does not change, we as a family feel better about helping them to provide for their families as they all have young families. We have returned many many times to these hotels at the Coba, Akumal,Tulum and Sian Kaan and all have excellent facilities and entertainment Coba specializing in families because of the new waterpark addition for children. Akumal and Tulum on the beach, and Sian Kaan being an adult resort on the golf course. We will return again many times we hope and again thank you to all our waiters too many to mention and to our managers for ensuring that our bookings were all taken care of and ensured that we had a wonderful 50th wedding anniversary celebration. THANK YOU!! from Rehona, Jack, Heather and friend.

Room Tip: . We prefer bottom floor because stairs are a problem for me. No problems with that choice and we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rehona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Rehona,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Your comments make us keep on doing our best every day since our aim is to make our guests feel comfortable.

We are glad we fulfilled your expectations and you appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees.

We look forward to welcome you back to provide you with an enjoyable experience,

Warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels on the Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had a fun, relaxing week with family. Food was great, no shortage of drinks, sun was out, usually a nice breeze to cool you down a little, and beautiful lobbies, pools, restaurants and beach front.

With that said, this was my first all-inclusive, so without any other all-inclusives to compare it to, I would say there were some very noticeable improvements that could be made to the resort. To sum it up, it seemed as though the resort was too big for it's own good. By that I mean, there are so many amenities, services, restaurants, and activities included in the all-inclusive, but very few seemed to be exceptional or even adequate. It feels like the entire staff are spread so thinly, not everything promised gets done. Better to under promise and over produce, then over promise and under produce. Either expand staff or promise less.

While on vacation, I find it very difficult to complain about petty things like room cleanliness and staff friendliness. But looking back, housekeeping did not get done 3 out of the 6 days (we reported it after the second time), sometimes staff took 10-15 minutes to notice you and were often rushed and impatient, air-conditioning not working, and calling it 'Free Green Fees for Golfing', only to find out it is $90 for a mandatory golf cart. Again, I don't want to sound like a complainer but feel like these things should have been addressed and are important for you to understand.

At the right price, I would stay here again, knowing the little annoyances (not what I would call problems) should be expected.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott_keirstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank a lot for your comments about Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Our aim is to make our guests feel comfortable. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and you appreciated the service.

We would like to comment that the Golf Club is a third party outside our enterprise. However, we will forward your comments so that they take actions where is necessary.

Kind Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.3 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
4.4 km away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 22 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
8.6 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $172 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing