We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,379)
Filter reviews
3,379 results
Traveller rating
1,893
873
373
153
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,893
873
373
153
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs the salt water pool fish el dorado a la carte restaurants colonial pool punta emilia travel club adult pool one bedroom suite beach bar kids club colonial buffet riviera section segway tour colonial kantenah pirate show
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 3,379 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family visited this resort for a wedding. We stayed for 7 days in the middle of August. There were a lot of key takeaways from our trip but what i'll focus on for this review will be layout, staff, cleanliness, food/booze quality, day/night time activities.

This resort is very large and hosts multiple hotels on the same premises. Since we stayed in the white sands this worked in our favor. The hotel lobby was tremendous and our room was positioned between WS and the colonial. the rest of our party decided to stay at the colonial and had no regrets. rooms were very similar. We shared all of the same restaurants and had access to the same pools. Everything is a 5-10 minute walk which is fine but be careful as the shuttles tend to speed down these same roads. the SPA/ gym was a bit further but was absolutely stunning.

the staff was mostly pleasant and enjoyable to be around. The front desk was somewhat cold and didn't offer the warm welcome we'd be expecting after traveling nearly 6 hours to get there. The gentlemen who drove the shuttles were extremely accommodating and always offered help with our stroller. Tip these guys and they'll be at your room in 5 minutes to take you anywhere. Bartenders just about everywhere were short staffed so expect to wait to get a drink by the pool or in one of the lobbies at night.

This resort was extremely clean. I was taken back by how immaculate everything was from the lobby, landscaping, our room, and especially each restaurant and buffet. They were constantly cleaning to make sure there was no food out or things were out of place.

As for the food selection, food in mexico is different than in the US so understand that before you get your hopes up. Make reservations if you can otherwise get there early put your name on the list and enjoy a drink while you wait. The buffets had a good selection that changed up daily. Be aware that they do not let you take food from the buffet. (this was an issue since our toddler was asleep by the pool and we wanted to bring him a snack since he missed lunch by the time he awoke). The lines to get into the buffet for breakfast and lunch were a little bit much having to wait 10-20 minutes to be seated each time. The booze was plenty and they offered Jameson and patron silver which is what we cared most about.

During the day the beach was 100% out of commission due to the excessive seaweed but the pools were large and fun. The colonial was very loud and busy making it hard to relax. This was family friendly and there is a kids pool/ water slides just a few feet from this pool. The white sands pool offered a more relaxing atmosphere and is also a little bit more shallow. (4 feet as opposed to the colonial which is 5 feet deep) both served their own purpose.

At night we mostly gathered at the colonial lobby since they would put on shows. attached to the lobby is a sports bar that offers a air conditioned escape. Otherwise the white party was fun and the wedding we attended was gorgeous. during the day people played beach volleyball and did pool aerobics.

I would go back to this resort if the beach was cleaned up but otherwise there weren't any indicators that stood out to me that differentiated this resort from other all inclusive's like it in different countries.

Room Tip: seek a room near the pool if that where you plan to spend most of your time.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank MGNYC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenia R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the details of your family vacations in our Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa in the Riviera Maya.

It was a pleasure welcoming all your family for this special wedding that we trust was truly beautiful.

We appreciate that you highlighted the cleanliness of our facilities, our entertainment options and we are so glad to know that the dine around experience was delicious while you enjoyed our wide gastronomic offer.

On the other hand, we regret that the presence of seaweed in our beach, which is an unpredictable natural phenomenon, affected your stay, despite our efforts to maintain it clean. Hopefully on your next visit to the Riviera Maya this situation improves, and we get the opportunity to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The resort is nice with good pool areas and public spaces. However, the food in this hotel is well below par in the buffet restaurants. My wife was ill for a couple of days and we heard similar stories from others. The food is luke warm and sometimes cold. In the sports bar the potato skins were totally hard and undercooked. The bar ran out of tonic water today which is unacceptable for all inclusive. They tell you you do not have to book special restaurants but quite honestly have had trouble with waiting at some and gave up. They do not always restock mini bar as stated in brochure. Quite annoying. Rooms are nice, but preference on services goes to TRS and travel club members. We were given a free gift of a 90 minute bombardment of travel club sales, and a $100 spa token which my wife tried to use for a treatment, only to be told she could not use it for that treatment. This was a joke, and quite honestly the restaurant in that area was no better, plus the sales guy sat with us which I found uncomfortable and rushed.
Would I return to this resort, NO.

Stayed: October 2018
4  Thank miggywogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenia R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear miggywogs,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent holiday experience in our Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa.

On one hand, we are delighted to know that part of your liking for our Resort was because of our great pools and fantastic areas with natural charm.

On the other, we regret that our gastronomy was not up to your expectations, however, we sincerely appreciate your feedback as we need to know when we are not offering a perfect experience. We apologize if your experience was anything less than exceptional. We pride ourselves on offering delicious food, and it concerns us to read that during your stay you were sick.

Your observations regarding our services will be transmitted to our Management team, to ensure we improve them.

We ask you to consider giving us the opportunity to remain your host hotel and to provide you with a better experience on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

AMAZING......BEAUTIFUL.....PARADISE!!

What more can I say, we arrived on Saturday so half way through our two week holiday staying at white sands room 5822 from the day of arrival everything has been AMAZING, the staff are so attentive and cater for every need you have always smiling and always happy to help or just pass the time of day with you.

The restaurants offer a variety of food and we have so far tried several, our favourite to date being El Dorado. The pools are unbelievable and so big, the staff work so hard making sure all parts of the hotel are kept spotless. The grounds and the beaches are beautiful and we are yet to find all parts of the hotel as it’s so big, but no need to walk around it if you don’t want to as always a car close by to take you from one hotel to another.

As already mentioned we have another week left in Paradise, but we are already planning how soon we can come back to this FANTASTIC resort and back to see staff that we now class as friends.

To the management at Grand Palladium you should be very proud of the staff you have, the service they offer I have never experienced before and they are always so friendly with our two children.

Thank you to you all for everything so far. ❤️❤️

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank DNEE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenia R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Appreciable DNEE4,

Thank you for trusting in our Palladium family to be your hosts during your actually visit to the Caribbean.

We are very honored to know that from the moment you arrived, every member of our team was outstanding when interacting with you and offering you their services.

You have done a remarkable work explaining in detail all the highlights and distinct aspects that have made your family holiday so special and for this we are very grateful.

On behalf of the management, we thank you for highlighting our staff as the main asset to make your vacation an unforgettable experience, we are really proud of them.

Please, continue enjoying your holidays and we will take care of making your last days an unparalleled experience.

Greetings to you and your two children,

Kenia Rodriguez
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Definitely had a great time! Entertainment was on point! Services were amazing. Clean room. Amazing spa. I’m giving a 4 star because I did not enjoy the food. But if you love mexicain food & want to have a great time, this is the place to go

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Trip821543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenia R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Appreciable Trip821543,

Thank you so much for giving us the pleasure of spoiling you with a relaxing experience during your holidays in the Caribbean.

It is gratifying to know that your holidays were wonderful, thanks to the comfort and beauty of your suite, the facility at our Zentropia & Wellness SPA and great service from our staff.

It will be an honor welcome you in your next visits to the beautiful beaches of the Riviera Maya and continue exceeding your expectations, making each holiday the best experience!

Best regards,

Kenia Rodriguez
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to Grand Palladium Hotels, our first was in 2016 where we stayed in Colonial. Had an enjoyable and amazing holiday but felt this resort had let itself down.
Couple of points:

- a very unpleasant smell from seaweed along the beach and the lagoon around the hotel.
- Cleanliness of the adult secret pool cigarette butts and food stuff at the bottom of the pool.
- No one enforces the no smoking policy anywhere around the Hotels especially the use of E-Cigarettes in the Lobbies and around the buffet Restaurant. The non existent management and security guards just seem to turn a blind eye.
- Buffet restaurant at the White Sands. I was disappointed with how slow the service was here at Breakfast. On most days, during our 14 nights holiday, we had to wait between 20 and 35 minutes to be seated. I didn’t feel their was any urgency form the staff to clear away or lay tables for guests. More often than not, this buffet restaurant would completely run out of bacon or you would have to ask for it along with other food items that were not readily available. Cutlery would be missing and you would have to continue to wait to be served water and coffee. Their didn’t appear to be anyone in charge of the restaurant or managing the staff to get things done and serve the paying guests. Breakfast was a daily disappointment, as overall the service and food in most of the al a carte restaurants was good.

Overall the service was good and the staff polite, but very slow to serve you. The hotel has lost its WOW factor with both outdated rooms, furnishings and grounds. Needs TLC and only the TRS side of the hotel has had a makeover.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank adamski26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenia R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear adamski26,

Thank you for trusting us again your holidays, in this occasion, in our Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa.
We appreciate the time that you have invested to share your detailed suggestions about our service and facilities, as our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all your remarks.

We regret to read we weren’t able to meet your expectations. Of course, this was not our intention and we offer you a sincere apology. We always try to provide our guests with the best possible service and surprise you with our enchanting facilities and we are sad to know that you we did not amaze you in this trip.

Although we are not doing major renovations each year, we are constantly refurbishing our areas and rooms, we truly hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you again, to recover your trust and pamper you with our infinite indulgence.

Kindest regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews