We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flipper!!!!”

Dolphin Research Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.88*
and up
Dolphin Research Center and Florida Keys Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dolphin Research Center is a nonprofit education and research facility. Home to a family of dolphins and sea lions, we offer fun-filled narrated behavior sessions and educational presentations every half an hour. During your visit you can watch and learn all about these amazing animals including dolphin maternity, social groupings, physiology, natural abilities and more. You'll see how we care for them, how we're working with them in cognition and behavioral research and the importance of conserving them and their ocean habitat. DRC also offers a variety of interactive programs including the Dolphin Encounter swim program, Ultimate Trainer for a Day, Trainer Experience half-day program, Researcher Experience half-day program and Paint with a Dolphin. We are actively involved in programs for people with Special Needs, as well as veterans from the Wounded Warrior Project, Military families, and others. Most of our dolphins were born here. Others have come to us for a variety of reasons -- including those who were injured and rescued as youngsters and later deemed non-releasable by the government. We are deeply committed to providing all of them with a safe, healthy, happy home for life. The well-being of the dolphins and sea lions is our top priority. Your visit and participation in programs supports the care of our marine mammal family, the maintenance of their natural sea water home, and the rest of our mission to educate others about these animals and the importance of conservation. Thank you for your interest in Dolphin Research Center!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Great place to visit. Great family atmosphere. They do wonders with the dolphins.Very knowledgeable staff. Some older people might remember the TV show Flipper. That is where the original Flipper was filmed.

Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Glad to know that you had a great time visiting. One small clarification: The original Flipper movie starred five of the dolphins that lived here back in the early 60s, but the television show was actually filmed in Miami. That said, we are proud of our Flipper heritage. The daughter and four granddolphins of two of those original Flipper dolphins live here today!

Thanks so much for coming to DRC and for telling others about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,187)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Research Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 542 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2016

I visited the Dolphin Research Center last May. What an awesome experience! Beautiful grounds, view was unbelievable. We spent 3 hours there - I could have stayed longer -just watching them! The staff was very friendly and informative. The dolphins would perform tasks and were very playful. Plan to go back this June

Thank MAllenEaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

We're so happy that you had a great time visiting Dolphin Research Center and that you plan to visit us again in June! (Hopefully you became a member the last time that you were here so your admission will be free when you visit again!) We love when guests come and spend several hours with us and the dolphins and sea lions and think that this helps them to connect with the animals in our family.

We appreciate you reviewing us for others and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

By far the best place to experience dolphins up close and personal, in a setting that will remind you of Flipper...

Thank Bird3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Thank you so much for your positive support. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Great work is done here for the rescued dolphins and keeps then active and entertained. Not too sure if it's right for customers to be swimming with the Dolphins. Otherwise good.

Thank smudge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

We know that some people are concerned about the program that allows people to swim with the dolphins. Please be assured that we carefully consider and structure any interactive program to make sure that it is comfortable and enjoyable for the dolphins as well as for the guests. We never force the dolphins to take part. It is always their choice and we respect them as individuals. Honestly, the dolphins that do the interactions show us by their behavior that they're having a good time too!

We so appreciate your thoughtful concern. The welfare of the dolphins and sea lions is always our priority. Thanks so much for visiting and for providing your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stopped here to see the dolphins. Lots of them to visit with. Was able to see one of the shows which highlighted the work the center provides. Worth a stop if you have time. The restrooms need some updating.

Thank SFBzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

We're happy that you were able to stop by when you visited the Florida Keys and that you enjoyed seeing the dolphins in the DRC family!

You're absolutely right about the restrooms. We're in the process of a couple of different construction projects which will greatly enhance the visitor experience. That's why we currently have the temporary restrooms. Hopefully new, better ones will be in place the next time that you're able to visit!

Thanks so much for coming to DRC and reviewing us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Research Center also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dolphin Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing