We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$145
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$233
US$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$357
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$340
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (15,499)
Filter reviews
15,499 results
Traveller rating
7,461
4,879
1,993
646
520
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,461
4,879
1,993
646
520
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy rivermayan beachhealth barice cream parlourel ranchohole in the walla la carte restaurantsfishfrosted glassthe lion kingtime sharewater circuitquiet poolbeach barmain buffetjuice barspider monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
906 - 911 of 15,499 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

2 Adults and one 17 year old teenager. Our room was lovely and clean, two double beds and one camp bed. Would have been nice to have been able to divide the bedroom area from sitting area where camp bed was for some privacy... but we managed.
Our room was cleaned every day, the beds made etc. The mini bar was replenished daily as were the coffee by Juan who was always polite and happy. My husband had an issue with the mattress on our bed, he left a note explaining the issue and the next day BOTH mattresses on the double beds were replaced with new ones.
All of the staff were very friendly, we particularly enjoyed the activities arranged around the pool by Inven, Danny, Christian and David (sorry I've not mention everyone as I've forgotten some of the other animation teams names, they were all brilliant).
The site is big there are 4 swimming pools and a lazy river. BBQ's daily on the beach at lunchtime.
There was a lot of seaweed on the beach which was disappointing as it was not what we pictured! You can borrow snorkel's to explore the reefs etc. Hire out jet skis or even go out fishing so lots to do.
The shows put on by the animation/entertainments teams in the evening were amazing, they work so hard. Some of the shows Grease & The Lion king amazing. They all work so hard and very long days but always have a smile on their faces.
The sky bar we all loved, especially our 17 year old, there was a mixture of acts a relaxing place to sit of the evening.
Food - we enjoyed the food, yes, it could be a bit repetitive but overall a varied selection available.
We ate in mist of the restaurants - we didn't enjoy the Mediterranean one at all, in fact my daughter and I left all three courses! We enjoyed the Steakhouse, Thai and the Brazilian ones the best.
Trips out - Captain Hook Pirate ship - BRILLIANT - we would recommend this, beware though, it is in theory a party boat so is noisy.... the food, one of the best meals I'd had - and it was all cooked on board!
Dolphins - my husband and I swam with the Dolphins (not on site) booked via our Thompson rep. The cost included a T shirt each and a disc with photos of our time with the Dolphins.
There were a lot of tiles missing in the main pool - my daughter cut her toe and another child that I know of had also cut his foot - having said this the staff were in the evenings (in the dark) in the pool trying to repair!! A never ending task I fear. The cleanliness overall I would say was good.
We enjoyed our time and are planning on returning next year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Hola,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers for this unforgettable occasion, we enjoyed reading your feedback and we are happy you had a great vacation at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

It makes us extremely proud to know that you will be back to the Grand Sirenis and most important that you appreciated how the staff works hard to make this property the friendliest ever!

We will gladly pass on your comments to all of them and let them now that the efforts and dedication made such a great experience for you all!

Thank you for staying with us and It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back again!

Kind Regards

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

Me and my fiancee returned last week from a wonderful 2 weeks here.
Just got back the other day from 2 lovely weeks.
I was a bit put off by some bad reviews.

We stayed on the beach everyday that we weren't on a trip and it was perfect.
You have to make your own opinions and try not to listen to all the bad reviews.
We didn't get Wi-Fi as we didn't want to be glued to our phones and it was blissful being shut off from the world for 2 weeks. Wi-Fi is a tad expensive aswell.
The safe is a must...
The staff are lovely and friendly and will do anything for you. They were always working on something from the gardens to fixing tiles and cleaning.
Loved the lazy river.
Trips... We went to xplor, xel ha, and chichen itza that we booked through the website before we went. We then booked Isla mujeres through the hotel.
We loved every minute of it and can't wait to go back.

I could go on and on but go and enjoy it for yourselves and just have a wonderful time like we did.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Natalie92A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Hola Natalie92A,

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

We know you have many options and appreciate the trust you have in our resort to make your holiday successful. We will gladly send all your regards to our amazing staff.

We are also very proud to know that you had a wonderful experience in our Lazy River and the rest of activities included in our complex!

We hope to see you again very soon at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

Best wishes,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Family holiday in August 2017. It would seem that some people love the resort and others hate it - we were sitting on the fence! One of the good aspects is that the site is so large that there is something for everyone. We travelled with Thomson (more of them later) who rate this as 5T or as the hotel claims 5* - now you can argue one way or the other, and I respect the opinions of other travellers on this, but for me 5* means something other than what this hotel offers. I have stayed in 5* hotels across the globe and this wasn't on a par. Don't get me wrong, the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly, but in other establishments for example I wouldn't have heard house music at full volume by the pool and the 'Entertainment Team' running belly flop competitions when the music wasn't blaring. Really? There is a pool that doesn't have this thankfully, but if your room is close to one of the activity pools then don't expect much peace and quiet during the day. Oh - and while I'm talking about pools, if you want sun loungers you've got to grab them between 6 and 7.30 in the morning. This is despite signs everywhere saying you shouldn't do this but the policy is not policed in any way, shape or form so get one when you can. Hated doing it but didn't fancy spending my whole holiday wandering around the pool carrying a towel looking for a sun lounger. And anyone saying they abided by the rules is either a fool or a liar.

For me, all inclusive should mean just that. That includes basic amenities like a safe in your room. We were expecting the extra charges but it still doesn't mean that the policy is right and the charges for wifi were extortionate. You can easily rack up quite a sizeable bill if you're not disciplined as its per device. That's above the £000's you've already forked out for the holiday in the first place. Reception staff are completely disinterested in hearing any sort of adverse comment regarding this as well. While we're on the subject of extra charges, if you are flying with Thomson (or Tui nowadays) you will need to set aside £50 per person in cash (or equivalent MXP or USD) to leave the country. If you fly with another airline (Virgin/Thomas Cook etc) this is factored into the cost of the ticket I understand but it's best to check with your tour operator.

I really don't have a good word to say about Thomson in resort - all the reps appeared keen on was to sell excursions. To illustrate this while we were in Mexico, a tropical storm made it's way over the Yucatan peninsular just south of the resort. Monitoring this online and on the local news it was evident that this wasn't a small storm and there was an outside chance that it could develop into a Hurricane (the Army were mobilised 50 miles south of the resort to deal with anticipated floods etc). Now the hotel has shelters for this sort of thing apparently so I asked firstly our Concierge and then the Thomson rep where these shelters were so that at least if things turned to rats we had an idea of what to do and where to go. The concierge couldn't have been more dismissive, but given that he sees this year in-year out I didn't expect much else but when I pressed the rep for at least the semblance of a plan or a location of the shelters it was apparent that there wasn't one. So basically you're on your own. Now of course it wasn't that bad, but that's not the point - the reps should have the customer's welfare and safety as a priority rather than selling tickets to some disco in Playa del Carmen.

Back to the hotel. Food is good generally and plentiful. Some people take things to extremes when it comes to all-you-can-eat buffets and pile their plates high with half rotisserie chickens, a dozen doughnuts and 3 omelettes and leave the lot. I found this display of gluttony and wastefulness abhorrent. You cannot really say there's nothing to eat if you're a fussy eater as the buffet is enormous with something for everyone. The ceviche at the salad bar is to die for by the way.

Restaurants were a bit of a mixed bag - Brazilian, Italian and Mediterranean were the best ones for us - felt strangely disappointed with the Japanese which was a shame. Mexican was awful.

Rooms were a great size and well equipped but were very tired. Servicing of the rooms was a bit hit and miss - sometimes it would be done really well and other times bits were missing (bins not emptied, mini bar not stocked etc). You'd have thought that a standard checklist would be followed, but evidently not. The cleaning ladies though were lovely and left some very creative towel sculptures in the form of animals every day which our little boy loved.

While you're in Mexico you need to get out there as well as sitting in resort - it's an amazing place. Chichen Itza is a must and we loved snorkelling in an underground river via a small cenote.

Overall the acid test is would I go back? I don't think so. The resort is fine if a little rough around the edges but it's a long way to go to be slightly underwhelmed. Perhaps it just wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Organise your own tours - Big tour operators charge way over the odds
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Brains_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Hola Brains_SA,

Thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation. Your comments made us so happy and so proud to work in this little piece of Paradise.

Thank you very much for your detailed comments. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, it is thanks to our guests' contribution, suggestions and comments that have the opportunity to target areas of concern and take necessary measures.

We are deeply saddened to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. However I truly hope you will afford us a new chance to host you in the near future and provide you a real Grand Sirenis experience and enjoy all the amenities the resort has to offer.

Kind Regards,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Brilliant time at this resort ,the hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are amazing abig shout out to Paulino and Elvina from the sports bar that really looked after us .My only gripe about the resort is having to pay for a safe and internet surely in a 5* hotel this should be free of charge .
We only went on the beach once because it was very rocky in the water and the beach was quite small ,so we stayed around the pool but had to be up around 6 in the morning to secure a sunbed with shade there was 8 of us and we wanted to stay together .And if your thinking of going to coco bongo do it worth every penny we paid we had a ball .we had a amazing holiday and we will deffo be coming back to Mexico in the near future

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Hola Debbie L,

We are happy to know that you had chance to enjoy our services and facilities and especially that you had a great vacation with us. It is really important to us to receive positive comment as yours, and to bring attention to our service provided.

We are very proud to have received your personal comments about our staff members, we will gladly pass on your compliments to Paulino and Elvina, and let them know that they make the difference with the impeccable service.

We hope to see you again very soon at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

Best wishes,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We stayed this August 2017 first time in Mexico. Check in very speedy and friendly no need to carry the luggage they have bellboys. The complex is very big so you can use the shuttles to go around (but walking is nice) the rooms are very good . The concierges (Marlene and Avidai)went out of there way to help us such as,places to go things to do bookings in the complex or just have a chat to (very nice people indeed) we where in the chucum building looking out over some of the gardens which was full of all sorts of birds and animals. All the al-a-cart restaurants (Brilliant) and the buffet had plenty to choose from (breakfast and dinner) times.pools very clean and safe.All the bars excellent,I've got to say we never saw one(1) person over drunk a bit tipsy yes but they are on holiday as well. Plenty for adults and the kids to do . Also I would just like to that all the staff work very very hard but seem to enjoy what they do,They are very polite right from the man at the top,down to the guys doing the gardens everyday. To sum up/Place (Brilliant)/People (Friendly and Polite)/Food (Very good) . We would and going to Recommend the Grand Sirenis 100% , and will be going again.Thanks you to all that work there.. THE HARLEY FAMILY

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank h0gsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear h0gsta,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your wonderful stay here with us at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

We fell so happy to read that you have enjoyed yourselves. The Grand Sirenis team works every day to provide to all of our guests an excellent service. It honors us to receive such a compliment and encourages us to continue exceeding our clients’ expectations.

We are also very proud to have received your personal comments about our staff members, we will gladly pass on your compliments to each one and let them know that they make the difference with the impeccable service.

Thank you for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya .

Best wishes,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews