We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
68
45
5
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
45
5
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fly fishing spoke good english shrimp tacos staff person pale ale well worth the effort bone fish windy days out of the way hot water cancun airport fishing guide small town spent a week long drive cabana david
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 134 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2017

6 of us reserved 3 rooms at Costa de Coco. It was going to be a relaxing time in remote Xcalak in southern Quintana Roo, Mexico. Shortly after we arrived we were informed that they had some bad news for us. Some guests had decided to extend their stay and there were no rooms for us. Ilana, owner and manager, offered to set us up in local Xcalak hotels and began checking availability of other nearby resorts. We investigated 2 local hotels which were questionable and returned to Costa de Cocos hoping to hear what Ilana had found with other resorts. Ilana was no where to be found. We stayed for the evening in the area to enjoy some local musicians at Costa de Cocos and Ilana reappeared but totally ignored us and said not one word to any of us. So beware - your "reservation" may turn into a headache. We drove an hour back to Mahahual. Our experience with Costa de Cocos was disappointing. We were very troubled and agitated from the treatment we received.

Room Tip: Good luck! You may need it.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank BoatBandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

We were staying in Mahahual for few weeks, went out to xcalak for an open mike night. We stayed at Costa de Cocos. We rented little Cabanas right on the ocean front. Places were clean and comfortable. Beautiful scenery. Water was breath taking. We stayed for breakfast, was very good. It was a busy night with singing and dancing. Service and drinks were great and tabs were accurate. Very safe and comfortable. A must visit!

Room Tip: We were in #4. It was great. # 1 is closer to water but not sure about room. I'm sure it is good too.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angiethecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

I absolutely loved Costa de Cocos! It was the highlight of my trip to Mexico!

The staff are soo friendly and helpful! They even let us borrow the kayaks FOC. The food in the restaurant was amazing, and the breakfast each morning was phenomenal (warm, fresh pancakes YUM!)

Our hut was perfect, and right on the beach.

We also did a snorkel trip with them which was brilliant. Due to the location and size of the venue, it is never crowded or busy. You literally feel like you are in your own mini paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruthie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2016

We found Costa de Cocos by accident and so very glad we gave it a try. Perfect place for what we were looking for. Fly fishing guides are the best (over 30 years of fishing in that region and Belize! Food is amazing! Snorkeling is wonderful and we have dived/snorkeled southern Mexico and Belize for many years. The staff was so warm, nice and so accommodating to us. The cabana was perfect with hot water and a comfortable bed. They are all doing it right in so many ways. A small beach with boats and guides for all your needs. Warm, friendly and perfect. We will be back within the next few months. Way off the beaten track but so worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wilh3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Looking for an out of the way location, this is your place! The accommodations are basic but the service and food are exceptional! We spent 6 days fly fishing, took an afternoon off to snorkel and all were amazing experiences!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews