We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Unique House in Paradise... during a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa del Cielo de las Estrellas. Spacious balcony and terrace face the beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa del Cielo de las Estrellas. Spacious balcony and terrace face the beach.
Ground level terrace. Our favored breakfast spot.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Casa del Cielo de las Estrellas. Spacious balcony and terrace face the beach.
Ground level terrace. Our favored breakfast spot.
String up a hammock on the beach- a great way to relax after a day of snorkeling.
Grill on the beach. Foreground: Fresh coconuts are available year-round in abundance.
Downstairs kitchen area. Equipped with all necessary cooking utensils.
Dining area. Custom made arched windows for optimal ventilation and beachview.
Downstairs living area extends from the dining area.
Downstairs bathroom with Talavera sink. This is a complete bathroom with hot shower.
Upstairs bedroom #1. Fresh sea breeze or ceiling fan for comfortable sleep.
Bedroom #2. Both bedrooms with queen beds. Below beds roll-out bed for 1 person.
Sunrise over the Caribbean Sea from bed. 6 am. No wakeup call needed...
The spectacular sunrise over the Caribbean Sea can be enjoyed from our spacious balcony.
Roof-top patio. Ideal for private tanning and stargazing during the night.
Our reef-protected waters have no currents and provide safe kayaking conditions.
The barrier reef in our area is arguably the finest snorkeling site in the Mahahual region.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mahahual, Costa Maya, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julie W
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Unique House in Paradise... during a week of sargasso seaweed”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights last march at this wonderful house which has so much charm and artistry in its design and such an amazing faraway, private location down past the town of Mahahual. It's the perfect place to be quiet, listen to the ocean, and enjoy the peace of the beach beside the jungle. We came after a stay on the beach in Tulum and really loved the contrast to feel out of the tourist fray and in what is definitely a home designed with love. We happened to visit during a strange occurrence in the area: sargasso seaweed had washed ashore on the entire Costa Maya. Up in Tulum there were hotel staff raking up the seaweed every few hours so that the water was still accessible. But here in Mahahual, where the coast is even more protected, and the sweet grounds keeper was not charged with this huge raking task, the seaweed was rotting and making access to the water rather impossible. We were still able to really enjoy our visit in the house, and our daytimes were filled with scuba trips anyway. But it was really wonderful that without our asking, the owner Rudolf offered to reduce our rental rate because of this condition which was definitely not his fault but did really impact our vacation and stay. That's all to say that in addition to offering his well appointed and gorgeous home for rent, Rudolf also went above and beyond in his consideration of our stay, making him a really kind and responsible host. I highly recommend this vacation home to anyone who wants to get away from it all in paradise...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the location, the house decoration and layout
Liked least: It'd be nice to have 100% cotton sheets and nicer mattresses. They were adequate but a bit uncomfortable but we are very picky in this respect...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacmktg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So Relaxing and Beautiful”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This house is better than described. The caretaker "Darvey" is super and very helpful. The costal winds keep the house cool. The beach is maybe 50' from the front porch. The town of Mahahula has plenty of places to eat and party.

The beach road seems to go on forever, just keep heading South and you will find Paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ailsa G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT RELAXING BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing home to spend your time. , spotlessly clean , Darvey the caretaker keeps the house , garden and beach immaculate. It is so quiet and you can totally relax and chill out. The kayaks were a great bonus as you can go to the reef and see some wonderful fish and corals. Ventured to the Travel Inn a couple of times which is approx. 2 km away but the house was so inviting that we spent most of the time with a cold beer on the beach with the dogs watching the stars and didn't really want to go out. Would recommend this property without hesitation and will be returning as soon as we can. So much time and thought has gone into the garden landscape with all the conch shells , palms and other plants , it was a joy to sit and watch all the wildlife darting around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beachh and garden
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
233beachb...
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
2 reviews
“beach paradise”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Mahahual, Quintana Roo, has not yet been compromised and the house provided was a perfect location and restful place to recharge myself. The beach, reef, gardens around the house and near by town were all wonderful and provided my family with a great experience, which we hope to enjoy again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole feel of the place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Can_we_go
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Tranquility by the sea”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We rented this lovely ocean side house with another couple for a weekend of snorkeling and relaxing. We were promptly greeted upon our arrival by Darby, the caretaker. We instantly fell in love with the house and location. Darby showed us all of the peculiarities that go along with a house that's "off grid" and his instructions were easy to understand and execute.

The kitchen was fairly well equipped, especially as we realize how hard it can be to eept things up in this climate. Our only recommendations for the kitchen would be to include dish soap and a lighter for the grill. (the kitchen has a flint to light the stove...but does not light charcoal).

We stayed cool throughout the day in the house as it's well shaded and the breeze off the ocean was constant. No problems sleeping either..nice breeze all night.

The beach was groomed by Darby. The beaches in this area collect sea grass as well as debris coming in from the ocean, but the beach in front of the house was kept very well. The two dogs were delightful, got along with our pet and we enjoyed their company.

We bought our groceries in Playa Del Carmen (we live there) and planned to cook a few meals at the house and eat a few meals out. It is highly recommended you bring your own food and supplies as it's limited in Mahahual. There is a two burner gas stove to cook on. No oven. We did our cooking on the grill outside.

We used the kayaks and snorkeled, but the wind was whipping the days we were there so snorkeling was not at it's best during our visit. The area is very quiet and we enjoyed that immensely. Don't forget to look up at the stars....it was gorgeous.

Do bring insect repellant! We did not encounter mosquitoes, but there were some biting flies and some kind of yellow flies that were pesky.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We do recommend lighter, soap and extra towels to make the amenities more complete. Bottom line is we would definitely return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and tranquility
Liked least: needed a few more amenities (like dishsoap, lighter, beach towels)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing