We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undoubtedly the Nicest Place to Stay in Valladolid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 19 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly the Nicest Place to Stay in Valladolid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The facilities are lovely, nestled away in a beautiful garden of typical Mexican greenery. The rooms on the "segundo piso" are all new and very modern. The bed was especially comfortable, and the A/C, which was also new, worked flawlessly. The breakfast was more than adequate: fresh and delicious Mexican coffee, pastries, fruit, capped off with a yummie Mexican vegetarian omelette along with sides of "frijoles refritos" and just-made guacamole presented in fresh cabbage leaves. Very tasy and healthy breakfast! Host Dennis Larsen is most gracious and helpful with advice on where to go in downtown Valladolid to eat dinner, see some important sights, and purchase excellent local handicrafts. I was able to buy a nice handmade belt for less than $20, and my wife got two blouses, plus a dress, all handmade and embroidered by the local women, for under $80. We later saw similar items in Cancun for around three times these prices. Valladolid is a good place to spend the night after touring the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza. The only downer we experienced during our stay happened on the way out of town when we stopped at the PEMEX gas station to fill up before heading back to Cancun. I had read about this scheme on Tripadvisor beforehand but still fell into the trap. After the attendants fill your tank and you hand one of them your money, another one will distract you and then the first one will tell you that you didn't pay enough. The solution is to keep your eyes on the first guy so he can't switch peso bills on you. I gave the guy one 200 and one 50 peso notes, got distracted, and then was shown two 50 peso notes in his hand. These guys are very good at scamming tourists, so be forewarned. Most Mexican we met were quite honest, but these guys were a bunch of bad actors.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second story are all new. They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    49
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
161
309
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

this is the most beautiful and charming place we've stayd so far in yucatan. even better than the 5star hotel we had in cancun apart from there's no sea of course. denis, the owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful but not officious at all. denis answered all our questions and gave us real good tips. he took us to a mayan production in an amphitheatre somewhere in a little village next to valladolid. a place we would never have found without him. nice & authentic show about the mayan life. we've been here on a sunday. every sunday there's a live band playing in the center of valladolid. the center is pretty close. 10 minutes by feet or 2 minutes by taxi (20pesos). the city seems save. it was easy to walk back to casa hamaca at night as well. in the morning we got a delicious breakfast and hung out in the hammocks around the house before we left to chichen itza...

Room Tip: every room has a diffrent theme but they are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halbi8i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

In late December, while visiting the coast, we made a last minute trip to Vallalodid and the surrounding Mayan ruins. Our stay at Casa Hamaca was excellent from the time we began our booking until we departed. After booking on-line, we contacted Dennis via phone. He gave us easy to follow directions which helped quite a bit as we arrived at dusk.
We were greeted in the parking lot by a staff member who led us through the delightful garden. We felt our worries melt away as we walked through the banana trees and lush vegetation. Dennis immediately joined us, showing us the equally charming house and escorting us to our room. Our room was spacious with beautiful tile work in the en-suite bathroom. Equipped with both ceiling fans and A/C, the room was comfortable during the day and the evening. The room, linens, and bathroom were scrupulously clean.
Dennis made sure we felt welcome and enjoyed our stay. He recommended a family restaurant for dinner and told us about a local concert that evening, both of which we enjoyed. If you have more time to stay than we did, check out the main living room which Dennis has stocked with books about the area and its history.
Breakfast was delicious and served early enough for me (I am awake by 6 am on a slow day) but late enough for my spouse (who rarely sees 6am!).
If you plan to visit Coba, Ek Balam, and Chitzen Itza, Casa Hamaca will make an excellent base for your travels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TryingoutTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just walking through the small lush garden to the house you know you are in a special place. Host Denis makes sure your needs are met by his staff and he is most helpful with recommendations and tips for day trips. Lovely breakfast. Make sure you find out about visiting the local house with all the folk art if that is of interest to you. Outstanding collection in an amazing house right in town! We'd like to visit here again.

Room Tip: West rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eglongrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Casa Hamaca is run by the delightful Denis Larson. He responded to my online booking request extremely promptly, and the entire process took minutes and was flawless. When we arrived in Valladolid, well after dark, we had a bit of trouble finding the place, because it is set well back off the street on which it is addressed. There is a public plaza there, and when you see it on your right (it's a one-way street), look in the back right-hand corner of the plaza, and you will see a sign for Casa Hamaca on a rather shabby-looking structure. that's not the place, only the building upon which the sign has been placed. The Casa is behind that. It is delightfully decorated, spotlessly clean, the staff is very helpful, and Denis is a delight. He is friendly and sociable without being intrusive. He knows plenty about the region and will be an invaluable source of information about what to see and do, pitfalls to avoid and so on. We spent a delightful hour conversing with him over a delicious breakfast of Mayan fare. We would not hesitate to return. I can't think of a single criticism of the place. Thanks, Denis.

Room Tip: The rooms are all pictured online, which makes it easy to chhose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Casa Hamaca is a beautiful, well cared for B & B. The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. Throughout the home there are wonderful Mayan tributes. The casita, hammocks, front porch, library and gardens were all lovely and well kept. Denis and all his staff were warm and friendly. Each day his staff prepared amazing traditional breakfasts. The location was great, allowed easy access to get around Vallodolid. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Hamaca. We were amazed and impressed with all that Denis has done in helping and participating within the Mayan community.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winginit326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Only stayed 1 night as we wanted an early start for Chichen. Our room was beautiful (the red room), the whole place is fabulous and Denis is a top bloke and helpful with recommendations for restaurants etc. Valladolid's a lovely town for an overnight stay too and it was only about 30 mins drive to the ruins the next day which meant we got there at opening time and missed the busy period.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank have_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.9 km away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.8 km away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.0 km away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Property: Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing