We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“!!!!!!!DO NOT USE THE ATM MACHINE!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Glovertown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“!!!!!!!DO NOT USE THE ATM MACHINE!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We got back from the resort a couple of days ago. Resort was very nice, but when we checked our bank statement discovered that we had been charged a HEFTY service fee of $106.40 for taking out $600 at the ATM machine at the resort. Next time I will make sure we take out our money before we leave home. Then again, maybe we won't spend any money there at all. And we also discovered that the prices in the duty-free shops were much, much cheaper than vendors at the resort and in to Playa de Carmen. Will shop at airport next time............

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Mae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,452
    3,453
    1,406
    425
    303
See reviews for
3,677
4,929
144
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,707)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Returned on 3/29/12 from Grand Sirenis. Didn't know what to expect when some of the reviews were negative. Couldn't find "anything" negative about this beautiful resort. The staff was excellent. They couldn't have done more for us, and were very respectful. The resort had many "extra touches" we have never experienced anywhere. The Spa is the best we have ever been to, and the staff at the Spa was very professional, especially Monica. She was very efficient and took care of all of our needs while we were at the Spa. I highly recommend visiting the first full day, and the day before you leave. We had to go back the second time because the experience was so wonderful. The rooms were very clean, the hotel property was very clean. Everyone had a great time in our group, and people who were vacationing at the resort were very friendly. Couldn't believe every block had their own concierge. Neto was great, as was the rest of the group in Block 1800. Great location, close to beach. Never ran out of things to do during the day. I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I just arrived home today and honestly miss the staff already. The resort itself is beautiful and friendly but the staff is what makes this resort worth it. Between endless help fom our concierge Sanda and Ricky and Fantastic activities run by Raul and Miguel we had a fantastic stay. The food was great and the atmosphere was always welcoming. I would recommend this resort to anyone and plan to bring friends next time I visit myself. Thanks again to the staff and one last shout out to Raul.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just returned on the 24th from Grand Sirenis. It took about an hour and a half from the airport, check in was fast and flawless. This a large resort, well laid out so be prepared to do a little walking. We have been vacationing in the Carribean at all-inclusives for twenty years and this may be one of our finest vacations. The resort is clean and well maintained, rooms are large, very clean and didn't have that worn look. Each building had its own concierge that took care of all your needs. Our iron did not work properly and was replaced the same day. A la carte restaurants were very good, we ate at the cajun, mexican and steak house restaurants, no real complaints. Buffet food was good, better than most all-inclusives with a large selection of entrees, including a vegetarian section. We noticed food managers checking food temperature frequently. We try to sit in the same section each night at the buffet and use the same waiter. They begin to know you and seem to respond quicker, especially if you leave a tip. Virgillio at the main buffet was excellent, he knew what we drank and was very attentive. The staff was superb, I have to mention 2 waitresses on the beach, Guadeloupe and Abigail. Always with a big smile, glad to see us and after a day knew what we would order. They asked for our name and remembered us day after day. Cecelio was constantly sweeping and arranging chairs near the big pool, he always had a big smile and genuinely seemed happy to see you. We spent half our time at the beach which is quite rocky, bring aqua shoes if you plan to swim. Snorkeling is fantatic, lots of colorful fish near the shore.
Pool area near the swim up bar was a bit crowded and noisy, however there are other pools which were nice and quiet. We checked trip advisor and were concerned about the complaints. We did not have any problems at all! This is a well run resort. Keep in mind that Grand Sirenis, like other resorts, will try to sell you their vacation club. Don't bother!
We highly recommend Grand Sirenis.

Room Tip: Building 18 was close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I've been thinking about writing a review of this property for nearly a year now, and only after seeing the most recent slew of overly positive reviews on this site have I decided that someone needs to set the record straight about what you can expect here.

First of all-- expect that you're going to a lower-end all inclusive resort in the tourist Mecca that is Cancun. There are half a dozen 'themed' dining establishments along with a large buffet located on the property-- the worst of the bunch is the Bayou-themed restaurant, and the best is the Argentinian/Brazilian (although expect to find yourself at the buffet more often than not, as you are only given two dinners per week at the themed restaurant. Even then, you're likely to discover-- as we did-- that the buffet is generally a better option anyway)

The place is full of obnoxious north Americans on package deals. If you have any conscience whatsoever, you quickly see through the constructed facade which is marketed towards tourists to the reality of how poorly treated many of the staff are.

There are several instances of WTF-ckery, one of of the most perplexing was charging us $6 for a broken room key (yes, the plastic cards which all hotels throw around with wild abandon. I've never been charged at any hotel/resort for these things, and I travel a lot). This key was obviously used before being assigned to us, and subsequently broke in the room lock one day. Such an insignificant thing, but the employee at the front desk (who claimed to be the manager) refused to remove the charge from our bill. I later disputed the charge out of principle with American Express, and they refunded it on the spot.

The resort itself is about an hour from the airport, so plan on spending a bit on taxis if you actually want to see the area (Tulum is beautiful, and not a great distance, but most of the Grand Sirinis guests seem to be more than content to sit on their sandpile, speak English, drink and take part in the painfully ridiculous 'activities' that occur poolside daily).

Housekeeping starts early-- one morning we were disturbed three times (beginning at 7.30am), despite the 'do not disturb' sign hanging on our door. The vivid memory of a stranger hanging over our bed as I was half awake makes me laugh now, but at the time was infuriating.

Oh, they also push the timeshare thing pretty heavily. When we refused to take part in their 'tour' or waste our time on their sales pitch (as we were only there as part of a wedding party, and not interested), the woman who checked us in said that we were 'required' to endure it. We smiled and refused again, and she eventually seemed to gnotice message.

In sum, the Grand Sirinis is really a place that you should only contemplate if a totally sterile, culturally-insensitive, heavily Americanized and 'blah' vacation is what appeals to you. Otherwise, spend your money on a company which cares about its employees and treats its guests with a little more class.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CanadianInWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just returned from a week at the Grand Sirenis and had a spectatular trip. We love Mexico and would recomend this resort to anyone considering a trip to Mexico. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was great, the entertainment team was awsome (Miguel & Veronica took time to eat lunch with us and were very personable), and the grounds and beach were beautiful. There is lots to do and the snorkeling is great righ at the resort. Everyone working at the resort were genuinely engaged to ensure everyone was having a good time and had everything they needed. We would return to the Grand Sirenis without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tak2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a great resort with amazing food! Everything about this resort is large scale...the buffets have tons of choices and the rooms are huge! The property is large - so extensive walking depending which buidling you are in. The meals at the japanese restaurant and Steakhouse were fantastic- would highly recommend those two. Funnily enough - the mexican restaurant was our least favourite...not very good at all.
Staff was fantastic- very eager to please. Don't forget to go to the Tortuga shop and get some ice cream - sooo good!
The only downfall was how far it is from the airport..over an hour away - but worth it. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
8.6 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
39.4 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
7.6 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,175 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
38.3 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#75 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing