We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, just as reviewed, even the ships crew took their day off there”

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic, just as reviewed, even the ships crew took their day off there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just returned from a W. Caribbean cruise that included a day trip to this wonderful little stretch of beach, and wanted a place to stop for lunch. We read about it and the reviews were too good to resist, PLUS we saw Sean Burns, the Traveling troubadour From our ship the NCL Star taking his break there. We ended up ordering to delicious Margaritas and the cevice, loaded nachos and fish tacos. OMG to die for, just great sitting by the beach, nice breeze, I promised Jorge I would mention him and even took a pic but I don't have my camera with me to upolad so amigo, here you are. You will love this place, I guar-an-tee it! Take the 5 minute cab ride out from the ticky tacky tourist trap and come to this little town and try Tropicante for a memorable lunch...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    46
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun beach restaurant with really great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Was a great find. We arrived via Royal Caribbean and escaped the tourist corral of chains and jewelry stores, hopped on a shuttle and ended up here. Spent the day drinking, eating, people watching and jet skiing.

We were chatting with an officer from the ship while there who warned us to review the bill carefully; this restaurant is prone to errors...in their favor. Sure enough, we were overcharged by $5 or so. The waiter claimed he had accidentally looked at the prices from an "old" menu (you mean, the new prices are actually LOWER?!? Really?).

But, that's Mexico for you.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3pt5woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks, Steve!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Steve was VERY responsive by email before our trip. By the time we landed our little troupe had expanded from 4 to about 17. Steve accommodated us all -- greeted us like we were old buds! The (adult) kids frolicked in the water, some snorkeled, some got (inexpensive!) beach massages, we had a few buckets of beer and a few margaritas and ceviche, etc., and all had a grand afternoon. Thanks, Steve, for making this stop a true highlight of our trip (indeed, of our year)!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Randolph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unreal find that the cruise lines don't want you to know about”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and 2 friends, found the Tropicante quite by accident. After arriving on a Carnival cruise, it was apparent that the port had very little to offer except the usual cruise sponsored lunch spots and attractions. We decided to move out of the port and found many of our cruise crew members getting taxis and going into the little town of Mahahual which was a very expensive $3 taxi ride(jesting of course). We had 2 crew members in our cab and they began to explain about this great restaurant on the beach with free phone,free internet access and bet of all great inexpensive native food . They were right on!!! Of course you wouldn't want to be in a hurry because time is not an object for this tiny city and restaurant by the sea.
I had one of the best chicken burritos I have ever had, my wife tried one of the local chicken dishes of which I can't spell. Our friends did the same and again I can't spell what they tried. All the food was hot and very very good.
To our surprise the owner was a displaced American from Dallas with vision and has been very active in developing this sleepy little delightful town.

If your cruise ship stops here, dump the local port and enjoy cheap drinks and beer with great food just 5 minutes out of port.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrulyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Had a great day at the Tropicante”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

My husband and I spent the day at the Tropicante during a stop on our cruise. If you let the owner Steve know you are coming, he will save lounge chairs for you. His restaurant is right on the Malceon and the beach is beautiful. His staff was super attentive coming back frequently asking us if we needed any thing. They make a delish Pina Colada and we enjoyed ice cold beers....six for $10 in a bucket with ice. We ordered lunch and had shrimp cerviche and nachos. It was tons of food! Way more than two can eat! You can also get a one hour massage for $25 that was wonderful. We had a great time at the Tropicante and would recommend them to any one who wants a reasonably priced day where you are treated like a friend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nasha1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing