We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was our third trip to the Grand Palladium, staying in the Royal Section. Looking forward to our next trip there. The staff was terrific, and very friendly. Food was good at the speciality resturants. We only ate at the Buffets for breakfast and lunch, which were also good. Drinks were plentyfull and very good. There are many bars at this resort, so you can order one drink from one bar, and the same drink from a different one, and the drinks can vary in taste. It depends on how the bartender makes them. This is a great place!!! But it is also very big. We never have trouble finding loungers on the beach, even when the resort is at maximum capacity.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lhamlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Ihamlett,
Thank you for your good comments. I hope you make your 4th visit to the Hotel very soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    807
    322
    125
    118
See reviews for
1,083
1,151
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We went to the Palladium in Puerto Vallarta in 2009 & 2010 and we liked it.
In 2011 we figured we would try this highly rated resort in another location.
It was OK but it made us miss the Palladium.
This year we figured we would try the Palladium in Riviera Maya and we hoped for the best.
Well we were not disappointed. In fact, we loved it so much it will probably take 4 or 5 years to get tired of, if we do at all.
Best vacation we ever had.
Absolutely perfect service at every level.
Food, if you didn't like something you could always find something else because the selections are vast. We loved the Cappucino's, the drinks were always good quality, the deserts and pastrys are endless.
The main reason we go the Palladium is that they are so dedicated to providing entertainment
instead of forcing you to leave the resort to get it. Live music every night, AMAZING SHOWS and even traditional Mexican music in the restaurants where they even come to your table and play. The staff there is so friendly, they go the extra mile tip or no tip. We always tip well but after a while we started to tip heavy. After all, we tip for poor service here in Alberta.
Why not tip heavy where they actually deserve it, here at the Palladium.
Hard to keep track of all the names but some to point out are Jose at the Ribs N More especially. Best waiter we have ever had. He works so hard and still provides amazing service regardless of how busy they are or how big your party is. We actually got confused and thought there were 2 different RIBS N MORE locations at the resort. Went there 2 nights in a row (because it was so good) and thought Jose was working at both locations LOL !
Also great were one lady who worked in the Kabah buffet in which we went to every morning for breakfast. I really wish we took note of her name. She worked the 7-330 shift and had the tables in the area by the window where we sat every day close to the lobby. Gaspar was also a nice guy at that restaurant. I really could go on forever about this place. Big Pool. Nice beach. Service, can't say enough. Attn: Hard working management and staff at Palladium, DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ! We will be back again and again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hiplainsdrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear hiplainsdrifters,
Thank you for your good comments about our staff. It is very satisfying when their hard work is recognised by our customers.
We will continue the hard work and I hope you visit us soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel needs a makeover, location and resort excellent. Had a junior suite which was ok but been in far superior ones in other hotels. Beaches lovely the sea was a little pebbley, pools were excellent and the whole area is clean and tidy. Bars great, staff attentive and friendly. Food in the al carte restaurants was nice, buffet was ok better at white sands part of the resort As we are non smokers we found the lobby unpleasant and there was only one bar that was non smoking and we couldn't access free wi fi in it.. Be aware of the departure tax it's the most we have ever paid £42.00 !!! The weather was fantastic, very hot and sunny, all in all that's what we all go for in February.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pisces1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Pisces1952,
Thank you for your feedback. We take note of the points you mention so they will help us to improve our services.
Regarding the tax in the airport I'm sorry there is no much we can do hehe...

Thanks again and hope you visit us soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked the Kantenah but ended up in Riviera...which is the nicer of the rooms since it is a suite versus simply beds in a room! This was a nice bonus.

The resort is composed of 5 resorts: Kantenah, Colonial, White Sands, Riviera and Royal suites. You can use all the facilites of each of them- except the Royal Suites pool area. NOT a big deal...since the resort is beautiful and huge. You never feel that you are on top of other people! Needing to "stake out" beach or pool chairs is NON existent! There are plenty of chairs for everyone. The hotel is set in a jungle...with lots of wildlife.

The beach is much nicer than the resorts of Puerto Moreles- nice fine sand on the beach area...with alot of coral and fish to see snorkeling. There are two areas where you can walk in tot he water w/o rocks but other areas are much more rocky- ideal of snorkeing. You really don't need to go on a snorkeling tour via a boat...since what they have here is fantastic... and they offer a snorkeling trip for free with a staff member right from shore.

The food was wonderful. We ate breakfast and lunch at the buffet- nice variety of choices- but we ONLY ate at Ale carte restaurants for dinner. You did NOT need reservations except for the Seafood restaurant. We ate at Portofino (Italian) twice, Japanese, Mare Nostrum ( Mediterranean), Steakhouse and the Seafood restaurant on the beach. Each was wondeful and we were a group of 7 persons in 3 rooms...NO ONE had a bad dinner!! Service at the restaurants was excellent. We met another family from Canada who ate early in the week at the buffet- and thought it was not as good. They also liked the ale carte restaurants much better. We never made it to Ribs and more, Bamboo ( Chinese) or the BBQ restaurant on friday nights. One complaint...the Seafood restaurant attracts raccoons during dinner. My 7 year old daughter was PETRIFIED.... and we left before dessert. They come right up to the tables...but appear harmless. I'd go there again for the food was very delicious!

The pool area were very nice- large. I liked the White Sands/Riviera pool better- since the area seemed more spread out than Colonial/Kantenah pool. Teh pools were clean with nice in water lounge chairs. It was great for kids because the pool was graduated...slowly increased in depth to about 4.5 ft maximum. Also the pool bar was great. Lots of drink options both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. If you have a stroller or need wheelchair accessibility... stay at Colonial/Kantenah- so you don't have to fight the many bridges in Riviera/White Sands.


The rooms very a bit dated...but overall lovely! They are nice and spacious. The balcony was adequate in size with 2 chairs and a table. Housekeeping at times was a bit slow- but they got fresh towels and willing to accomdate us. The ONLY issue I had was with maintenance. We called 5 times over 2 days to get our shower drain fixed...it wanted to flood after one person showered. Also, our toilet seat broke- we called 2 times one night and on the second call we were told - "someone will be there in 15 minutes". No one arrived. The following morning I went to guest services- and by afternoon both issues were resolved. So my best suggestion... don't call- but go to Guest services with concerns... they seem to get things done in a timely fashion.

The shows at night seemed nice... although we didn't attend alot of them. The kids club was fine- not bad...although I've stayed at Marina El Cid which had a much more energetic staff for kids. My kids only attended Kids Club once- but did say that they had fun. I do think that pick up from the kids club needs to be more protected...it didn't appear to be well monitored and a better check out system needs to be developed.


Overall... I'd go back to this resort in a SECOND!! I've never had such a fantastic time in a resort and want to go back!!! Everyone in our party was impressed by the hotel. JUST BOOK THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: All rooms in Riviera are away from the noise. I'd suggest a third floor room facing the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck42_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Chuck42_43,
Thank you for your good comments regarding our food services. You can be sure I'll pass them to our Head Chef.
It will be a pleasure to see you soon here. Thank you for recommending us.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vankleek Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

booked royal suites everthing was great except for some people that have no manners. these palladium time share people that thought they own the hotel,loud obnocous no class.was there to relax i think they should slow down trying to sell time share because they will loose a good clientale.staff was the best

Room Tip: royal suites i you want the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank raytheman396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear raytheman396,
I'm sorry if part of our Club Palladium staff disturbed you during your stay. They don't sell timeshare, they sell memberships which allow preferential rates in future stays with us. I understand that there could be people interested or not but I agree they don't have to interrupt or disturb a customer if not interested.
Thank you for your comments, they definitely will help to improve our services.
Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This resort is huge! It has too many restaurants to choose from, the food is good and it was hard to decide where to eat each meal, so many choices. 20+ bars and it's in the jungle. The beach is one of the better ones in the area if it's not windy. The sand is great for walking, there are some sandy spots good for swimming and alot of rocky areas for snorkeling. The staff was great, always friendly and willing to help. We arrived early and were upgraded to a suite, wow. The resort is big so we used the shuttles for rides to the lobby after our feet gave out. We had a great two day stay at the Grand Palladium although our stay was short we would recommend this resort to anyone. TIP- Bring good walking shoes so you can enjoy this huge resort.

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded room, we were upgraded to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Txtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you Txtrav,
I agree 100% with you that the hotel is really big so it allows us to have more bars, restaurants and definitely more fun!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The best ever! Dream to reality. Amazing service, superb hotel with good food and great SUN!
We recommend it to our friends that will be visiting end July for their honeymoon too!
Patricia & Marco

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you Patricia and Marco. We will take care of your friends for their honeymoon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
9.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
9.9 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
8.9 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera ChetumaL-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa is located sea front with superb access to the beach and is only 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Guests are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Riviera Hotel Akumal
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Maya
Hotel Grand Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riveria
Gran Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing