We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,895)
Filter reviews
14,895 results
Traveller rating
8,134
4,228
1,571
545
417
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,134
4,228
1,571
545
417
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier lobby cozumel buffet le gourmet a la cartes fish golden lobby playa del carmen snack bar quiet pool kids water park akumal beach main buffet michael jackson show show table other resorts great resort activity pool
Filter
Updating list...
848 - 853 of 14,895 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

My family just returned from Gran Bahia Principe Coba a few days ago. Great service, very friendly staff, great bar tenders. I've seen bad reviews on rooms and air conditioners, but ours was clean and the air worked perfectly. We did have privilege status, and the areas we were able to use on the beach were great, and the privilege beach bar seemed to have better drinks. Our a la carts were great, but book your dinners on the first day, or they fill quickly. I recommend the Japanese show, and Brazilian, yet the seafood one was great too. There are several pools throughout the resort that we tried a different one each day. There are several shows each night at the 4 lobbies, so make sure you get a schedule of events when you check in

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank birdiegirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team we want to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination. We appreciate your preference. Thank you for taking from your valuable time to share the positive aspects of the hotel.

The suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service.

We all hope to welcome you back very soon, to pamper you as you deserve.

Kindest Regards from Mexico,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

We returned home from Coba yesterday after our second visit. This time our daughter, son in law and grandson joined us for their first resort vacation. We recommended this resort as it is very family friendly and has a wonderful children’s pool. Unfortunately we found out on arrival that the children’s pool was closed for maintenance. They worked very hard on it and it reopened in time for our grandson to enjoy it.
The staff are the stars of this resort, service is excellent and friendly. Some standout staff I would like to mention. Jose our breakfast server in the buffet always made us feel special. His folded leaf artwork, flowers for the ladies and friendly service is outstanding. Elana in the snack bar for lunch, your beautiful smile and attentive service always made us feel like family.
Initially my husband and I were unhappy with our room assignment as it was far from our daughters family, and far from the pools and lobby. We asked for a change of rooms and ended up right where we wanted to be.
We enjoyed our a la carte meals, but found the main buffet repetitive and the hot food was often cold. We enjoyed the smaller buffet at the snack bar for lunch much more than the main buffet.
Our room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.
The only complaint I have is that the one loud, belligerent family who were perpetually drunk was not dealt with harshly by management. The acts of their teenage children while at the children’s pool endangered all of the children there. They yelled and fought while walking through the resort at all hours, and the men loudly catcalled all the women, while the woman was passed out puking in an ashtray around the pool. This kind of behavior should not be tolerated at a family resort, or anywhere. This in way reflects on the clientele in general, most guests were very nice families.
We would recommend this resort for families, the ground are amazing with lots of wildlife and greenery. Once the trollies are figured out, it’s easy to get around. There are activities and shows for all ages. The drinks are good, and food is fine. We had a lovely, fun time, thank you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments and positive feedback regarding our hotel and services, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we truly hope our services have being up to your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your timely observations regarding the better options for some travellers, be sure that we endeavor to take care of all kind of guests and make them feel comfortable.

We also have taken note of every detail you have mentioned in your for been revised with those departments involved.

Thus, our sister resorts will be glad to welcome you or them in the future, as much as we will. Thank you for your visit and we wish you a great day!

Kind Regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the resort last week, Nov 6 - Nov 13.

The main reason we booked this hotel was kids pool. Sure enough, it was closed five days out of seven we were there. No explanation, no apologies. Even our West Jet did not compensate us for it ( we booked through them). Ultimately, my kid never had experience in a pool.

Absolutely no care from people working there. We received no towels cards, no explanation about resort, nothing. When we checked out, they gave me a piece of paper with no explanation what it was for. Apparently, it had to be presented before you go on a bus.

Our fridge was filled on every second day and only if we left tips on, otherwise we will only get water.

It took me two days to arrange laundry to be done. I asked for a hat for my kid ( which we get upon arrival and lost it), they told me it is on it is way. Never received it.

Food was good. We loved 7:30pm entertainment! Live music was great.

We ate mostly in buffet and more than once we would not get coffee or water, because servers were too busy or just did not pay attention.

At the end of the day, we still enjoyed our vacation but will never go back into this resort.


Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Steig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded February 16, 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments about your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, Riviera Maya!

We are very concerned about the discomfort you felt about the service you mentioned; we really thank you for letting us know your valuable observations and we sincerely regret for have not met your expectations, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us.

We have sent this information to every Department involved so necessary measures can be taken to guarantee our guest's satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

We had a great visit! Jose in the main dining room upper middle in the morning was so sweet he made us feel so welcome and made us beautiful little treasures each day. Elena in the snack bar was fantastic and remembered us and what out preferences were from day one. She interacted with my son and is just wonderful! Out last day she wrote "bienvenido" on our table in flower petals. Pools are fantastic beach was lovely. A la carte was great. The food on the main buffet could be hotter but we had great luck with the mini lunch buffet at the snack bar always being hot and tasty. Yes you have to take a trolley to the beach but they come very frequently so it really isn't so inconvinient. Kids pool was closed for a few days of our visit but they worked tirelessly to get it open again. Stuff happens, they did their best to get it up and going as quickly as possible. The grounds are beautiful and spotless. Meticulously maintained and everyone was so helpful and welcoming. I recommend breakfast buffet with Jose and snack bar lunch with Elena everyday and a la carte as often as you can for supper. Portefino filet superb. Japanese tapenaki excellent. Mexican restaurant flank steak is tasty.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Mason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and choosing our hotel to spend your holiday!

Thank you for mentioning our staff, they have already received your congratulations. Our mission is to exceed our guest´s expectations and we are glad to know that we accomplished this goal with you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, it will be wonderful to say hello to you again!

Our best regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

This was my second visit, the first was with children this was a adult only with my sister and her husband, it was our wedding anniversary 2 days after our arrival and on our door on arrival was a banner and balloon and a bottle of champagne inside. Our check in was swift and we were soon in our large, comfy room, the beds are so comfortable. Food:- I defy anyone not finding something tasty to eat, from seafood, every night, roast meats, lamb, beef, pork, chicken, to pasta station, sushi, salads, burgers, chips, mashed potato, vegetables, salads, breads etc. I do agree that somethings could be hotter but there is a microwave to use. The waiters were swift in bringing cool water and taking drinks orders and coming back many times to replenish our drinks, always with a smile. In fact drinks everywhere ,around the adult only spar pool where you had a bar the barman came around to your sunbed and took orders, even when you were sitting in the pool drinks were brought to you, and they were large drinks. The pools are huge, and the main one noisy but there are others that are quiet and relaxing, so something for everyone. Pool towels can be changed in varies places and also on the beach, the beach is beautiful, no sea weed at all, last time there were loads and the men were constantly clearing it away. The beach is always being cleaned, raked and empty plastic beakers collected. You can eat on the beach as well in the Tullum, the pool and beach snack bars do not only offer burgers, pizza but a good variety of hot food, salad, fruit and ice creams, waiter service also for drinks. To get to the beach you take the road train, takes about 5 minutes, but I feel adds to the overall fun of the holiday, the drivers are polite and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and a credit to the staff, The shows in the evening are really good, from Lion King, circus, dance, to groups such as Jersey Boys, to listen or dance.. WFI, not good, 1 hour free in lobby is poor, should be free all day and in many areas. Safe, should be free in a 5 star hotel. I would recommend this holiday and hopefully will return as it represents a great deal for the price paid.

Room Tip: all good as vast grounds and many pools
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank baptistbev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our team we thank you for taking the time to put together the details of your vacation experience at Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

We really appreciate that you are taking the time to share us some valuable comments about your stay with us. The suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. ;- )

Our best regards from Mexico!

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews