We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breath, breath,breath, relax!”
other travellers have booked this property
View of Coral Garden from the Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Coral Garden from the Water
Paradise Relaxing in the Hammock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View of Coral Garden from the Water
Paradise
Relaxing in the Hammock
Sunning on the Beach
Corona Moment
Open Living Area
Complete Kitchen
Living Room and Deck
Upstairs Deck
Master Bedroom
2nd bedroom
Downstairs patio to the beach
Content kIds and content parents
Quiet secluded Beach
Snorkeler's Paradise
Caretakers and Cocos
Rainbow from the roof
Sunrise morning
Fly fishing directly in front of the house
Some of the best scuba diving in the world
Abundant sea life
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Xcalak, Costa Maya, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jopig1956
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breath, breath,breath, relax!”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Awe,awe etc.! More beautiful and peaceful than you can image as we experienced with fresh friends in our 2014 adventure of fishing, food, fun, stars, birds, silence, waves, sand, warmth....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kush-51
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Looking for Paradise? Here it is”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Do not be put off by the road. It is a nightmare.Spent 6 days at Coral Gardens and enjoyed every minute. It is secluded, has its own private beach. Everything you need to know has been written down by the owners with a wealth of information. Kitchen is well stocked House very comfortable. Internet that worked. Spent most of the time reading....well stocked bookcase, swimming and snorkelling as the reef is on your doorstep. There were also kayaks. Caretaker and family were very helpful. The house was very clean. Beaches in Mexico are not clean but I saw Augusto clean the beach every day.The vilage of Xcalak is 9 kms away so it is a good idea to bring in your own food from either Tulum or Majahual, although there is a van that comes every other day selling produce. I enjoyed my stay. House was very comfortable. Looking for a tropical paradise then here it is

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ambience
Liked least: plastic on the beach away from the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evalynne...
Merida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible View from major rooms!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here almost a month, & thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

The GOOD:
Very isolated (VERY Peaceful & relaxing not to have phone service, T.V., etc.)
Incredible view from the 2nd story. (We stayed in the upper apartment; I expect less view
from the ground level.)
Comfortable furniture
Nice pots & pans in kitchen
Upstairs has a DVD player with nice DVD collection (& owners were very responsive by
email when we couldn't figure out how to work it), but it is shared with the lower level
A "Food Truck" comes with a limited choice of vegetables, fruits, & eggs 3x/week

The BAD
Very isolated (It is 45 min. on a bad road to the village of Xcalak w/few services). Difficult if
you NEED to make a phone call, etc. Spotty Internet.

Perhaps Coral Gardens if best suited for a week-long stay to 'relish' the isolation! However, you are never totally alone as the care-taking family has children playing, etc. just outside the house & there are many other vacation properties on the road from Xcalak.

Be sure to bring "water shoes" as it is impossible to walk in the shallow water barefoot. The beach in front of the apartments is cleaned daily & there was almost no floating "trash" in the water when we were there. (This area is known for garbage that washes up on the beach from somewhere far south, perhaps Venezuela.)

Ant spray may come in handy as well. As in most beach areas, ants can be a problem.

Bring wine glasses if you are bringing wine. In fact, bring anything that is not a "staple" as there are no stores. You can buy tomatoes, onions, & eggs, etc along with some canned goods at small tiendas in Xcalak, & if you are lucky the "shrimp truck" will stop while you are there. We were also lucky enough to buy fresh lobster from a fisherman in town -- just happened to see him as he was unloading his boat.

Also Coral Gardens is great for "pet people". The owners allow pets, and few properties do. We took our cat. She stayed inside, and the care-takers were very careful not to let her out when they cleaned, etc. They even fed her for us one night when we had an emergency & had to be gone.

All in all, a great trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View!
Liked least: The poor access road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
We appreciate the above honest review of our guest's vacation at the Coral Garden Inn in February 2014. Just a quick addition from the owners, we just returned from 3 weeks at the Inn, March 2014. The road, which was terrible in February due to the heavy rains, had just been grated and the trip to town takes about 10-15 min.
Xcalak is isolated from the hustle and bustle of more touristy areas and this is it's charm, Most people who visit are looking for a peaceful area to retreat and experience the natural, pristine beauty. All guest hotels and accommodations, with the exception of one, are located north of town along the beach road and subject to weather conditions that effect the condition of the road. Even though, resort owners chip in every year paying to get the road grated, the condition can vary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scribble0...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get away to warmth and sun”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The owners of this rental make it easy for their guests to enjoy the luxury of quiet tranquility. Ron and Roberta make a point of informing guests of all opportunities, travel details, condo ins-and-outs. The family who are caretakers quietly make sure that all is in preparedness, and well maintained. Two wonderful, and well cared-for dogs are there to greet you as part of the family. The condo itself is well appointed and stocked with essentials - the owners are helpful to recommend supplies which you might buy in advance to enhance your stay. We had a wonderful stay, four days of perfect weather. We snorkeled near the reef , taking the kayaks provided. The only downside to the whole visit was the nine kilometer road from town which was in deplorable condition. It was being filled and sorted while we left. If we return to Xcalak, we would not hesitate to return to Coral Gardens

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoffia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Secluded natural relaxing and adventurous”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in July 2011

We had the time of our lives here. I highly recommend it!

Here are the highlights.
The location is really out there. This is one of those bucket list things to do. If you are used to the four seasons or Marriott, do not expect that here, or even close. Nothing around for miles expect natural beauty.

the ocean is right in front of the condo, ALL yours, snorkel right there. lay out. In the evening, View the stars (and sleep) on the roof deck. In the mornings, order lobster from the local store in the for super cheap and cook it in your condo in the evening. For drinks and great mexican seafood, go down to the main hotel/huts (forgot the name)

Rent a car, a must. Go scuba diving and snorkeling. YOU MUST BRING mosquito repellant! Go to the mangroves.

Cons: no air condition, we heard that there was recent robberies so we locked all our windows at night and basically suffocated in the heat!!!

the beach could be cleaned of the debris that naturally washes up

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2013
How nice it was to receive a review from someone who had visited us 2 years ago. Yes, these are many of the wonderful things about Xcalak and the Coral Garden Inn.
About the few concerns: When this group visited 2 years ago, the local hotels had experienced some break ins and everyone was cautious. At Coral Garden we set up safety procedures for guests; a locking cabinet for personal items, a safe, and locks on screen doors so you can experience the ocean breezes at night. Our dogs are present to alert the caretaker on site if anyone is around that shouldn't be…for the last 10 years we have not experienced a problem with any break ins.
Thus said, our natural "air conditioning" is ceiling fans and the breezes that come off of the beach.
The beach is cleaned and raked every morning except in more extreme weather. There is plastic debris that washes up all along the coastline the floats here from who knows where. It is sad to see the trash that is allowed to pollute our oceans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellfamil...
Park City, Utah
1 review
“What a magical place to connect with your family!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This property was steps from one of the most beautiful reefs in the world. The caretakers family was lovely, including the two four-legged ones. They were unobtrusive, yet took care of our needs. There were lots of tears upon leaving as we spent 3 weeks at this property. I think our 10 year old spent more time with them than us. This was a great way to reconnect with your family with no distractions. Fantastic snorkeling, diving and fishing at your doorstep. Make sure you plan your meals prior to going and buy more than enough as it is an isolated property, but that is the beauty of it. Road is ruff, but doable. 4 wheel drive would help. Magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: Lack of quality restaurants close by
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KangarooR...
Alamosa, CO
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In Xcalak, all you reallly need is a house, any house, but this is a good one”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Our family rented the top floor for a week, with my wife's sister and her family joining us the last 5 days on the bottom floor. Perfect in-law situation: room to be together, room to be apart. The house was very clean (at least until the teenagers and two year old got done with it), and well set up with solid kitchen equipment and great relaxation potential on the upstairs balcony.
As everywhere we have been in Xcalak (Reef House and Casa Caracola), the greatest amenity is the sea breeze and the snorkeling outside the house. Here, the upstairs had the better breeze, and we all tended to congregate there (One of the denizens of the downstairs said our terra cotta fish on the wall looked happier - because the trees are dense in front of the house, it is brighter upstairs). Snorkeling here was great, although the water was quite shallow in the areas we tried that are accessible by walking or kayaking from the house (two kayaks, both in great shape). The hosts have left a guide for other nearby snorkeling areas, but no one felt like the drive, and the bikes did not seem particularly roadworthy.
The beach walking was also very good here. Our beach was cleaned every morning by the caretakers, and most beaches to the north as well, such that we could (and did) walk an hour that way along very nice sand strips for the most part. We were there holy week, and there are a number of both developed and undeveloped campsites along the beach there, but never any disruption of our peace and quiet at the house. Lupita, the caretaker's daughter, is a delight, and the two very friendly dogs make you feel right at home.
We were a little apprehensive about the house being on the other side of the road from the beach. However, this far (9km) from town, the road is barely that, and just seems a slightly different part of the beach. Even with a lot of camping and other activity around us, we only noticed a handful of cars per day, and did not even have any incidents with the toddler. So that trepidation was not an issue at all.
The only drawback to the Coral Garden Inn is the distance from town. 20-25 minutes to the dive shop, and restaurants. However, the peace and seclusion make up for that, and we only were in town a couple nights anyway.
Coral Garden Inn is a great option for groups needing a large house. Can't beat the prices, either.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Location - too far from town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2013
We appreciate the lovely review from you and your family. We are happy that you experienced the beauty and charm of the Coral Garden Inn. It is perfect for a family group, children playing on the beach, adults relaxing, warm tropical breezes and a snorkel here and there. We welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;