We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2017

My husband and I stayed here for a week. It was our first time in the area and also our first time in an all-inclusive resort. It was about as good as it could get. We loved all the options for food (don't miss out on the Brazilian Steakhouse, Tortuga) and the ease of using their tram service. It took us a few days to get accustomed to the tram scheduling, but it worked. The bell boys were such a great help. We loved that it was about 90 minutes from the airport because it was secluded. We don't know if we'll return to the area as we don't like to repeat travels, but we would definitely stay again if we did.

Room Tip: Hotel is secluded enough to be away from city noise. Beautiful views from almost anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Coba once again !

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and we appreciate the time you took to share your experience.

Our entire team will be flattered by reading you had a great time among us and we all hope to welcome you back very soon, to pamper you as you only deserve.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again!

Kind regards from all the staff in Mexico,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 14,092 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

My family just returned from Gran Bahia Principe Coba a few days ago. Great service, very friendly staff, great bar tenders. I've seen bad reviews on rooms and air conditioners, but ours was clean and the air worked perfectly. We did have privilege status, and the areas we were able to use on the beach were great, and the privilege beach bar seemed to have better drinks. Our a la carts were great, but book your dinners on the first day, or they fill quickly. I recommend the Japanese show, and Brazilian, yet the seafood one was great too. There are several pools throughout the resort that we tried a different one each day. There are several shows each night at the 4 lobbies, so make sure you get a schedule of events when you check in

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank birdiegirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team we want to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination. We appreciate your preference. Thank you for taking from your valuable time to share the positive aspects of the hotel.

The suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service.

We all hope to welcome you back very soon, to pamper you as you deserve.

Kindest Regards from Mexico,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We returned home from Coba yesterday after our second visit. This time our daughter, son in law and grandson joined us for their first resort vacation. We recommended this resort as it is very family friendly and has a wonderful children’s pool. Unfortunately we found out on arrival that the children’s pool was closed for maintenance. They worked very hard on it and it reopened in time for our grandson to enjoy it.
The staff are the stars of this resort, service is excellent and friendly. Some standout staff I would like to mention. Jose our breakfast server in the buffet always made us feel special. His folded leaf artwork, flowers for the ladies and friendly service is outstanding. Elana in the snack bar for lunch, your beautiful smile and attentive service always made us feel like family.
Initially my husband and I were unhappy with our room assignment as it was far from our daughters family, and far from the pools and lobby. We asked for a change of rooms and ended up right where we wanted to be.
We enjoyed our a la carte meals, but found the main buffet repetitive and the hot food was often cold. We enjoyed the smaller buffet at the snack bar for lunch much more than the main buffet.
Our room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.
The only complaint I have is that the one loud, belligerent family who were perpetually drunk was not dealt with harshly by management. The acts of their teenage children while at the children’s pool endangered all of the children there. They yelled and fought while walking through the resort at all hours, and the men loudly catcalled all the women, while the woman was passed out puking in an ashtray around the pool. This kind of behavior should not be tolerated at a family resort, or anywhere. This in way reflects on the clientele in general, most guests were very nice families.
We would recommend this resort for families, the ground are amazing with lots of wildlife and greenery. Once the trollies are figured out, it’s easy to get around. There are activities and shows for all ages. The drinks are good, and food is fine. We had a lovely, fun time, thank you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments and positive feedback regarding our hotel and services, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we truly hope our services have being up to your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your timely observations regarding the better options for some travellers, be sure that we endeavor to take care of all kind of guests and make them feel comfortable.

We also have taken note of every detail you have mentioned in your for been revised with those departments involved.

Thus, our sister resorts will be glad to welcome you or them in the future, as much as we will. Thank you for your visit and we wish you a great day!

Kind Regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the resort last week, Nov 6 - Nov 13.

The main reason we booked this hotel was kids pool. Sure enough, it was closed five days out of seven we were there. No explanation, no apologies. Even our West Jet did not compensate us for it ( we booked through them). Ultimately, my kid never had experience in a pool.

Absolutely no care from people working there. We received no towels cards, no explanation about resort, nothing. When we checked out, they gave me a piece of paper with no explanation what it was for. Apparently, it had to be presented before you go on a bus.

Our fridge was filled on every second day and only if we left tips on, otherwise we will only get water.

It took me two days to arrange laundry to be done. I asked for a hat for my kid ( which we get upon arrival and lost it), they told me it is on it is way. Never received it.

Food was good. We loved 7:30pm entertainment! Live music was great.

We ate mostly in buffet and more than once we would not get coffee or water, because servers were too busy or just did not pay attention.

At the end of the day, we still enjoyed our vacation but will never go back into this resort.


Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Steig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments about your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, Riviera Maya!

We are very concerned about the discomfort you felt about the service you mentioned; we really thank you for letting us know your valuable observations and we sincerely regret for have not met your expectations, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us.

We have sent this information to every Department involved so necessary measures can be taken to guarantee our guest's satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We had a great visit! Jose in the main dining room upper middle in the morning was so sweet he made us feel so welcome and made us beautiful little treasures each day. Elena in the snack bar was fantastic and remembered us and what out preferences were from day one. She interacted with my son and is just wonderful! Out last day she wrote "bienvenido" on our table in flower petals. Pools are fantastic beach was lovely. A la carte was great. The food on the main buffet could be hotter but we had great luck with the mini lunch buffet at the snack bar always being hot and tasty. Yes you have to take a trolley to the beach but they come very frequently so it really isn't so inconvinient. Kids pool was closed for a few days of our visit but they worked tirelessly to get it open again. Stuff happens, they did their best to get it up and going as quickly as possible. The grounds are beautiful and spotless. Meticulously maintained and everyone was so helpful and welcoming. I recommend breakfast buffet with Jose and snack bar lunch with Elena everyday and a la carte as often as you can for supper. Portefino filet superb. Japanese tapenaki excellent. Mexican restaurant flank steak is tasty.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Mason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and choosing our hotel to spend your holiday!

Thank you for mentioning our staff, they have already received your congratulations. Our mission is to exceed our guest´s expectations and we are glad to know that we accomplished this goal with you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, it will be wonderful to say hello to you again!

Our best regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

This was my second visit, the first was with children this was a adult only with my sister and her husband, it was our wedding anniversary 2 days after our arrival and on our door on arrival was a banner and balloon and a bottle of champagne inside. Our check in was swift and we were soon in our large, comfy room, the beds are so comfortable. Food:- I defy anyone not finding something tasty to eat, from seafood, every night, roast meats, lamb, beef, pork, chicken, to pasta station, sushi, salads, burgers, chips, mashed potato, vegetables, salads, breads etc. I do agree that somethings could be hotter but there is a microwave to use. The waiters were swift in bringing cool water and taking drinks orders and coming back many times to replenish our drinks, always with a smile. In fact drinks everywhere ,around the adult only spar pool where you had a bar the barman came around to your sunbed and took orders, even when you were sitting in the pool drinks were brought to you, and they were large drinks. The pools are huge, and the main one noisy but there are others that are quiet and relaxing, so something for everyone. Pool towels can be changed in varies places and also on the beach, the beach is beautiful, no sea weed at all, last time there were loads and the men were constantly clearing it away. The beach is always being cleaned, raked and empty plastic beakers collected. You can eat on the beach as well in the Tullum, the pool and beach snack bars do not only offer burgers, pizza but a good variety of hot food, salad, fruit and ice creams, waiter service also for drinks. To get to the beach you take the road train, takes about 5 minutes, but I feel adds to the overall fun of the holiday, the drivers are polite and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and a credit to the staff, The shows in the evening are really good, from Lion King, circus, dance, to groups such as Jersey Boys, to listen or dance.. WFI, not good, 1 hour free in lobby is poor, should be free all day and in many areas. Safe, should be free in a 5 star hotel. I would recommend this holiday and hopefully will return as it represents a great deal for the price paid.

Room Tip: all good as vast grounds and many pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank baptistbev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our team we thank you for taking the time to put together the details of your vacation experience at Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

We really appreciate that you are taking the time to share us some valuable comments about your stay with us. The suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. ;- )

Our best regards from Mexico!

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Just returned from a two week holiday – absolutely loved this place and cannot wait to go again. The staff are very friendly and happy and work so hard all day long. We did have a couple of problems within our room with the air con and the toilet but telephoned the lobby and on both occasions someone had arrived within five minutes and then resolved the issues very efficiently.
The internal transport is excellent; we didn’t have to wait long for one of the buggies to take us to the beach or the Hacienda. The Hacienda is fabulous with great entertainment; the Day of the Dead Festival was very good.
There is plenty of food choice within the hotel at the main restaurant and snack bars, my only negative comment would be that on quite a few occasions the food wasn’t hot. The on-site restaurants were great – we visited the Japanese and the Brazilian and enjoyed both very much.
The pools areas were great and the water park for the children is amazing – this did have to close while we were there which I can imagine was disappointing for some guests with children.
The beach was great and staff are collecting rubbish, cups, etc. all day long to keep it very tidy. They also have food on the beach on certain days which was delicious.
Overall had a fab time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SS1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking time to express your comments about your stay with us.

Thank you for letting us know your observation regarding your experience, we always make our best to exceed our guests expectations!

Your evaluation is of special importance and please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed.


If you choose us again as your holiday destination it will be pleasure to serve you again in the best possible way. ; -)

Receive our warmest regards,

Geraldine Luna
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
4.3 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
4.4 km away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 23 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
351 reviews
1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $173 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing