We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,903)
Filter reviews
14,903 results
Traveller rating
8,138
4,229
1,571
547
418
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,138
4,229
1,571
547
418
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier lobby cozumel buffet le gourmet a la cartes fish golden lobby playa del carmen snack bar quiet pool kids water park akumal beach main buffet michael jackson show show table other resorts great resort activity pool
Filter
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 14,903 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Just returned from a two week holiday – absolutely loved this place and cannot wait to go again. The staff are very friendly and happy and work so hard all day long. We did have a couple of problems within our room with the air con and the toilet but telephoned the lobby and on both occasions someone had arrived within five minutes and then resolved the issues very efficiently.
The internal transport is excellent; we didn’t have to wait long for one of the buggies to take us to the beach or the Hacienda. The Hacienda is fabulous with great entertainment; the Day of the Dead Festival was very good.
There is plenty of food choice within the hotel at the main restaurant and snack bars, my only negative comment would be that on quite a few occasions the food wasn’t hot. The on-site restaurants were great – we visited the Japanese and the Brazilian and enjoyed both very much.
The pools areas were great and the water park for the children is amazing – this did have to close while we were there which I can imagine was disappointing for some guests with children.
The beach was great and staff are collecting rubbish, cups, etc. all day long to keep it very tidy. They also have food on the beach on certain days which was delicious.
Overall had a fab time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SS1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking time to express your comments about your stay with us.

Thank you for letting us know your observation regarding your experience, we always make our best to exceed our guests expectations!

Your evaluation is of special importance and please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed.


If you choose us again as your holiday destination it will be pleasure to serve you again in the best possible way. ; -)

Receive our warmest regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

The atmosphere of this hotel was incredible! So much amazing wildlife. Includes great pool and beach facilities. The food and drinks were delicious and the cocktails are especially recommended! We stayed for 2 weeks and still weren't ready to leave! The rooms were very clean and spacious with great views. A variety of different restaurants to visit so you can have a different themed meal every night. Very friendly staff and overall amazing hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team we want to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination. We appreciate your preference. Thank you for taking from your valuable time to share the positive aspects of the hotel.

The suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service.

We all hope to welcome you back very soon, to pamper you as you deserve.

Kindest Regards from Mexico,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Well i guess this will be a long review but I will try and remain un biased.

First impression nice hotel big very clean very large hotel complex. Arrive at hotel after being in a van with one other group so only one stop. Bassically it was just over an hour to get there. If i had to guess about 100km drive. Keep in mind use the bathroom before you go.

Check in was really quick had all our reservations setup and was a breeze. Didnt have to wait in a line so was nice. Gave us a map of resort and times of restaurants and all that stuff. Keep in mind safe isnt provided unless you ask for lock and key at a rate of 5$ usd per day. But its almost a must with passports and wallets and such. Bellboy took our bags upon arrival. We were told of location of our room and our bags would arrive shortly. Found our room pretty quickly and easliy located and marked.

Room : Upon arrival we go the family junior suite so we had already had 2 extra beds setup for us which I will say wasnt expected at all. If we knew that we wouldve asked for a King bed but instead we got 2 doubles ( not queens). Kids had a welcome package of candy in the fridge extra drinks for them and even a kids size robe and slippers. Bed were really nice actually I slept good on them never had an issue. We had a room ( 32032) right by water park and main pool but faced the main highway. As long as door was closed never heard traffic. Nice location as it was close to lobby and pools. Only 2 issues were we had found some tiny bugs crawling around next to bed so kids got scared took my double bed. Not a big deal as its only expected in a hot humid part of the world. Next no drain plug for a jetted tub? Thought it was kinda weird asked front desk for one they said no we dont have drain plugs. My kids like to bath and well now forced to shower was a dissapointment. Otherwise bathroom was nice and large fridge stocked daily.

Beach : For me biggest let down. I understand its Nov. and weather is a little more unpredictable than Jan or Feb. but they did have a roped off area to break the waves. Everyday had a red flag other than this area so going to this the water was murky couldnt see your hand infront of you while trying to snorkel. But part I didnt like was how there were largeish rocks in the sand just in the water making it hard to walk. If you go bring water shoes as you will need em. In total of entire stay of 6 days we only spent 2 hrs at the beach. Ive been to Puerto Vallarta, Punta Cana, Varadero, and Cayo Santa Maria and even though I really prefer white sand I would rather have Pacific sand this was a waste of my time and effort to swim in. Was nice to look at though.

Food : We only at the buffet as its just easier with kids. Lots of options and we have picky eaters for kids but they could usually find something they like. Never had an issue sometimes just warm food but taste was good. But I will say first time ever going on a vacation and never having one person have a stomach issue. Well done Bahia.
service was good, some nights Id rather just get my own drinks but can be busy. Just alot of tables for staff to service but kudos to them for working so hard.

Entertainment : As for evening shows best I've seen at an all inclusive resort they work really hard at what they do. But I will say the shows in the theater are too loud for kids and almost annoyingly too loud. Turn it down 1 notch and should be good, just a good thing Im half deaf.

Pools : We pretty much used the main pool at the Coba for our stay. Had lots going on was clean and good size. We used the "other" pool at the Coba was nice but seemed like it was more of a quiet pool but both had swim up bars which was nice. One small let down that worked in the end was the kids water park. Was once of the deciding factors into trying this hotel was the waterpark. When we arrive it was still under construction was showing to be done Nov 1 we arrive Nov 5. It was finished on our 2nd to last day. Kudos to the men and women working very hard to finishing it and working till 9pm every day. Kids really enjoyed it and its location was perfect.

Getting around : First off this hotel and complex is massive. You can walk to get around but trust me you will use the bus system. Was actually alot better than I expected ran frequently. I was impressed on how many buses they used so cant complain at all. Most waits were approx 5 min. One downside..... vacationers can be so rude and even behave like children. Example. Im a family of 4 with 2 kids age 8 and 5 when a bus pulls up they run and I mean run even if your infront of the line to budge infront even we have young kids and then try and take a whole row of seats for 2 even though 4 fit. So yeah was annoyed with some people on how rude they are.

Overall : Huge resort, for me I like a smaller hotel but wanted to try something different. Service was good and people working hard to make sure your trip is a good one. Other than a couple small and minor issues was a great place. If you are counting on a nice swim in the ocean yeah didnt work for us. But food was plentiful and lots of choices. Bars werent too backed up so drinks didnt take long. I enjoyed my stay and so did the family.

Room Tip: look at a map before you go and request your location, this is a huge place try and get what works for you
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doobiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking time to express your comments about your stay with us.

Thank you for letting us know your observation regarding your experience, we always make our best to exceed our guests expectations!

Your evaluation is of special importance and please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed.


If you choose us again as your holiday destination it will be pleasure to serve you again in the best possible way. ; -)

Receive our warmest regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

So we travel twice a yr somewhere hot, just so you have an idea if we know what we are talking about. So first off this hotel by bus is 2 hours from the hotel. Which really was not fun after all day flying. Then when you get there let the line ups for the trip begin. Gold club has a separate lobby to check in which you have to take a trolly to. But however are not told that until well waiting in line for 1/2 hour first. Then are told oh no you can’t make dinner reservations today. Come stand in the public relations line in the morning. So in the morning then expect to stand in line for 1 hour and a half to get told. Oh yah I know the gold you paid for status is guaranteed reservations but we only have room at the crappy ones at 10 pm. I have a 6 yr old so that went over really well. For tonight or the whole week only. Oh the whole week we have no Japanese show at all and the Brazil one either. So if your going here make sure you reserve before coming or enjoy 7 days of buffet that never changes food. Same food almost every day we had to eat. Pool was really nice size and kids splash park too. But no chorine in the pool so bring ear plugs to avoid ear infections. Yep there is a doctor in the shopping centre. Which we needed because of it. To get money changed it is the same line as the checkout and bill paying Lines. So yep more lines to wait. To get drinks at the pool and Bar were always Lines to wait in. The wifi is very slow and hardly works. So by some minutes on your phone. The lobby is full everyday of people trying to connect to it.
As for rooms, the previous reviews are correct. After 3 room moves this was evidence the air conditioning was pritty much non existent in all the rooms. The fan may save you. But not until you climatize. The gold room and reserve club are the farthest room from the lobby, building 30 A is a good one. Top floor If you don’t want to hear people above your head. Beds are hard! And kids get a tiny bed on the couch. Drinks were great in the lobby and yuck everywhere else. Spent almost a full day waiting in lines all over I’m sure. Very big resort with lots of people. So expect lines and waiting. Not our favourite fore sure. Gold club was not worth the extra money.. we didn’t even get anything till day 3 from them. Slippers, robes etc. And you can’t do anything in that lobby like book dinner pay for things you billed to your room there. So why bother being in Gold! Don’t waste your money. We will not go back here, there is a lot better hotels with more service oriented goals around.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank sunfunandservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments about your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, Riviera Maya!

We are very concerned about the discomfort you felt for some of our services; we really thank you for letting us know your valuable observations and we sincerely regret for have not met your expectations, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us.

We have sent this information to every Department involved so necessary measures can be taken to guarantee our guest's satisfaction.

We hope you give us a second chance to restore your confidence in our resort, it would be wonderful to host you again.

Kind regards!

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Nice resort. Very professional staff. Clean and spacious. Rooms are a bit outdated. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby. You could upgrade to a higher range of frequency but let's be honest. That's clearly a money trap. It's really not that serious...if you're on vacation or a getaway. Turning off the internet. And spending every minute at the beach or the pool is why I went to Cancun. The buffet table is just like any other buffet. Plenty choices. The Bravia resort in the Dominican Republic in my opinion has a better sense of hospitality. The staff at this one seem a bit overworked. Tip them well...enjoyed the trip �

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments about your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, Riviera Maya!

We are very concerned about the discomfort you felt; we thank you for letting us know your observations and we sincerely regret for have not met your expectations, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us.

We have sent this information to every Department Involved so necessary measures can be taken to guarantee our guest's satisfaction.

We hope you give us a second chance to restore your confidence in our resort, it would be wonderful to host you again.

Kind regards!

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews