We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Admission”

Dolphin Research Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.88*
and up
Dolphin Research Center and Florida Keys Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dolphin Research Center is a nonprofit education and research facility. Home to a family of dolphins and sea lions, we offer fun-filled narrated behavior sessions and educational presentations every half an hour. During your visit you can watch and learn all about these amazing animals including dolphin maternity, social groupings, physiology, natural abilities and more. You'll see how we care for them, how we're working with them in cognition and behavioral research and the importance of conserving them and their ocean habitat. DRC also offers a variety of interactive programs including the Dolphin Encounter swim program, Ultimate Trainer for a Day, Trainer Experience half-day program, Researcher Experience half-day program and Paint with a Dolphin. We are actively involved in programs for people with Special Needs, as well as veterans from the Wounded Warrior Project, Military families, and others. Most of our dolphins were born here. Others have come to us for a variety of reasons -- including those who were injured and rescued as youngsters and later deemed non-releasable by the government. We are deeply committed to providing all of them with a safe, healthy, happy home for life. The well-being of the dolphins and sea lions is our top priority. Your visit and participation in programs supports the care of our marine mammal family, the maintenance of their natural sea water home, and the rest of our mission to educate others about these animals and the importance of conservation. Thank you for your interest in Dolphin Research Center!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Great Place! We enjoyed our visit a lot! The trainers were friendly and informative, you could watch a training session or you can wander the grounds on your own and learn from the signs. We did a little of both!

Thank Nici D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

The best way to see Dolphin Research Center is at your own pace - and it looks like you learned that on your first visit! Throughout the day we offer educational behavior sessions, and are happy to answer guest questions, but there's nothing quite wandering around the facility to see a dolphin or sea lion looking right back at you. It is truly a wonderful experience.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be friendly and informative. Thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,187)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Research Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 534 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Wonderful place, treated like family here each visit. Dolphins are so intelligent and its awesome tonsee the work they do here. Also the family visits with dolphin dip, and encounter are extremely one on one, and fantastic. The staff, trainers are always answering any questions. Highly recommended for families.

Thank Stellzilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you for coming back time and time again. We're happy to read that you enjoy each of your Dolphin Research Center visits and are always learning something new from our staff.

The Dolphin Dip and Dolphin Encounter programs are so much fun, aren't they!? Which dolphins did you get to spend time with during your programs?

We appreciate your continued support! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

The staff was polite, upbeat & funny
Full of fun & answers to any questions
When the dolphins swim by & turn to look at you, you can see their souls. You have to believe in their superior intelligence.
Worth the $$ ( even with construction) for a nonfunded center

Thank danil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thanks for supporting Dolphin Research Center's family and mission. As you mentioned, we are a nonprofit marine mammal education and research facility. Everything we do, from our manatee rescue to our cognition research, is funded by guests that visit and take part in interactive programs, as well as members and donors.

Understanding the need to grow and enhance the guest experience, we are currently in the midst of constructing some new buildings, including a new visitor center to welcome guests into the facility. Thank you for understanding our construction needs and still choosing to visit and learn about the animals. We're sure our guests are going to absolutely love the new addition to the facility, as well as other additions to our grounds.

We appreciate the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Quiet, chill, personalized! Not packed with people. We loved it. Spent the money for a dolphin encounter and it was worth every penny. Would totally go back.

Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Isn't the Dolphin Encounter fun!? Which dolphin did you swim with?

We're glad to read you found us quiet, chill and personalized. As the guest experience is very important to us, we are so happy you loved your time at DRC. Thanks for visiting and leaving an awesome review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

This place was fantastic! I could spend my entire vacation there. The trainers are great, the Dolphins appear to be very happy, and there see lions too! I wish I lived closer so that I could visit often! Extremely knowledgeable staff answered every question I had.

Thank Devon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Some people do spend their entire vacations at Dolphin Research Center. They enroll in one of our week-long DolphinLab courses. Check them out on our website when you have a chance.

We're so glad that you had a great time. Thanks for coming in and for posting your enthusiastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Research Center also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dolphin Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing